wazua Thu, Mar 26, 2026

safaricom advert too deadly
Djinn
#11 Posted : Friday, July 03, 2009 12:05:00 PM

@bird man - I agree,not about suffericom (for all I care they can shove their BTS up their collective corporate back side) _ I mean about the HELB ad - esp that 'daughter'....'Dad - duh - where - duh - are we? duh?' Listening to that is like chewing broken glass.....then there is that ad abt 4u soap - nice looking hottie - but lets be real,no one washes their toes like that - how did that part of the ad help?

Now the ad I really like and always gets a laugh out of me is the pin pop ad - the part with the dog - really kills me.

Having said that,Safaricom is NOT your friend as much as the ad would like you to think - either as a shareholder or subscriber...hell,even as a supplier. Can't wait for their AGM to be a major riot...ha ha

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
mtaalam
#12 Posted : Friday, July 03, 2009 12:12:00 PM

@ Ken K
'Niko na safaricom' is not a takeout. That is what the ad is telling you.
The question is 'Nani yuko na safaricom?'
You cannot show me landscapes of my land well manicured and edited and tell me 'therefore buy my product'...
If you exchange the brand and put eabl or co-op bank or any other it would still work perfectly! 'Niko na Equity'

ili iwe funzo...
#13 Posted : Friday, July 03, 2009 2:11:00 PM

Ni furahi day bwana...
Mbona mko na machungu hivi na safcom..... msijai shares zitafika 5 bob in the not so near future.....
hehehehe
Ken K
#14 Posted : Friday, July 03, 2009 3:10:00 PM

Mtaalam

When you realize 'Niko na safaricom',you'll realize ni hiyo tu.

No need to stress over cash - MPESA iko.

I want to log into SK - Data enabled handsets hiyo,Modem hizo with 3G Network.

Nataka Kuongea - Safaricom tu!

Nataka Shares - Safaricom hiyo inapanda.

Labda nikitaka Gachungwa Safaricom inaeza toa. I hear the callcentre side is well endowed.

Future - Safaricom Pekee. 18 M people can only be right.

By the way,before Safaricom,which other company made you realize the beauty of your country.

Waria
#15 Posted : Friday, July 03, 2009 4:02:00 PM

Cancel the esoteric adverts and print 30k t shirts to distribute during AGM

Me first,U next
#16 Posted : Saturday, July 04, 2009 6:39:00 AM

Forget ads... a new promo for discounted sms will help get more usage and customers. And benefit shareholders of sufferingcon not nation media!

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
mtaalam
#17 Posted : Monday, July 06, 2009 6:49:00 AM

@ Ken K,
I'm not saying our country is not beautiful but instead of doing an epic - feel good campaign for MJ,why not do a promo? Or sponsor Out n' About sort of tv programmes that promote conservation and tourism?
As a Safcom shareholder,I don't approve of it.

ili iwe funzo...
#18 Posted : Monday, July 06, 2009 8:52:00 AM

@Mtaalam

this is what i got from the Safcom advert

1. It has many faces - rivers,trees,grass,and,ocean etc to represent its many products
2. it is everywhere,in the desert,valleys,mountains ocean,whereever you go,you will not need anything more coz you are well covered
3. Too much of green represents its corporate color which we identify with
4. The green too also represents their selling point of corporate responsibility and hence the recent interview of MJ going green on NTV
5. the kenyan views could also represent its pride to being 'truly and proudly kenyan'
6. And thats why they tell you,if you are wondering how someone can get all that..... 'Niko na Safaricom' - same as enticing you to 'vuka' if you feel you arent getting all that Safcom can offer....
7. May be too intelligent to speak to the largest number of audience that use their product.

I mean,if you look deeper into the beautiful advert,i think you can 'take out' alot. ama haukufanya literature na (kuchambua vitabu - not sure if thats the correct Swahili)

yes,and whoever commented on that HELB advert.... it sucks! I so strongly dislike it... kwanza the so called 'kids'..... and their mother who combs her hair as they drive? not well thought out................................. and not convincing one bit! sometimes you concentrate on the flaws of the family so much you forget what they are advertising.... hiyo 2/10!!! That advert targets intelligent people who use the product... therefore,some intellegence in communicating with them is a must.... otherwise,it insults their intelligence. Too fake!

Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
1-kata-k
#19 Posted : Monday, July 06, 2009 10:01:00 AM

I think the person who did the Safcom ad is the same one who did the I am a member Equity ad. But the person who did the Helb add should just be shot!! Ama it s the watchie who did it? Like what was the role of the mother,ma make up tu. It shows if you do helb all you get is a blonde wife and dumb kids!

Show me the money
youngNrich
#20 Posted : Monday, July 06, 2009 12:36:00 PM

@ 1-kata i second u on the HELB ad its crap that was my exact sentiment when i saw it that was a serious disaster!

Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful,committed citizens can change the world. Indeed,it is the only thing that ever has. N we here are eager to change the investment world in kenya