wazua Thu, May 7, 2026

3 Pages<123
AVOID ACCIDENTS THIS FESTIVE SEASON
#21 Posted : Thursday, December 16, 2010 6:44:29 PM

Intelligentsia wrote:
Quick tips:
when walking along a road while holding a kid's name, please please note drivers of some high clearance cars cannot see the kid who's too close to the road and will only see you the adult because you r taller.

Which reminds me of idiots who when walking with children let the children walk roadside instead of the other way round. Feel like giving them some massive whipping every time I see it. And they are many.
#22 Posted : Friday, December 17, 2010 9:45:23 AM

I have the privilege of familiarity and experience with all terrain defensive driving. This stuff here is very handy at this time of the year.

Lets observe the highway code and common road courtesy. Lack of courtesy in the urban roads due to poor roads, congestion and "haraka" when transferred to the highway has the effect of causing unimaginable accidents.

Most motorists learn their driving in the "jam" and the style of driving say downtown over the years makes very poor, discourteous drivers. When these guys get into the highway the things they do would leave you wondering kwani they are late for an appointment with their maker. Overtaking on blind spots is a common cause of accidents in the highway. Avoid it. Speeding, avoid it. Before a journey on the highway check your car, tyre pressure, brakes, fluids etc. Drink driving kunyua soup, milk or water if you must. Don't drive when you are sleepy - this causes terrible accidents at night. If driving for long distances get company.

Guys above all know your car (its limitations, possibilities and weaknesses) Seat belts could save your life and that of your passengers. Happy holidays.smile
#23 Posted : Friday, December 17, 2010 10:05:18 AM

Guys one more thing I have noted that gives mee the goose bumps and especially with ladies. Please, Please Please, do not hold your kid in the front passenger seat. Even in City Driving. You do not want to imagine what would happen of there was a sudden stop. You better hop into the back seat of you want to hold your kid.Pray
#24 Posted : Friday, December 17, 2010 10:07:43 AM

I hav unconfirmed report that about 8 pple hav died along thika rd this morning.
conos
#25 Posted : Friday, December 17, 2010 10:58:51 AM

if u must drink alcohol and drive, do it in your bedroom!
ukiona choo kwa ndoto usiingie, ni mtego!
callaspade
#26 Posted : Monday, November 28, 2011 9:11:27 AM

...just to remind everyone.

.....the number of accidents this year have been crazy,i hope the alco-blow is fully utilized this festive season.
sihingwa
#27 Posted : Monday, November 28, 2011 12:03:31 PM

The proportion of no. of road accident deaths to registered vehicles in Kenya is alarming. Sample this ;

South Africa had > 8 Million registered vehicles by 2006 While their road accident death statistics around the time approx 5000 yearly

On the other handKenya had roughly >0.8 Million vehicles at the time,
Kenyan roads accident claimed >3000 yearly

I apportion 80% of the road carnage blame to our poorly maintained roads (or lack of the same)
#28 Posted : Monday, November 28, 2011 12:35:09 PM

I understand the spped limit is 110kph on a DUAL CARRIAGEWAY and 100kph on the normal 2 way highway...

By the way I do a lot of long distance driving and the kind of stunts I see so called "macho" drivers (young guys driving proboxes on NRB-EMBU-MERU highway with full lights on etc etc)are the kind of stunts that will definitely result in fatal accidents at night.

As a rule, I will avoid highway night driving as much as possible becaue trust me you're not in much control of most things e.g. I see bus and truck drivers coming onto your lane on bends at the bottom of a valley and with their full lights on, you'll never know how close you are to death until it's too late.

I once closed my eyes for what must have been 2 seconds (drunk fatigue driving alone) and found myself in a ditch in one of the City estates, thankfully it was a dirt road in the middle of the night so no one was hurt - it could have been much worse.

Take care everyone - hii mambo ya Mungu niponye will one day catch up, God forbid
specky
#29 Posted : Monday, November 28, 2011 1:05:00 PM

sure guys,lets be cautious on our roads not only during the festive season but always.
I always say,after respecting the speed limits,always drive /ride at a speed that you can easily control your vehicle/tuk tuk/ boda incase of an emergency,if you can only control at a speed of 40 kama .......@magigi then drive at 40.

Lets all take care hata pedestrians pia.
3 Pages<123