wazua Fri, Jan 31, 2025

Bean Farming in Kenya
#1 Posted : Thursday, June 23, 2011 3:13:42 PM

Good People,

We have discussed all manner of business ventures in this forum. I am considering venturing into Beans production. I need some information on the following

What are the yields per acre generally given average farming methods

Where can I get good seeds specific to a dry area ( Isinya to be precise)

Which are the better variety by resale,quantity,and input costs e.g Saitoti,

What are the market dynamics ( seasons, prices, major markets, bulk vs retail)

I intend to do the crop on drip irrigation. Anyone with this experience?

What are the challenges of bean production in Kenya.

Any other infor I mey need to know.

You can get me on bwenyenye@gmail.com

Listening......
#2 Posted : Friday, June 24, 2011 12:29:15 PM

Good people,

I am sure one of us has done this. We can't be all doing potato, pig and Maize farming!
mmarto
#3 Posted : Monday, June 27, 2011 12:00:19 PM

i have tried ish-ish. Am looking for seeds to launch out on 10 acres. either rose coco, saitoti or wairimu. Anybody knows a place i can get them pls shout,
The only time you should be looking down on others is when you are helping them up.
accelriskconsult
#4 Posted : Monday, June 27, 2011 12:30:35 PM

Bwenyenye, My partners and I have a pilot project - 10 acres under cultivation in Nakuru - maize and beans. 5 acres planted with Nyayo and 5 planted with Wairimu. I can report to you that Nyayo is doing much much better than Wairimu. I have never planted any other bean varieties so I cannot comment on that. About the source of seeds, our man on the ground (MOG) sourced them from a seed shop in Nakuru and the cost of seeds was approx 10k. The MOG who has more experience on such matters advises that on average, each acre will produce between 1200 and 1500 kg. The last time I checked, beans were retailing for Sh 6,800 per 90 kg bag. Other costs include ploughing 2k per acre , weeding 2k per acre (allocate these 50:50 with the maize) and harvesting costs which I have not yet quantified. Happy planting!
#5 Posted : Monday, June 27, 2011 12:54:16 PM

accelriskconsult wrote:
Bwenyenye, My partners and I have a pilot project - 10 acres under cultivation in Nakuru - maize and beans. 5 acres planted with Nyayo and 5 planted with Wairimu. I can report to you that Nyayo is doing much much better than Wairimu. I have never planted any other bean varieties so I cannot comment on that. About the source of seeds, our man on the ground (MOG) sourced them from a seed shop in Nakuru and the cost of seeds was approx 10k. The MOG who has more experience on such matters advises that on average, each acre will produce between 1200 and 1500 kg. The last time I checked, beans were retailing for Sh 6,800 per 90 kg bag. Other costs include ploughing 2k per acre , weeding 2k per acre (allocate these 50:50 with the maize) and harvesting costs which I have not yet quantified. Happy planting!

Cheers mate. From the look of things, bean farming is actually more profitable than Maize farming. So why does it attract such few farmers? Does interplanting it with maize reduce the bean production or is it to maximize on both yields.
accelriskconsult
#6 Posted : Monday, June 27, 2011 2:37:19 PM

Bwenyenye, I have no idea why it (beans farming) attracts fewer farmers. However, it is laborious compared to maize farming and this may be a factor. About profitability, I guess it depends on whether your shamba can sustain beans farming without fertilizer input. When the rains delayed, the MOG referred to above recommended interplanting - his reasoning being that beans would perform well even with reduced rainfall. We consider this an experiment and will change to other crops if the results are not as expected.
#7 Posted : Monday, June 27, 2011 3:04:21 PM

So it is about the soil nitrates. I would like to see the project. Can we chat on bwenyenye@gmail.com
mmarto
#8 Posted : Tuesday, June 28, 2011 9:28:19 AM

@Aaccelriskconsult wrote: bout the source of seeds, our man on the ground (MOG) sourced them from a seed shop in Nakuru and the cost of seeds was approx 10k.
Do you have the no of the store for seeds in Nakuru. Am desperately looking for seeds. What quantity did you plant in the 5 acres. Where did you get maize seeds. I have looked for 614 allover but failed.
The only time you should be looking down on others is when you are helping them up.
accelriskconsult
#9 Posted : Tuesday, June 28, 2011 10:44:04 AM

Bwenyenye; You wont find me on chat but check your email for my cellphone number.

Marto: wrt maize seed, I have been informed that all the 6 series varieties are out of stock. Farmers are now selecting the healthy looking grains from last years harvest for planting. He will check whether beans are available at the store and let me know. email me on duetcapital@gmail.com and I will give you feedback.
incognito
#10 Posted : Thursday, November 03, 2011 10:36:44 AM

accelriskconsult wrote:

accelriskconsult...how did the bean farming go? Bwenyenye any experiences to share?
Excelsior
Injere
#11 Posted : Thursday, November 03, 2011 1:14:41 PM

From the little farming i have done, beans require twice as much labor compared to maize. Especially how you handle them after harvesting (i.e. getting the bean from the husk) - i found that bit very tricky. Can this be mechanised?
#12 Posted : Thursday, November 03, 2011 1:25:11 PM

@incognito.... bado anza. I was caught off guard by rains. So I guess I will have to wait.
Mercie
#13 Posted : Friday, November 18, 2011 5:00:53 AM

accelriskconsult wrote:

Accelriskconsult: How did your pilot project go? Did you produce as many kilos of beans as expected? Where did you find the market?

Is there anyone with ideas about where to market beans?

Thanks!
Go borrow vessels!
#14 Posted : Monday, November 21, 2011 3:43:58 PM

Mercie wrote:
accelriskconsult wrote:

Accelriskconsult: How did your pilot project go? Did you produce as many kilos of beans as expected? Where did you find the market?

Is there anyone with ideas about where to market beans?

Thanks!

Just store them well and wait for January. When the Boarding schools open, you will be king. if you can hold, wait even till March just before the next crop is harvested and you will be tops.
accelriskconsult
#15 Posted : Monday, November 21, 2011 4:22:26 PM

bwenyenye wrote:
Mercie wrote:
accelriskconsult wrote:

Is there anyone with ideas about where to market
beans?

Thanks!

Just store them well and wait for January. When the Boarding schools open, you will be king. if you can hold, wait even till March just before the next crop is harvested and you will be tops.

Bwenyenye, thanks for the advice. I was wondering what to do with the maize as the current prices are discouraging.

Mercie, the beans came a cropper (pun intended)! A number of factors including drought when the bean sprouts were forming and a whitish worm that eats the stalks affected the crop. The maize crop did not perform too badly and we are likely to realise a modest return of around 10% (despite finding out later that the caretaker never procured seeds but planted from his own harvest the previous year). I am planning to be more proactive next season but will stay out of bean planting.
wairegi
#16 Posted : Tuesday, November 22, 2011 9:23:04 AM

I have tried this but the maize thing is not worth it at all. It too expensive to farm.

May be on very large scale lakini sio acre moja mbili, tano
Mercie
#17 Posted : Thursday, November 24, 2011 4:52:09 AM

Thanks a lot Bwenyenye for your advice, but then won't the storage costs erode some of the earnings?

Accelriskconsult am sorry that your pilot did not go as you had expected and thanks for sharing your experience. Wish you the best next season.
Go borrow vessels!
wazuaguest
#18 Posted : Saturday, February 11, 2012 6:48:08 PM

Mercie wrote:
Thanks a lot Bwenyenye for your advice, but then won't the storage costs erode some of the earnings?

Accelriskconsult am sorry that your pilot did not go as you had expected and thanks for sharing your experience. Wish you the best next season.

if you have many bags the cost of storage per bag will come down say if you gave each bag a storage cost of 300 and you had 50 bags that's 15000 the selling price may rise from 4500 after harvesting to 6000 during planting in March. that can earn you approximately 1 k more, I am piloting this with a friend who is in the business and I hope to learn more.
Africa belongs to Africans.