wazua Tue, Mar 24, 2026

13 Pages«<89101112>»
Your first car
#91 Posted : Friday, October 02, 2009 8:42:00 AM

@waswa,wendz is referring to this thread.

Can silence be misquoted?
Flowman
#92 Posted : Friday, October 02, 2009 9:57:00 AM

@phantom,LMAO.Have had embarassing xperiences with my dads KJH ...Oil stains on my shirt,searching for slopy ground b4 I can zima the ndai and then one day doors had a mind of their own while a would-be girlfrnd was in the ride..:>I totally understand it when drivers of older cars find it harder to give way to pedstrians

Tommy
#93 Posted : Friday, November 25, 2011 11:08:47 AM

enjoyed reading this old thread. I also noticed there are some wazuans who were there and i have never met. Where r they?
Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
smurimi
#94 Posted : Friday, November 25, 2011 4:08:04 PM

Mercifully my first owned car is a 2003 funcargo I still drive. Now only one and a half years in kenya ex japan. All I can say its basically entirely made of glass. I lean on it it caves in everywhere. Avoid all potholes and do not stress her. Do not pass 120kph or you will take flight. I went into a slight pothole on museum hill and ended up replacing my bushes, shocks, shredded tire, Wheel and camber alignment and broken wheel studs. Good 1300cc consumption. Inside its as big as nakumatt but i would not load it with more than 300kgs. Still always gets me where I need to go....
#95 Posted : Friday, November 25, 2011 4:43:25 PM

Eli signed out of Wazua?
#96 Posted : Friday, November 25, 2011 5:10:10 PM

smurimi wrote:
Mercifully my first owned car is a 2003 funcargo I still drive. Now only one and a half years in kenya ex japan. All I can say its basically entirely made of glass. I lean on it it caves in everywhere. Avoid all potholes and do not stress her. Do not pass 120kph or you will take flight. I went into a slight pothole on museum hill and ended up replacing my bushes, shocks, shredded tire, Wheel and camber alignment and broken wheel studs. Good 1300cc consumption. Inside its as big as nakumatt but i would not load it with more than 300kgs. Still always gets me where I need to go....

Basically funcargo models are for carrying very light loads within say the city or municipality and not for cruising to and fro Western Kenya. Its not built for rough roads.

#97 Posted : Friday, November 25, 2011 10:49:13 PM

Toyota since 2009 and no issues.......
#98 Posted : Sunday, November 27, 2011 9:30:49 AM

Tebes wrote:
smurimi wrote:

Basically funcargo models are for carrying very light loads within say the city or municipality and not for cruising to and fro Western Kenya. Its not built for rough roads.

That car is very funny indeed.The only vehicle that comes out of the factory with a dent.It always so weak that even pulling it out of the factory makes it wear so badly.
I would not board one in a Kenyan road.

seppuku
#99 Posted : Sunday, November 27, 2011 12:11:10 PM

This is an interesting thread. Even hilarious. Those who have not acquired their first rides yet know what to avoid, hopefully. But hey, what's this obsession with four wheels? In a congested city like Nairobi, doesn't using a motorcycle instead make sense? Think about it, you pay less for fuel and maintenance, the weather rarely gets really bad for riding if you have the appropriate gear, you'll hardly get stuck in the traffic jam... Any good reason we Kenyans find this an unacceptable option ama ni kitu ya culture? My apologies for subverting the thread somewhat, but I thought these sentiments blend well with it's general spirit of the good and the bad of personal transportation.
Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
hairglo
#100 Posted : Monday, November 28, 2011 10:17:11 AM

seppuku wrote:
This is an interesting thread. Even hilarious. Those who have not acquired their first rides yet know what to avoid, hopefully. But hey, what's this obsession with four wheels? In a congested city like Nairobi, doesn't using a motorcycle instead make sense? Think about it, you pay less for fuel and maintenance, the weather rarely gets really bad for riding if you have the appropriate gear, you'll hardly get stuck in the traffic jam... Any good reason we Kenyans find this an unacceptable option ama ni kitu ya culture? My apologies for subverting the thread somewhat, but I thought these sentiments blend well with it's general spirit of the good and the bad of personal transportation.

you're right, mobikes make the best mode of transi in nairobi but safety is no.1 deterrent. Even with the right gear it's easy to loose your arm or leg given how crazy drivers are here. Also there're no bike lanes, and if there were matatus wuld still use them to overlap.
13 Pages«<89101112>»