wazua Thu, Mar 5, 2026

Train trip to Mombasa
safariant
#21 Posted : Friday, November 18, 2011 11:33:32 AM

kiterunner wrote:
i am interested too, how many people does the first class compartment hold, are there trains daily and how long in advance do you suppose one should book. Many thanks

Landing in motion must be an adventure!!!

1st class - 2 people
2nd class - 4 peoples
The greatest act of bravery is chancing a fart while suffering from diarrhoea
#22 Posted : Friday, November 18, 2011 11:35:02 AM

chemos wrote:
carygoh wrote:
rryz wrote:
TiggerTiggy wrote:
why not drive if you have a car? does anyone here have beach hotel or cottage costs/rates for early december. north coast? bei mwananchi please? asante
looking for adventure

and head

Drool Drool My dear Carygss

wewe unapenda hi maneno ya head sana... you cant have enough of LOLLIPOPS...Laughing out loudly

show me one person who doesnt like it ...and i will show u a liar
#23 Posted : Friday, November 18, 2011 11:51:59 AM

carygoh wrote:
chemos wrote:
carygoh wrote:
rryz wrote:
TiggerTiggy wrote:
why not drive if you have a car? does anyone here have beach hotel or cottage costs/rates for early december. north coast? bei mwananchi please? asante
looking for adventure

and head

wewe unapenda hi maneno ya head sana... you cant have enough of LOLLIPOPS...Laughing out loudly

Sickquot;

airports love this succulent intruments...

Can just picture hapo karibu manyani... chinja kuku wacha bata chinja kuku wacha bata.... while.......
#24 Posted : Friday, November 18, 2011 12:12:01 PM

lol, @chemos... chinja kuku wacha bata chinja kuku wacha bata chinja kuku chinja kuku chinja kuku chinja kuku. Whaat!
#25 Posted : Friday, November 18, 2011 12:20:28 PM

chemos wrote:
carygoh wrote:
chemos wrote:
carygoh wrote:
rryz wrote:
TiggerTiggy wrote:
looking for adventure

and head

Sickquot;

airports love this succulent intruments...

Can just picture hapo karibu manyani... chinja kuku wacha bata chinja kuku wacha bata.... while.......

@chemos are you already high ..this early
wanyuru
#26 Posted : Friday, November 18, 2011 12:26:00 PM

safariant wrote:
kiterunner wrote:
i am interested too, how many people does the first class compartment hold, are there trains daily and how long in advance do you suppose one should book. Many thanks

Landing in motion must be an adventure!!!

1st class - 2 people
2nd class - 4 peoples

@guka...did they say there's a bar in there? and katimba works there part time!!smile
#27 Posted : Friday, November 18, 2011 3:22:26 PM

Prime wrote:
Cardinal wrote:
TiggerTiggy wrote:

Give me your email to send you mwananchi prices

send me a quote thro wazuaprime at gmail dot com. dec 19-22 or thereabout. interest lies in North coast. as for south coast check out dianibeachaletes (google). fair rates in my opinion.

Google returns you back to this thread!!
#28 Posted : Friday, November 18, 2011 4:23:55 PM

mukiha wrote:
Prime wrote:
Cardinal wrote:
TiggerTiggy wrote:

Give me your email to send you mwananchi prices

send me a quote thro wazuaprime at gmail dot com. dec 19-22 or thereabout. interest lies in North coast. as for south coast check out dianibeachaletes (google). fair rates in my opinion.

Google returns you back to this thread!!

@mukiha try this

Am also interested in this trip? How long in advance do you need to book & where? and which trip is more enjoyable: to or fro mombasa?
#29 Posted : Friday, November 18, 2011 4:47:20 PM

@radio: I booked my christmas holiday three months ago. I think by now all the good [and affordable] places are full...
maligumu
#30 Posted : Friday, November 18, 2011 7:59:47 PM

I did Cairo night train from Cairo to Aswan . I have also travelled the Mombasa train . By the way our Mombasa train is better in terms of raha and scenery but Cairo beats us on speed and continuity . Its more express stops in few towns . Remember that when I was young in 80s there used an express train timed to coincide with sight seeing . KR is sitting on a gold mine !
Peace be with you
Theu
#31 Posted : Friday, November 18, 2011 11:10:38 PM

Sad Sad In my search of adventure i chose to travel by train to msa a fortnight ago only to end up spending the night in Konza, some 15km from msa rd. A gooods train had derailed blocking the line ahead and we were to wait for a crane to clear the way. Crane arrived around 5am! Even after clearing the way the line also needed some repair which would take a day or so! It was back to nairobi. We arrived around 11am after leaving konza at 8am, numerous stops on the way. Got our refunds and end of the adventure. So if you take the train be prepared for such "misadventures". (The frequent train travellers among us informed us that such happenings are not rare)
#32 Posted : Saturday, November 19, 2011 4:18:53 PM

The train is available from NBO Mondays,Wenesdays and Furahidays.
From Mwambao on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Sundays.
Goodluck!

That chinja kuku wacha bata is a classic nostalgia back in 1987 when I was still young and blameless.Was travelling from NRO when some white tourist heard me and my childhood dish singing that song, they gave us some biscuits and bangles I think.

Its good never to grow beyond age 7!

#33 Posted : Saturday, November 19, 2011 8:31:55 PM

majimaji wrote:

I thought passenger train to msa leaves Nairobi around 6pm and arrives msa early morning. So you will be travelling mostly at night and wont see much of Tsavo...?

No train leaves in the morning? What a shameSad

People would appreciate the scenery...
#34 Posted : Saturday, November 19, 2011 8:34:01 PM

P.S. Kupielo is in those open air loos - quite an experience too, watching the rails fly by on the ground

The last time I hear that word...

Sigh. Nostalgia
#35 Posted : Tuesday, March 01, 2016 4:12:52 PM

Good people, a friend of mine is planning to this trip mid-March.
She has been told it will take 14 hours but she has added then 10 more hours in order to be safe and enjoy.

Anyone who did the lunatic trip recently to advice.

#36 Posted : Tuesday, March 01, 2016 6:27:02 PM

The train is available from NBO Mondays,Wenesdays and Furahidays.
From Mwambao on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Sundays.
Goodluck!

That chinja kuku wacha bata is a classic nostalgia back in 1987 when I was still young and blameless.Was travelling from NRO when some white tourist heard me and my childhood dish singing that song, they gave us some biscuits and bangles I think.

Its good never to grow beyond age 7!

kumbe wewe bado ni youth?
#37 Posted : Tuesday, March 01, 2016 7:41:01 PM

Good people, a friend of mine is planning to this trip mid-March.
She has been told it will take 14 hours but she has added then 10 more hours in order to be safe and enjoy.

Anyone who did the lunatic trip recently to advice.

It's OK, we know you want to take mpango mambasani and land at sea levels where gravity is strongest.