wazua Tue, Feb 4, 2025

EABL desperately running out of ideas?
#1 Posted : Monday, December 05, 2011 5:09:15 PM

I think stiff competition from castle and other local and imported beers (Heineken, Sierra, Castle, Corona, and the coming soon -Miller Genuine Draft amongst others) are giving EABL a real run for their money to a point where they are cluelessly and aimlessly throwing anything at the market. I commend SAB for seeing an opportunity that EABL has failed to see, that of brewing something that's only targeted at women - Redds.

Who are the target for Tusker Lite and who's the intended victim for Pilsner Ice and why was it withdrawn first time? Was Pilsner Ice a failure and what in it is different this time?

I think EABL needs to take some time, go to the market and carry out an extensive research targeting youth (20-25), and develop a beer for this specific demographic and I think they'll hit the jackpot - instead of pushing down our throats these 'new' beers which they have not done any market research on and which they'll phase out after New Year.

Manyala
#2 Posted : Monday, December 05, 2011 5:22:33 PM

Once read a newspaper article, whereby an Official of EABL tries explaining, the objective of these brands.
One, is to counter similar products being launched in the Kenya market. Once they kill off the competion, they shut down the line.

As for the Pilsner Ice, the lady explained that it contradited, the Pilnser Brand Log;"Imara Kama Simba".As it had a low alcohal %. Don't know why it is being relaunched at 330mls?

Does this have anything to do with Mututho Laws and the breatherlizer?
#3 Posted : Monday, December 05, 2011 5:46:54 PM

Manyala wrote:
Once read a newspaper article, whereby an Official of EABL tries explaining, the objective of these brands.
One, is to counter similar products being launched in the Kenya market. Once they kill off the competion, they shut down the line.

As for the Pilsner Ice, the lady explained that it contradited, the Pilnser Brand Log;"Imara Kama Simba".As it had a low alcohal %. Don't know why it is being relaunched at 330mls?

Wrong. Its alcohol v/v was far way above that of Tusker at 5.0%, compared to Tusker at 4.2%

The new bottle is at 5.2% alcohol v/v
#4 Posted : Monday, December 05, 2011 5:48:56 PM

Manyala wrote:

At first I thought this was to counter Mututho but it didn't make sense because with our drinking culture one would just drink more. Then I thought it was for the health conscious but that's like a diabetic taking fortified sugar - so no. In my opinion it is to increase the variety of EABL offering for the festive season only and this is wrong.

Burning Spear
#5 Posted : Monday, December 05, 2011 5:57:56 PM

Tusker lite is 4%.
I saw the damn product last weekend and can confirm there is nothing special EABL is giving kenyans. The same ingredients like those of Tusker lager and Pilsener.

I always ask why dont they produce quality products as per the Reinheitsgebot law that requires all beer to have only three ingredients ie malted barley, hops and water unlike in Tusker ,whitecap ,Pilsener where they add co2,cornstarch etc to the three ingredients above. Beers like Heineken,Windhoek,Serengeti are made as per this German law and are thus high quality and tolerable to majority without too much starch and co2 EABL uses.

SAB have very quality products and given the space here in kenya could trounce EABL big time.
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
#6 Posted : Monday, December 05, 2011 6:36:30 PM

Anyone who has tasted the new stuff should advice on what they think oof the new brands. Some of us criticised the Alvaro drink when it was lauched but now are the major consumers considering that we arent alcoholics.
www.eastafricanized.com
#7 Posted : Monday, December 05, 2011 11:26:00 PM

I tries the Tusker lite just for the kicks.. I have never received such much ridicule in my life. So my advise "Save the state of mind at 10th bottle, ruin your image. Uh and your pocket too"
KenyanLyrics
#8 Posted : Monday, December 05, 2011 11:49:42 PM

In my opinion, it has always been mind-boggling that one of Kenya's biggest companies is a brewery! Maybe some normalization is beginning to take place finally.
#9 Posted : Tuesday, December 06, 2011 10:36:52 AM

Sober wrote:
Some of us criticised the Alvaro drink when it was lauched but now are the major consumers

Wewe wacha, speak for yourself. Who consumes Alvaro? Is it still in the market? Wasn't it murdered by Novida before Novida's demise?

majimaji
#10 Posted : Tuesday, December 06, 2011 12:46:38 PM

Quite a number of wazees at my local order: nipe Summit, haina Sukari.

This no-sugar angle, despite misleading people that the beer will not lead to weight gain or is good for diabetics etc is a hit for Keroche.
EABL have been sleeping on the job, the consumer is offered a narrow variety to choose from.
cmk
#11 Posted : Tuesday, December 06, 2011 1:13:48 PM

too much noise and critism directed at eabl..why not jump ship if you think the products are of inferior quality??
Every man is guilty of all the good he didn't do-
Voltaire
majimaji
#12 Posted : Tuesday, December 06, 2011 1:15:35 PM

A
@cmk, there is no other ship. That's the problem.
cmk
#13 Posted : Tuesday, December 06, 2011 1:24:11 PM

majimaji wrote:

A

try mama pima then..i hear cham from kisii is very good quality
Every man is guilty of all the good he didn't do-
Voltaire
#14 Posted : Tuesday, December 06, 2011 2:34:54 PM

cmk wrote:
too much noise and critism directed at eabl..why not jump ship if you think the products are of inferior quality??

It's not about jumping ship. You don't abandon your kid because he's last in class, you give advice and direction but never forget to first point out your disappointment so there's no confusion. Why should we jump our ship and give our hard earned to some trader on another ship?

#15 Posted : Tuesday, December 06, 2011 2:46:30 PM

When I saw the adverts, what went through my mind is that EABL are keen to sell me less beer at the same price period. It is about profits; not quality or class... that is marketing. In time, they may discontinue the 500ml Tusker, Pilsener, White Cap and leave you ( us) buying 330ml for the price of 500ml.

My two White Caps.
#16 Posted : Tuesday, December 06, 2011 2:53:06 PM

Bora white cups iko n' occasionally GK mimi apana iko na chida, wacha wajaribu biashara!!!!
#17 Posted : Tuesday, December 06, 2011 3:03:41 PM

cmk wrote:
majimaji wrote:

A

try mama pima then..i hear cham from kisii is very good quality

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you
Never take that Kisii or any other in gen. The process of making that from kisii involves stiring the kangara with an arm from a corpse. And whatever clothing you may find in it is a story for another day.
majimaji
#18 Posted : Tuesday, December 06, 2011 3:06:29 PM

There are hundreds of types of beers one finds abroad. At EABL, only Guinness is international. Give us more brands hata kama ni made in China.
#19 Posted : Tuesday, December 06, 2011 3:42:58 PM

majimaji wrote:

There are hundreds of types of beers one finds abroad. At EABL, only Guinness is international. Give us more brands hata kama ni made in China.

Tusker is international in larger eastern africa!!!!
Burning Spear
#20 Posted : Tuesday, December 06, 2011 5:27:58 PM

bwenyenye wrote:
When I saw the adverts, what went through my mind is that EABL are keen to sell me less beer at the same price period. It is about profits; not quality or class... that is marketing. In time, they may discontinue the 500ml Tusker, Pilsener, White Cap and leave you ( us) buying 330ml for the price of 500ml.

My two White Caps.

na kawaida thing from the waiters is anything less than 500ml comes into two.

Expect Tusker lite to be in this bandwargon worse is in this economic crunch,you invite a broke friend for a 2 drinks and he orders Tusker lite .
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X