10 Pages«<678910>
Goodness!!! Safaricom HY 2011-2012 RESULTS Down 50%
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#141 Posted : Friday, November 11, 2011 3:01:14 PM

Sufficiently Philanga....thropic wrote:
VVS 2: Jamani 1

What does @Jamani get 1 for?

@Jamani is annoyingly quiet, atleast defend the 1 mark i've awarded you!
@SufficientlyP
#142 Posted : Friday, November 11, 2011 5:59:06 PM

Michael Joseph wrote:
MPESA, days gone by...

“Our target market was actually the guy standing outside there waiting to serve you dinner or drinks. This thing grew like topsy, it’s an incredible growth curve. My role was to make it happen. I just said you have to do it, and if you don’t do it I’ll fire you.

Unless you put the agent out there it doesn’t happen. You can’t just have some scummy little store…we have to pretend to be like banks. Banks pretend that they’re very rich by having this very super nice hall with marble and columns and all this stuff, so you think they’re rich, so they won’t steal your money; as you know it’s an illusion.

India will probably be the next big place. It will dwarf anything, if they get it right, that we have in Kenya. The challenge of South Africa is a rather stupid arrogant regulator."

http://blogs.ft.com/beyond-bric...ney-model/#ixzz1dP9ydHFn

#143 Posted : Friday, November 11, 2011 6:58:29 PM

muganda wrote:
Michael Joseph wrote:
MPESA, days gone by...

“Our target market was actually the guy standing outside there waiting to serve you dinner or drinks. This thing grew like topsy, it’s an incredible growth curve. My role was to make it happen. I just said you have to do it, and if you don’t do it I’ll fire you.

Unless you put the agent out there it doesn’t happen. You can’t just have some scummy little store…we have to pretend to be like banks. Banks pretend that they’re very rich by having this very super nice hall with marble and columns and all this stuff, so you think they’re rich, so they won’t steal your money; as you know it’s an illusion.

India will probably be the next big place. It will dwarf anything, if they get it right, that we have in Kenya. The challenge of South Africa is a rather stupid arrogant regulator."

http://blogs.ft.com/beyond-bric...ney-model/#ixzz1dP9ydHFn

hisah, will be interested with this about the MPESA 'bank':

"In Kenya, 12-15bn shillings are stored on M-PESA systems at any one time, but Safaricom is not allowed to make a profit with the interest and neither is the customer. Instead the earnings go into a charitable M-PESA foundation. Any attempt to change this is likely to spook banks, which have in the past attempted to close down M-PESA."
#144 Posted : Sunday, November 13, 2011 9:24:58 PM

Other than Michael Joseph, another person who seems to have had perfect timing in jumping ship is Paul Wanderi Ndung'u, who moved his mobile phone dealership business to Telkom Orange from Safaricom
hisah
#145 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 9:35:21 AM

@Youcant - That's what I've been seeing with mpesa. Another thing is find out how many studies are being done around the globe on this model. There's a reason MJ is @ world bank...
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Ali Baba
#146 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 10:05:13 AM

HISAH: Get real.Mpesa can't succeed in many other countries like it did in kenya.Remember MJ saying that kenyan's have peculiar calling habits??Likewise,kenyans have peculiar financial habits.Like 50% of working kenyans supporting(thereby sending money to)the other kenyans.Nowhere else in the world lots of people feed other idlers like that.Mpesa succeeded in kenya because of this bad habit.
hisah
#147 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 11:32:53 AM

Ali Baba wrote:
HISAH: Get real.Mpesa can't succeed in many other countries like it did in kenya.Remember MJ saying that kenyan's have peculiar calling habits??Likewise,kenyans have peculiar financial habits.Like 50% of working kenyans supporting(thereby sending money to)the other kenyans.Nowhere else in the world lots of people feed other idlers like that.Mpesa succeeded in kenya because of this bad habit.

@Ali - time will tell. Hope you'll still be around smile
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Jamani
#148 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 11:44:28 AM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Jamani, I know you understand the telecom biz very well. Your thoughts?

Sorry I was off net for sometime....Yes i do and thanks for the recognition, i worked for one of the big two. My thoughts....its across the field notice the silence in Airtel and the rest... this should tell you something.....worse than expected losses on their part...
Jamani
#149 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 11:52:16 AM

Sorry for being annoying, i was held up kiasi,.....though I didnt know you read my lines... yes for now am 1 down, numbers dont lie... but why insist Airtel,Orange or Yu excited about this? are they doing well?
Jamani
#150 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 12:03:55 PM

Ali Baba wrote:
HISAH: Get real.Mpesa can't succeed in many other countries like it did in kenya. and why is that so? i know of countries and operators that are being pushed to adopted Mpesa....
Remember MJ saying that kenyan's have peculiar calling habits?? and do you know why he said this? i bet you are looking at it from a negative angle, the reason he said this was we all call almost at the same time and specifically on friday evening...he didnt mean what you imply
Likewise,kenyans have peculiar financial habits.Like 50% of working kenyans supporting(thereby sending money to)the other kenyans. What is wrong with supporting our people? Indians, Phillipinos etc do the same
Nowhere else in the world lots of people feed other idlers like that.Mpesa succeeded in kenya because of this bad habit.
Narrow minded thought, do you know what banks used to do to our people and SMEs? Mpesa filled that gap... and ofcourse we also use it to support our people anything wrong with that?
#151 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 12:24:41 PM

Jamani wrote:

Sorry for being annoying, i was held up kiasi,.....though I didnt know you read my lines... yes for now am 1 down, numbers dont lie... but why insist Airtel,Orange or Yu excited about this? are they doing well?

Coz Airtel Kenya & Yu Kenya & Orange Kenya are not listed...

The way I look at it is 'my' pocketbook which has been helped by cheaper calls thanks to competition!
Jamani
#152 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 12:41:28 PM

Jamani wrote:

Coz Airtel Kenya & Yu Kenya & Orange Kenya are not listed...

The way I look at it is 'my' pocketbook which has been helped by cheaper calls thanks to competition!

Good to look at your pocket....(govt will get those savings in one way or the other, they have lost thru safcom) and yes the rest are not listed and not excited because the monies received by Safcom are still better than they expected and they are seeing red in their books.
Jamani
#153 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 12:57:44 PM

For at least posting somethingsmile
Ali Baba
#154 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 5:20:52 PM

JAMANI: You didn't get my point.One reason Mpesa succeeds in kenya is because a lot of kenyans support lots of other kenyans.You say there is nothing wrong with this.There is.It means our UNEMPLOYMENT is so high we have to feed others.With low unemployment,there would be no need to Mpesa money around.Also,the penetration of atms and visa cards lowers the use of Mpesa.Take a case of USA.Mpesa wouldn't succeed in a developed country.However,it may work for kenya.It has also been tried in SA,but its success is not like the kenyan one.And one thing stands out.Mpesa is for less developed countries like Kenya.
#155 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 6:54:25 PM

Ali Baba wrote:
Nowhere else in the world lots of people feed other idlers like that. Mpesa succeeded in kenya because of this bad habit.

I transact about 10k per day and none of it goes to idlers at all.. And neither do my friends and family smile

You better check your stats...
I pay elec with MPESA
I pay school fees with MPESA
I pay DSTV with MPESA
I pay rent with MPESA
I can buy from a shop with MPESA
I even make petty payments with MPESA
I even save with MPESA... etc

Im sure you'd do the same if given the chance!!

Ali Baba
#156 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 7:13:19 PM

GURU: NO,I haven't had a Safaricom line since 2009.I don't Mpesa anything.I use visa card.
Aguytrying
#157 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 7:18:49 PM

Underestimate mpesa and safaricom at your own expense.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
Ali Baba
#158 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 7:29:48 PM

AGUTRYING: ....At my own expense?? Safcom is the most expensive provider around.Not using it saves me money.However,pls note that I didn't say Mpesa is bad or anything ....but its a more localized kenyan concept for solving kenyan problems than a world concept.Different countries have different situations.
#159 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 8:13:39 PM

Ali baba wrote:
Safcom is the most expensive provider around.Not using it saves me money.

Ali Baba wrote:
GURU:I don't Mpesa anything.I use visa card.

Since when was visa cheaper than MPESA??
I was of the opinion MPESA was the cheapest money transfer service around..

I think you need to talk to an accountant and see if you are saving money..
Ali Baba
#160 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 8:23:10 PM

GURU: I have a free visa.No charges.Shop around.I'm an accountant,I don't need to see one.Anyway,we have a choice to do what we want.If you choose Mpesa,that's cool.Cheers.