wazua Fri, Jan 10, 2025

A tale of Kenya: two schools of thought
eboomerang
#1 Posted : Monday, November 28, 2011 4:49:41 PM

I came across one thread started off by @Mukiha sometime last year (Thika Road Expansion was a Mistake).

After reading the thread and looking through the debate, I concluded(stand to be corrected)that people in Kenya are largely divided into two main groups. Those who are pro Mukiha's thoughts and those who are opposed. A clear depiction of the two schools of thought we have here in Kenya.

The 1st school of thought are forward thinkers and visionaries who are at times able to envision how the future will look based on decisions taken today.

The 2nd school of thought are myopic and tend to see no further than one's nose. Individuals in this category tend to seek short term gratification without taking a deep thought into the long term effects.

There is no problem for one to fall in either of this groups. BUT, there is a big problem to end up in a situation where a majority of the country's leadership fall in the 2nd category.

Just for illustration purposes, see the extracts below.

mukiha wrote:
If they had asked me, I'd have suggested that we spend all that money in improving the railway link between Thika and Nairobi.

The problem is not the size of the road; it is the number of cars using it. The way to reduce this number is to provide an good alternative to road transportation.

Watch this space: as soon as the expanded highway is opened, the traffic jams will return. Simple reason being that people will have moved from Nairobi to Thika enmase

Have you seen the developments going on along this highway...all waiting for it to open?

xxxxxx wrote:
@Mukiha. Wewe ni P***u. If you have a plane to take you to various places, why do you want us, wealth earners on thika road to use trains? Have you ever in your short life been inside a train?. Bure kabisa.

The KES 26B thats being spent on thika road is the best money ever to be spent on any road in kenya.

I supporse that you also strongly feel that the bypass money should also have been spent on a project of your choice?

Did you ever study ecomonics in school? Do you know the link between GDP growth and infstructure?

Wewe you need some serious prayers.

Trains and people of thika road do not mix. We are not cows!!!!!! to ride on trains.

Wewe nyamaza tu to see the road get completed and then you can move to thika road as well. We have seen property appreciate in nairobi, only in areas where there is infrastructure.

Kama Thika road inajaa, una shida gani. Kama umeona Green intashindwa kwa referndum, ulituletee sisi.

Wacha barabara ijengwe.
-How do you go shoping with a train?
-How do kids go to school in a train?
-How do you deliver produce in a train?
-How do you ask +80K cars users a day to use a train.
-Wewe ni P***u!!!!

Based on the questions raised by the second person, you can see the level of narrow mindedness and ignorance in the society, or is it a lack of exposure?
GGK
#2 Posted : Monday, November 28, 2011 5:07:24 PM

I feel you! The only reason some people are alive is because it is illegal to kill them.

To the second guy, once you mention the train, he thinks of archaic locomotives operated by Kenya Railways on a per-colonial railway line.

Even with the superhighway, we still need a public mass transportation system to supplement the superhighway. I guess as Mukiha opined, in 5 years, it will be the same old story
"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
jerry
#3 Posted : Monday, November 28, 2011 5:20:05 PM

If Michuki was still the transport minister he could have adopted the @Mukiha thoughts. Remember there was a test ride from ,is it Karatina?
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
jerry
#4 Posted : Monday, November 28, 2011 5:24:15 PM

GGK wrote:
I feel you! The only reason some people are alive is because it is illegal to kill them.

To the second guy, once you mention the train, he thinks of archaic locomotives operated by Kenya Railways on a per-colonial railway line.

Even with the superhighway, we still need a public mass transportation system to supplement the superhighway. I guess as Mukiha opined, in 5 years, it will be the same old story

@GGK, and plans are underway to extend same to Marua!!!
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
Thiong'o
#5 Posted : Monday, November 28, 2011 5:36:40 PM

xxxxxx wrote:
Trains and people of thika road do not mix. We are not cows!!!!!! to ride on trains.

Picking an argument for no reason and arguing for argument’s sake.
Nway, lack of exposure or whatever reason, at least @ xxxxxx had an opportunity to vent - contribute in his/her own way.

Train transport systems have worked well in developed economies, India, US, UK are some of the countries that have functional and excellent train systems for mass transport. People using trains are definately not cows.

US Vice president (Joe Biden) used train for many years as his preferred means of transport.

http://abcnews.go.com/bl...-his-own-train-station/
Mpenzi
#6 Posted : Monday, November 28, 2011 6:17:22 PM

The question really should be: how much would it cost to build a modern rail track (electric?) to Thika and to purchase modern train engines and carriages ? Until we get real figures on such costs the arguments here ( on both sides) are not helpful.
eboomerang
#7 Posted : Monday, November 28, 2011 6:37:36 PM

Mpenzi wrote:
The question really should be: how much would it cost to build a modern rail track (electric?) to Thika and to purchase modern train engines and carriages ? Until we get real figures on such costs the arguments here ( on both sides) are not helpful.

With regard to Government investments, money/capital has never been and will never be an issue. Governments are always able to raise money, with numerous options on how to do so.

The problem here is sustainability, long-term projection and value for money so to speak.

There is no doubt that we need both solutions, rail and highways. Depending on what exactly is the problem you are trying to solve, the priorities would perhaps be different.
eboomerang
#8 Posted : Monday, November 28, 2011 6:49:51 PM

Thiong'o wrote:

...Train transport systems have worked well in developed economies, India, US, UK are some of the countries that have functional and excellent train systems for mass transport. People using trains are definately not cows...

GGK wrote:

..To the second guy, once you mention the train, he thinks of archaic locomotives operated by Kenya Railways on a per-colonial railway line...

The level of ignorance exuded by leadership here is just something else.

In some countries, its probably safer (from collisions etc) and more reliable (time factor) to use commuter trains than your own car.

Commuter trains stop at stations that are 2-3 minutes apart and can travel at speeds faster than allowed for cars. This wipes away the need for matatus and you can free up some capacity on the existing roads for some time.
#9 Posted : Monday, November 28, 2011 7:26:48 PM

eboomerang wrote:
Thiong'o wrote:

...Train transport systems have worked well in developed economies, India, US, UK are some of the countries that have functional and excellent train systems for mass transport. People using trains are definately not cows...

GGK wrote:

..To the second guy, once you mention the train, he thinks of archaic locomotives operated by Kenya Railways on a per-colonial railway line...

In some countries, its probably safer (from collisions etc) and more reliable (time factor) to use commuter trains than your own car.

Commuter trains stop at stations that are 2-3 minutes apart and can travel at speeds faster than allowed for cars. This wipes away the need for matatus and you can free up some capacity on the existing roads for some time.

Some people need that plane ticket to visit some western countries like UK and Denmark for instance.

erifloss
#10 Posted : Monday, November 28, 2011 10:09:05 PM

From the above just confirmed why we have the calibre of leaders we have! Cows & trains, really!
'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
GGK
#11 Posted : Tuesday, November 29, 2011 7:36:49 AM

eboomerang wrote:
Thiong'o wrote:

GGK wrote:

Some people need that plane ticket to visit some western countries like UK and Denmark for instance.

I don't think one needs to go to Europe to appreciate what we are talking about. It is very simple. Unless we invest on a public mass transportation system, the superhighways we are building will create super jams.

This reminds me, there was a parliamentary committee on catering that traveled far and wide "to see for themselves" how catering is done. but again, this is Kenya

"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,