wazua Mon, Jan 20, 2025

Share prices to deep further in December
#21 Posted : Thursday, November 24, 2011 6:18:27 PM

the market seems to be bottoming out. turnover has declined to 109 million today with only 13 million shares traded (9 million for EB and saf) NSE 20 share index 3288
josiah33
#22 Posted : Thursday, November 24, 2011 6:43:48 PM

kyt wrote:
and who is uhuru ruto anyway?

two of the ocampo six
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#23 Posted : Thursday, November 24, 2011 7:29:00 PM

lovely2010 wrote:
guru267 wrote:
the deal wrote:
The herd is always wrong, they buy at the top and sell at the bottom, become an Independent investor

We will be buying in December though I dont know about you..

You and who?

Her and me!
@SufficientlyP
lovely2010
#24 Posted : Thursday, November 24, 2011 7:34:23 PM

Sufficiently Philanga....thropic wrote:
lovely2010 wrote:
guru267 wrote:
the deal wrote:
The herd is always wrong, they buy at the top and sell at the bottom, become an Independent investor

We will be buying in December though I dont know about you..

You and who?

Her and me!

Unless prices zikuwe less half of what they are trading now...am sure there would be many divers...lakini kama bei ni hivi zilivyo...ikae...
#25 Posted : Thursday, November 24, 2011 7:36:20 PM

Time to cut my losses and move on or what?

Umeanza kuharahara. Will u live with a 40% loss?
simonmaina71@gmail.com
#26 Posted : Thursday, November 24, 2011 7:51:15 PM

I bought uchumi shares two weeks ago at 8.50 and now they are at 7.55...since they are approaching my stop loss,am visitting my broker tomorrow to preserve my capital...and sell them at 7.60...in a seriously leaking boat,it is wiser to jump to another than to try and repair the leak.
#27 Posted : Thursday, November 24, 2011 7:58:44 PM

simonmaina71@gmail.com wrote:
I bought uchumi shares two weeks ago at 8.50 and now they are at 7.55...since they are approaching my stop loss,am visitting my broker tomorrow to preserve my capital...and sell them at 7.60...in a seriously leaking boat,it is wiser to jump to another than to try and repair the leak.

Stop loss trading in a bear market is one of the dumbest things ive ever seen in my life!!

You are probably going to do the exact same thing with the next company you buy!
cnn
#28 Posted : Thursday, November 24, 2011 8:05:26 PM

Why in the first place did you buy into that counter and at the particular price?.And what guarantee do you have that whichever other boat you jump into will not treat you the same way?.....and another stop loss,ending in more erosion of your capital.
#29 Posted : Thursday, November 24, 2011 8:06:01 PM

josiah33 wrote:
kyt wrote:
and who is uhuru ruto anyway?

two of the ocampo six

simonmaina71@gmail.com
#30 Posted : Thursday, November 24, 2011 8:08:26 PM

Maybe you guys are more experienced...what would you do if you were in my shoes?
#31 Posted : Thursday, November 24, 2011 8:09:14 PM

Time to cut my losses and move on or what?

Umeanza kuharahara. Will u live with a 40% loss?

I'm at33% loss at mpesa, shouls I jump ship?
And when will PanAfric wake up?Since introduction of the bonus share ithas seen a massive and consistent slide!

lovely2010
#32 Posted : Thursday, November 24, 2011 8:12:07 PM

Dont even think of selling. Just hold your balls...what you can do is average down instead of selling at a loss...
simonmaina71@gmail.com
#33 Posted : Thursday, November 24, 2011 8:31:16 PM

Stop loss saves money...i remember when kq was at 66 and then it started droppin...i cut my losses at 55...where is it today?at 20 do you expect it to tripple any time soon?i cut my loses with safcom at sh 4...its now around 3 and a 33 percent rise is unlikely in the foreseeable future.
kaifastus
#34 Posted : Thursday, November 24, 2011 9:00:39 PM

Stop loss saves money...i remember when kq was at 66 and then it started droppin...i cut my losses at 55...where is it today?at 20 do you expect it to tripple any time soon?i cut my loses with safcom at sh 4...its now around 3 and a 33 percent rise is unlikely in the foreseeable future.

You keep 'cutting loses' perhaps its time you quit stock mkt completly.. pple like you are the ones fueling the drop!

#35 Posted : Thursday, November 24, 2011 9:10:39 PM

kaifastus wrote:

You keep 'cutting loses' perhaps its time you quit stock mkt completly.. pple like you are the ones fueling the drop!

Haha! No need for blame games people. It is, after all, a 'free' market. Willing buyer, willing seller, etc
lovely2010
#36 Posted : Thursday, November 24, 2011 9:11:06 PM

kaifastus wrote:

I did a stop loss also and I have saved a lot I invested the money in treasury and Im making returns ...I would have needed a lot to average down so I opted for stop loss...
simonmaina71@gmail.com
#37 Posted : Thursday, November 24, 2011 9:12:51 PM

heheh...am not in the stock market to lose my hard earned money...am here to multiply it...cutting loses always keeps me in the game...accept small losses and admit you were wrong,then call it a bad day and move on...a wise person cuts losses short and lets profits run..a fool cuts profits and lets losses run.
#38 Posted : Thursday, November 24, 2011 9:33:23 PM

heheh...am not in the stock market to lose my hard earned money...am here to multiply it...cutting loses always keeps me in the game...accept small losses and admit you were wrong,then call it a bad day and move on...a wise person cuts losses short and lets profits run..a fool cuts profits and lets losses run.

check this out.. it all depends on what your intention is for capital long term or short term..

but IMHO the 300% potential upside return 5 years from now on most stocks on the NSE greatly outweighs the stress of stop losses and miniscule gains of 5% by buying and selling now.. Especially in a bear market..

At 66bob and 5bob KQ and Safcon had no long term value in them so what would possess me to have bought at that level?? now they do have good value at 19 and 2.8 respectively..

Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#39 Posted : Thursday, November 24, 2011 9:34:44 PM

Now, smart traders speculate on fundamentals. When u were buying Uchumi, had u looked at its fundamentals based on their latest accounts i.e PE ratio, Div yeild and stuff like that? Had u run your eye on the charts fro trends? Now, that's what smart investors do.
And Yes, smart people only cut losses as a last resort and after carefully analysing the above!
Anything short of this is gambling!
I wonder how long you've been in the market!
@SufficientlyP
#40 Posted : Friday, November 25, 2011 6:42:00 AM

Depends on whether you are in the nse to make money or avoid losses. Keep on selling and you will avoid big losses. Smart investors are buying now or just waiting for the market to recover.