wazua Thu, Feb 6, 2025

Nd'ung'u rated the worst central banker in Africa in 2011
#21 Posted : Tuesday, December 06, 2011 8:20:23 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
Frankly, many of us here have built and grown our asset columns under his tenure. Vindicating such a man esp.on items out his control is uncalled for. Ama?

Time to stop uncalled for criticism of CBK

http://www.businessdaily.../-/743or9z/-/index.html

#22 Posted : Tuesday, December 06, 2011 9:29:00 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
Vindicating such a man esp.on items out his control is uncalled for. Ama?

Rated better by what yardstick...Rain maker? Farmer? Oil producer or market maker? Custodian of fiscal policy? (PS Kinyua/UK)

@Cde if the situation is soo out of his control then why must he then act??
Why doesnt he let the treasury do its part to solve the issues you have mentioned above?
How does raising interest rates from 6-18% in months solve the above issues you have mentioned above??

IMHO he deserves 1.5 out of 10... He is completely missed the point!!
Cde Monomotapa
#23 Posted : Tuesday, December 06, 2011 9:41:13 PM

Good. Guru is the 1st to concede that he has control over Monetary Policy only. Whose next. And I thought it a no brainer that straining money has an impact on curbing inflation smile who is with me? I know the Chinese central banker is with Prof n I on that action smile
Cde Monomotapa
#24 Posted : Tuesday, December 06, 2011 9:45:40 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Cde Monomotapa wrote:
Frankly, many of us here have built and grown our asset columns under his tenure. Vindicating such a man esp.on items out his control is uncalled for. Ama?

I said a big AMEN to this article btw. Cheers comrade.
#25 Posted : Tuesday, December 06, 2011 9:50:15 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
And I thought it a no brainer that straining money has an impact on curbing inflation smile who is with me? I know the Chinese central banker is with Prof n I on that action smile

Unfortunately this is a common mistake made...
This solution only works in developed/emerging markets and not backward 3rd world states like Kenya!

So definitely on the contrary the chinese governor must be ridiculing Ndungus actions as rudimentary..
#26 Posted : Tuesday, December 06, 2011 9:52:48 PM

don't I say ndungu and syokimau bulldozers compare well.destruction.
he encouraged people to take loans then made the rates unreacheable after people have taken the loans
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
Cde Monomotapa
#27 Posted : Tuesday, December 06, 2011 9:55:26 PM

To the contrary, the chinese central bank has been implementing similar monetary tightnening to what Prof.has been pursuing. And China's inflation has cooled. Read widely and since this is public info..feel free to google it.
Cde Monomotapa
#28 Posted : Tuesday, December 06, 2011 10:00:54 PM

Moreover, the arguement that low interest regimes are directly co-related to mass uptake & investment has been negated by the ongoing Western fundamental economic decline. Infact, many of their corporates are sitting on record amounts of cash BUT instead of investing, they are down-sizing, firing staff and or investing in emerging markets. So keep ur shirts & knickers on. We'll be OK.
#29 Posted : Tuesday, December 06, 2011 10:23:20 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
To the contrary, the chinese central bank has been implementing similar monetary tightnening to what Prof.has been pursuing. And China's inflation has cooled. Read widely and since this is public info..feel free to google it.

Please get this..

China: emerging soon to be developed economy..
Kenya: 3rd world backward economy..

How can anyone of sound mind expect the two different economies to implement the same policies??
It has already been studied and proven that keynisian economics has little relevance in 3rd world countries..
Cde Monomotapa
#30 Posted : Tuesday, December 06, 2011 10:30:51 PM

guru267 wrote:
Cde Monomotapa wrote:

Please get this..

China: emerging soon to be developed economy..
Kenya: 3rd world backward economy..

How can anyone of sound mind expect the two different economies to implement the same policies??
It has already been studied and proven that keynisian economics has little relevance in 3rd world countries..

Cause & effect spares no man or woman smile if it were not so then we'd still find, or @guru & co.would, investing in Western economies that are wallowing in alarming levels of both personal & sovereign debt a worthwhile activity.
Cde Monomotapa
#31 Posted : Tuesday, December 06, 2011 10:34:50 PM

My parting submissions are that the reason why M-pesa/mobile money is a big deal is because Kenya is still largely a cash economy and 2ndly, China's CRR is @21% and Kenya's @4.75% - good night.
#32 Posted : Wednesday, December 07, 2011 12:49:09 AM

To be on the safe side, let me assume the comments are the usual SEASONAL yapping by Kenyans. Please note, SEASONAL.
Mainat
#33 Posted : Wednesday, December 07, 2011 1:30:41 AM

Little knowledge...

Short economics lesson (where is professor deal economics when you need him?). Monetary policy is only effective if it has a negative correlation with inflation. Statement of the obvious. Nd'ung'u would have maintained his credibility if he stuck to his guns on the causes of inflation when he cut interests in January. You see, over 50% of our inflation index is not driven by interest rates but by weather.
China on the other hand. Is a command & control economy. I am made to understand that you can't borrow a Yuan without communist party's say-so. Its therefore easy to control inflation using monetary tools. Hence reducing interest rates automatically transmits to increased lending and vice versa.
Western banking system. If you had drunk two bottles of waragi/saki/industrial, you won't want anymore liquor even you were being paid. The 2000-2007 was a period when the milton friedman consensus was in reign. Interest rates were kept low and everybody who wanted got a loan. Right now, its the complete opposite. Not even free money from central banks (QE) will make banks lend.

Merry xmas wazuans
Sehemu ndio nyumba
#34 Posted : Wednesday, December 07, 2011 9:24:23 AM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Cde Monomotapa wrote:

In your opinion who is controlling 'these items' he is being compared with his peers and has been found to be wanting.

Its especially embarassing that the governor of a country like Zambia could be rated better.

Rated better by what yardstick...Rain maker? Farmer? Oil producer or market maker? Custodian of fiscal policy? (PS Kinyua/UK)

Oh please! Questioning the credibility of rankings when your man is the class duffer doesn't quite work.

Ndungu was good at the soft stuff, but useless at the important stuff. Call a spade a spade and lets move on.
accelriskconsult
#35 Posted : Wednesday, December 07, 2011 9:36:12 AM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Cde Monomotapa wrote:

I said a big AMEN to this article btw. Cheers comrade.

No matter how much you defend Ndung'u, he cannot run from the ghost of ignoring the effect of the hawalla money transfers on monetary policy. It is a well known fact that he pummels the MPC into submission whenever the issue is raised.
Cde Monomotapa
#36 Posted : Wednesday, December 07, 2011 10:55:26 AM

#37 Posted : Wednesday, December 07, 2011 11:21:27 AM

My main problem with Prof. "No. Last" is that he still does not know or is not willing to resolve the real issues affecting our economy. He has simply transferred the problem from forex rates to interest rates.

My question is why would anyone claim that our economy is expanding too fast, it is not, we only manage stuttering growths of a maximum of 5-6% for 1 year every five years between elections. How then can you compare us to China who have been growing at 10% for the last 30 years.

The current solution of increasing interest rates to reduce growth is all wrong, we need this growth to expand the job market.

Example lets look at the construction industry that was booming for the last 5 years before the prof killed it. The industry has been:
1. providing jobs to the youth and unskilled labourers who in turn expand consumption
2. supporting the expansion of other industries e.g cement and banking through expanded credit.
3. supporting the savings culture through kenyans who purchase homes or take out mortgage

The increased interest rate has;
1. killed the credit markets for both construction loans and mortgages
2. will lead to loss of jobs
3. will lead to defaults
4. will lead to kenyans spending more and saving less as there is no hope of ever owning a home.

I would really like someone to explain the profs. thinking when he took this action.

Our inflation is imported therefore, the logical thing for me should have been for the government to discourage more imports through enhanced tarrifs and non tarrif barriers. I beleive such action is allowed by all international trade agreements when its done to protect one's economy.

long term solutions should be to improve food production and own production.
Realtreaty
#38 Posted : Wednesday, December 07, 2011 5:47:42 PM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Kenyans! Phew! In any ranking there will always be number one, five ten etc! Who cares those who rank him lowest for the few countries they took? We know Kenya as also one of the best in Africa but its not Ndingu who made it, it is US Kenyans! Did we ask for the ranking? Why was the ranking done? Why did they not rank him prior to 2007 when he was at his best? To be number one does not mean success, its only leading. Kenya has No oil like Nigeria, Gold in south africa. Do not be happy when a white man comes and tell you that your mother is not good like his mother!Shame on you
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
My main problem with Prof. "No. Last" is that he still does not know or is not willing to resolve the real issues affecting our economy. He has simply transferred the problem from forex rates to interest rates.

My question is why would anyone claim that our economy is expanding too fast, it is not, we only manage stuttering growths of a maximum of 5-6% for 1 year every five years between elections. How then can you compare us to China who have been growing at 10% for the last 30 years.

The current solution of increasing interest rates to reduce growth is all wrong, we need this growth to expand the job market.

Example lets look at the construction industry that was booming for the last 5 years before the prof killed it. The industry has been:
1. providing jobs to the youth and unskilled labourers who in turn expand consumption
2. supporting the expansion of other industries e.g cement and banking through expanded credit.
3. supporting the savings culture through kenyans who purchase homes or take out mortgage

The increased interest rate has;
1. killed the credit markets for both construction loans and mortgages
2. will lead to loss of jobs
3. will lead to defaults
4. will lead to kenyans spending more and saving less as there is no hope of ever owning a home.

I would really like someone to explain the profs. thinking when he took this action.

Our inflation is imported therefore, the logical thing for me should have been for the government to discourage more imports through enhanced tarrifs and non tarrif barriers. I beleive such action is allowed by all international trade agreements when its done to protect one's economy.

long term solutions should be to improve food production and own production.

jawz1
#39 Posted : Wednesday, December 07, 2011 5:51:07 PM

CBK to blame for shilling woes, says Cheserem

Mr Cheserem rapped the Governor for his remark when the crisis began, that the CBK will not intervene to tame the depreciation.

“That was a very unfortunate statement. It encouraged speculators. The Central Bank should not say whether or not it will intervene,” he told Mr Keynan’s committee. “There are two rules at Central Bank. Rule number one is, don’t tell the market your intentions; rule number two is, refer to rule number one.”

End quote.

Enough said!!!

Link: Cheserem opinion on CBK
"When the pupil is ready to learn, a teacher will appear." -- Zen proverb
erifloss
#40 Posted : Wednesday, December 07, 2011 9:04:07 PM

Truth be told this guy 'knew' what he was doing. Sheer arrogance + benefiting a few individuals is what it was all about.
1. Simply as of now which are the two most liquid banks making a killing on inter-bank lending as the rest are net borrowers - this answers part of the question.
2. Which financial institutions made a killing on forex - the two above are still on the list.
3. Who were the largest borrowers of CBK's money when Interest rates were low and inflation rising Jan - May and quietly reduced this uptake and reduced govt securities held for trading to held to maturity in their books before others began - you know where we are going with this.
4. Why have the 3 top shareholders been reducing their shareholding so fast during the last 1 year to be precise.
5. Which country in Africa is regarded as one with the best financial brains if not Kenya. Then if us why is it that wrong decisions were made by the CBK. SHEER ARROGANCE.
As others say here, at times you have to put on your money goggles and the guys who started seeing some of the above early enough are reaping sweet returns on government securities.
'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary