14 Pages«<678910>»
Weddings: The newest form of exploitation
#71 Posted : Wednesday, December 07, 2011 2:58:07 PM

kingfisher wrote:
@jahman....
wedding is for the families involved and their closest friends, end of story. All those other reasons being advanced here for setting con-committees are all vague and will remain that way for ever. Nothing can ever ever change that.

So if i am your close family member / friend you can put me in your committee for logistics and MAYBE a little financial assistance. And it should be about KUPANGA harusi, not KUCHANGIA harusi. Kuchangia harusi kazi yenu na familia zenu.

There is too much abuse of this whole thing.. imagine now a guy suggesting "if all here just get 10% of people on your phone contacts contribute we shall be able to meet this budget deficit" How now do you even think of that? Kama wewe na mpenzi wako na familia zenu hamna pesa ya kufanya hiyo harusi hapana sumbua watu bure.

King, najua wewe hapana panga hii kitu......now that you are my close friend, I wonder how I forgot to tax you during mine....

@jahman...
Now you got it. thats what we are saying. tax your closest friend/family if you must and if they are willing. hao wengine watumie invitation kama ni lazima.

@famooz..
mimi hapa kasirika, just trying to use words that some of us in here must be told in order to understand.
#72 Posted : Wednesday, December 07, 2011 3:15:09 PM

famooz wrote:
This blogger has 'beef' with weddings...but for a different reason http://jeffseventhorizon.wordpress.com/ :)

heheheheh, i dont know if it is the BEEF that is big or his WORDS Laughing out loudly . good read though
theman192000
#73 Posted : Wednesday, December 07, 2011 3:45:15 PM

Before I got married, my wife and I attended marriage classes. In our class was a couple that had lived together for 25 years (civil marriage) and were now going to have a wedding after all those years.

Society is creating pressure on young couples to have bigger and better weddings with each passing year and television programmes help to add to this obsession which someone aptly described as "keeping up with the Macharias".

I'm not sure how true this is, but a radio presenter invited folks for his wedding, then after the photo session outside the church, he waved goodbye and they went to have lunch with the best couple! (yes just the 4 of them) The invited guests were shocked. There was no reception or evening party. Habari ndio hiyo.
#74 Posted : Wednesday, December 07, 2011 4:29:51 PM

Burning Spear wrote:

No one is against committees but people taking advantage to gain at the expense of friends.Its is not only immoral but thievery !

Maybe those who have benefited in this illegal stealing may support the extortion !

Who is supporting thievery?

Are you totally against committees for fundraising? If not then tuko pamoja.

I'm not married and not even close to. I do not think I will do a big wedding but that does not mean I will not attend my friends' committees.

Most guys do this: they set a budget which they know they can meet at least 2/3. e.g buy shares. They will then ask the comm to cotribute hoping that the help they get from friends will help them save on their cash and use that cash for another project.

Never seen that as immoral, it's a societal merry-go-round, as I said earlier. Leo kwangu kesho kwako.

It is absurd to set a wedding you clearly can't afford 2/3 of the cost. It is also unfair to set targets for members ati 10k. In fact, I always set ceilings for my friends depending on closeness and do not adjust it regardless of the coaxing that happens in the meetings.

For many men, the wedding day (and other unnecessary stresses like dowry)is a thing we would love to avoid but you do it for your sweetheart and family.
#75 Posted : Wednesday, December 07, 2011 4:34:04 PM

theman192000 wrote:

I'm not sure how true this is, but a radio presenter invited folks for his wedding, then after the photo session outside the church, he waved goodbye and they went to have lunch with the best couple! (yes just the 4 of them) The invited guests were shocked. There was no reception or evening party. Habari ndio hiyo.

You guys are giving me nice ideas!!Applause

Sasa wacha nitafute dame. I can wed by end of next year!!
#76 Posted : Wednesday, December 07, 2011 4:41:56 PM

luttz wrote:
Life is about "give and take". This applies to my friends and even relatives and weddings are no exception. I can contribute if I believe its a worthy investment. Next time, it will be your turn; not to contribute to my wedding but to my other life needs (not necessarily financial. As long as one is able, contribution to Sickness, & fees, should not be counted.

Yep, all one needs to do is set a maximum beyond which they won't contribute. Say you want to give 2000 bob. Do not give more than this even if the wedding is for 800k. The couple will sort themselves out on the bal.

lexx
#77 Posted : Wednesday, December 07, 2011 10:14:04 PM

#78 Posted : Thursday, December 08, 2011 8:56:19 AM

theman192000 wrote:

You guys are giving me nice ideas!!Applause

Sasa wacha nitafute dame. I can wed by end of next year!!

Lolest! Lolest! Lolest!

Dearest Lolest!

You want to get married because of a wedding?

Sigh...... Pray
#79 Posted : Thursday, December 08, 2011 9:50:07 AM

YW, wedding keeps me away from marriage.
#80 Posted : Thursday, December 08, 2011 2:53:44 PM

My two pence on why weddings are unnecessarily expensive.

Men live beyond their means to impress women. Women live beyond their means to impress other women.

You agree with your fiance that your wedding will cost 300K. And she is good with it. Then she meets her friends and tells them that she is about to get married....boy, your chic comes home and shrieks every time you mention a 500K wedding. She wants a 1M wedding..( Someone posted on another thread 'when two women talk, the devil sita aside and listens and learns..)
14 Pages«<678910>»