wazua Thu, Mar 5, 2026

Train trip to Mombasa
rryz
#1 Posted : Thursday, November 17, 2011 7:32:25 PM

I'm planning for a family weekend at the coast. I was thinking of using the train to mombasa this time round. Any wazuan whose used the train to share their experience?
TiggerTiggy
#2 Posted : Thursday, November 17, 2011 7:45:13 PM

why not drive if you have a car? does anyone here have beach hotel or cottage costs/rates for early december. north coast? bei mwananchi please? asante
safariant
#3 Posted : Thursday, November 17, 2011 7:56:02 PM

One of the best experiences around. Takes about 14 hrs but very comfortable, with dinner and a bar.
The greatest act of bravery is chancing a fart while suffering from diarrhoea
Cardinal
#4 Posted : Thursday, November 17, 2011 8:15:44 PM

TiggerTiggy wrote:
why not drive if you have a car? does anyone here have beach hotel or cottage costs/rates for early december. north coast? bei mwananchi please? asante

Give me your email to send you mwananchi prices
Cardinal
#5 Posted : Thursday, November 17, 2011 8:18:30 PM

A trip to mombasa is nice if you are a group of many people.

Transversing the tsavo in a train is quite an experience though

Better take a car / bus if you are with your family

rryz
#6 Posted : Thursday, November 17, 2011 8:20:50 PM

TiggerTiggy wrote:
looking for adventure
rryz
#7 Posted : Thursday, November 17, 2011 8:24:16 PM

Cardinal wrote:

why preference for a car or bus?
Prime
#8 Posted : Thursday, November 17, 2011 9:09:37 PM

Cardinal wrote:
TiggerTiggy wrote:

send me a quote thro wazuaprime at gmail dot com. dec 19-22 or thereabout. interest lies in North coast. as for south coast check out dianibeachaletes (google). fair rates in my opinion.
Marty
#9 Posted : Friday, November 18, 2011 7:47:39 AM

rryz wrote:
I'm planning for a family weekend at the coast. I was thinking of using the train to mombasa this time round. Any wazuan whose used the train to share their experience?

Planning a similar thing. Would also appreciate objective reviews
When I admire the wonder of a sunset or the beauty
of the moon, my soul expands in worship of the Creator.
#10 Posted : Friday, November 18, 2011 10:03:00 AM

rryz wrote:

Have done it twice. Awesome experience. But it highly depends on your sense of adventure. If you're one of those people who can't even go camping then you might not enjoy it. Anyway book 1st class (last time we went it was 2,600/-) and make sure you have someone to cuddle.

wanyuru
#11 Posted : Friday, November 18, 2011 10:08:45 AM

safariant wrote:
One of the best experiences around. Takes about 14 hrs but very comfortable, with dinner and a bar.

... seems like its quite an experience.a cold beer as you watch over the tsavos.

....is it true what they say about toilets? That folks dunk into an open hole...
#12 Posted : Friday, November 18, 2011 10:10:06 AM

Cardinal wrote:

Why is it better than a train?
#13 Posted : Friday, November 18, 2011 10:16:00 AM

wanyuru wrote:
safariant wrote:

... seems like its quite an experience.a cold beer as you watch over the tsavos.

....is it true what they say about toilets? That folks dunk into an open hole...

yeah for shua!!!....the the rail crashes it, Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
majimaji
#14 Posted : Friday, November 18, 2011 10:43:43 AM

I thought passenger train to msa leaves Nairobi around 6pm and arrives msa early morning. So you will be travelling mostly at night and wont see much of Tsavo...?
safariant
#15 Posted : Friday, November 18, 2011 10:55:43 AM

a toilet is available but using it is a experience in itself.
The train usually leaves at 7pm, arrival 10am. You will be crossing Tsavo at night so not much to see. But you enjoy the scenery as you leave Nairobi and arrive in Msa. Dinner is usually very good, drinks are almost at recommended, no mututho hours, you can watch a movie as you drink, sleep like a baby and love the sound o the heavy metal friction as you cross the country.
What i do not like is the many stop overs, almost like a matatu.
Charges for 2nd class are 1940/= for beddings & breakfast, or 2640/= dinner + above, for first class 3300 everything inclusive.
If you have a sense of adventure you will love it.
The greatest act of bravery is chancing a fart while suffering from diarrhoea
Nobby
#16 Posted : Friday, November 18, 2011 11:00:29 AM

Prime wrote:
Cardinal wrote:
TiggerTiggy wrote:

send me a quote thro wazuaprime at gmail dot com. dec 19-22 or thereabout. interest lies in North coast. as for south coast check out dianibeachaletes (google). fair rates in my opinion.

I also need a quote for the same dates bizman.kenya at gmail dot comPray Pray Pray
The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.
#17 Posted : Friday, November 18, 2011 11:02:54 AM

rryz wrote:
TiggerTiggy wrote:
looking for adventure

and head
#18 Posted : Friday, November 18, 2011 11:02:57 AM

Did it sometime back when I was in campus...we used to take train rides to my friend's ranch in Konza for camping so the train inspector knew us well, got us tickets to first class for reasonable rates (we contributed so I can't tell how much they cost - 2012's estimate should be just about right)

Anyway, we travelled at night (as majimaji rightly points out, doubt there's a morning-all day train to MSA), we were a big crowd of rowdy campus guys so we had the best time ever, dinner in the cafe coach, drinks in our coaches (shared 4 people per coach but I guess you can get one to yourselves). Even did an aiport landing against the background of the train noise, having been well imbibedsmile, great experience. Blacked out and woke up to the sight of palm trees at Mariakani.

So yes!By all means, go by train. With the right crowd, you'll have a blast!

P.S. Kupielo is in those open air loos - quite an experience too, watching the rails fly by on the ground
kiterunner
#19 Posted : Friday, November 18, 2011 11:14:51 AM

i am interested too, how many people does the first class compartment hold, are there trains daily and how long in advance do you suppose one should book. Many thanks

Landing in motion must be an adventure!!!
our goals are best achieved indirectly
#20 Posted : Friday, November 18, 2011 11:15:08 AM

carygoh wrote:
rryz wrote:
TiggerTiggy wrote:
looking for adventure

and head

Drool Drool My dear Carygss

wewe unapenda hi maneno ya head sana... you cant have enough of LOLLIPOPS...Laughing out loudly