wazua Mon, Sep 22, 2025

Kenya shilling breaks key 90 per dollar level
the deal
#21 Posted : Tuesday, November 22, 2011 5:08:31 PM

Read this and you will hate MPC forever...how the Prof is in Office you don't know http://www.centralbank.g...January%2027,%202010.pdf
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#22 Posted : Tuesday, November 22, 2011 5:26:52 PM

kizee1 wrote:
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic wrote:

At 85/- imports will start surging. everything...

I don't think so. With banks lending at 25% where will traders get money from? And who will buy from them if they need to make enough to repay the banks? I actually think CBK is messing up this economy.

CBK is doing the right thing! Let them continue increasing the rates for consumption loans until we love to live within our means!!
At times pain is necessary to make us wiser!
And wooow, the dollar now at 89.642! Rooooaaar!Laughing out loudly

wtf is it cbks or any1s business wat i do with my money?

@kizee,how can it be your money when/if u have borrowed?It is definitely the banks(Agents for CBK) until u have paid up!
BTW @Kizee,in the early days,u couldnt jus walk away with a loan frm the bank without them knowing its intended use.Personal/unsecured loan were unheard of n ths the public only accessed frm chamaas,merry go rounds n saccos.
Maybe we need to go back there!
@SufficientlyP
GGK
#23 Posted : Tuesday, November 22, 2011 5:43:26 PM

I don't think so. With banks lending at 25% where will traders get money from? And who will buy from them if they need to make enough to repay the banks? I actually think CBK is messing up this economy.

IMHO, cheap loans are to blame for all this. May be there should be differentiated interest rates depending on the intended use of the cash. Production oriented credit should be availed at concessionary rates. Like we had KTDC for tourism. But if a fella wants cash to import furniture and clothes, the bank should charge him 100% interest rate.

The article below tries to explain

http://www.businessdaily.../-/10valdk/-/index.html
"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
Mainat
#24 Posted : Tuesday, November 22, 2011 5:45:05 PM

[quote=the deal]Read this and you will hate MPC forever...how the Prof is in Office you don't know http://www.centralbank.g...anuary%2027,%202010.pdf[/quote]
deal-been referencing that piece for a while-talk about an MPC with low to zero credibility...
Its called a report card.
Sehemu ndio nyumba
#25 Posted : Tuesday, November 22, 2011 6:44:07 PM

kizee1 wrote:

CBK is doing the right thing! Let them continue increasing the rates for consumption loans until we love to live within our means!!
At times pain is necessary to make us wiser!
And wooow, the dollar now at 89.642! Rooooaaar!Laughing out loudly

wtf is it cbks or any1s business wat i do with my money?

@kizee,how can it be your money when/if u have borrowed?It is definitely the banks(Agents for CBK) until u have paid up!
BTW @Kizee,in the early days,u couldnt jus walk away with a loan frm the bank without them knowing its intended use.Personal/unsecured loan were unheard of n ths the public only accessed frm chamaas,merry go rounds n saccos.
Maybe we need to go back there!

And economic growth was zero to negative. Tough choices. @GGK has diny*d a point....'differenciated interest on loans based on intended use'
Cde Monomotapa
#26 Posted : Tuesday, November 22, 2011 7:00:19 PM

[quote=the deal]Read this and you will hate MPC forever...how the Prof is in Office you don't know http://www.centralbank.g...anuary%2027,%202010.pdf[/quote]
I think doing biz in Kenya will give U cardiac soon comrade Laughing out loudly remember Windhoek, ok. It's a lot more 'organized' Laughing out loudly
Cde Monomotapa
#27 Posted : Tuesday, November 22, 2011 7:02:00 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
I think doing biz in Kenya will give U cardiac soon comrade Laughing out loudly remember Windhoek, ok. It's a lot more 'organized' Laughing out loudly

Don't be another statistic of how SA businesses fail in KE smile
Cde Monomotapa
#28 Posted : Tuesday, November 22, 2011 7:29:30 PM

That's how the bulk of Kenyans in the diaspora are successful as they were born in chaos so any other place in the world is mswaki! - not the tooth brush but a piece of cake! Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#29 Posted : Tuesday, November 22, 2011 7:31:17 PM

Cde, Kenya. If you make it here, you can make it anywhere!
Cde Monomotapa
#30 Posted : Tuesday, November 22, 2011 7:37:44 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Cde, Kenya. If you make it here, you can make it anywhere!

;-) "..if u scared go to church, we gon' hit U where it hurt, that don't work we'll put U in tha dirt!!.."
hisah
#31 Posted : Tuesday, November 22, 2011 10:18:45 PM

So now KES solid strengthening vs USD is due to unaccounted for inflows and not from importers!? I give up! Nothing makes sense anymore! Hii ni karata gani sasa...

http://www.businessdaily...8/-/eqptmcz/-/index.html
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
the deal
#32 Posted : Tuesday, November 22, 2011 10:38:39 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:

Don't be another statistic of how SA businesses fail in KE smile

I view things from a different perspective...investing here is easy for me smile
Cde Monomotapa
#33 Posted : Tuesday, November 22, 2011 11:13:30 PM

[quote=hisah]So now KES solid strengthening vs USD is due to unaccounted for inflows and not from importers!? I give up! Nothing makes sense anymore! Hii ni karata gani sasa...

http://www.businessdaily.../-/eqptmcz/-/index.html[/quote]
Karibu Kenya. Swim with the sharks and build your bones smile
GGK
#34 Posted : Wednesday, November 23, 2011 8:40:21 AM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
[quote=hisah]So now KES solid strengthening vs USD is due to unaccounted for inflows and not from importers!? I give up! Nothing makes sense anymore! Hii ni karata gani sasa...

http://www.businessdaily.../-/eqptmcz/-/index.html[/quote]
Karibu Kenya. Swim with the sharks and build your bones smile

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Maneno ya pesa ni ngumu... may be the guys with accounts in Jersey got scared and EFTd the cash back home.
"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
#35 Posted : Wednesday, November 23, 2011 9:45:48 AM

Fuel should also be headed to the below 90s range,sukari pia per kg.This has always been the case.

dsktop
#36 Posted : Wednesday, November 23, 2011 10:05:53 AM

...the kenya shilling has caught the slim possible bug...77 is possible