wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

Cheap but good food in tao!!!!
amauriceus
#21 Posted : Friday, August 28, 2009 8:28:00 AM

Jaribu Hot Dishes in Bruce House. New hotel,good food at right prices....
#22 Posted : Friday, August 28, 2009 8:45:00 AM

The Ronalo Special Mix is just a culinary wonder,me i give it to the fellow. Anyone knows where i can find a decent njahi in town. Someone needs to be as creative as Ronalo and bring for us some sophisticated njahi

Ninajua Yote!
A New Kenya
#23 Posted : Friday, August 28, 2009 9:48:00 AM

@jaribu

hapo umenena... as for the food,thing is,he specified 'cheap BUT good'.... if he asked for our favorites you wont get me out of the italian restaurants....

Coco j specialise in what? african,continental,mexican? I wouldnt mind trying

'Money frees you from doing things you dislike. Since I dislike doing nearly everything,money is handy.' ~ Groucho Marx.............
akowally
#24 Posted : Friday, August 28, 2009 9:53:00 AM

I think it was inevitable for the thread to turn into favorites.

So let's go favorites. What is your favorite restaurant in tao (Still excluding fries and 10k deals).

popolo
JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
jaribu
#25 Posted : Friday, August 28, 2009 10:14:00 AM

@ wendz,coco j specializes in african dishes,nyama,chicken,kienyenji although they have a wide menu. it's more of a pub than restaurant. about italian dishes...mmmm,i think the restaurants are too 'white' and elitist and of course too bloody expensive. i could make that lasagna at home cheaply instead of paying 1200 per head. but those italian restaurants are mushrooming all over the place. the guy behind Osteria,lenana rd (next to nigerian high comm) has another huge restaurant at village mkt,karen and westlands (i have transacted with osteria del chianti chain). for me my favourite joint gotta be village inn,off kiambu rd on a sunday. the best ever chicken stew and kienyeji. nice round makutis with taps,green calm scenery and pool/swings for the kids....away from the madness of city centre!

bY aNy MeAns NecEsSaRy.....
#26 Posted : Friday, August 28, 2009 2:57:00 PM

Cianda market,mfangano street,kuku /nyamchom na sembe,goes 4 btwn 100-150,but hizo kuku kuna venye ni kubwa,i think ni mùhau
Eddy
#27 Posted : Friday, August 28, 2009 5:39:00 PM

@ jaribu

More info on village inn,what are the prices like,for mbuzi 1 kg and kuku? Where else can one take family on sundays for choma at reasonable prices.....
jaribu
#28 Posted : Saturday, August 29, 2009 8:23:00 AM

@Eddy- the village inn is very affordable,normal prices for food and drinks. i would say 1k is enough for a heavy lunch of of four minus the drinks of course. other great places for the little ones include rock city,also along kimabu rd,not far from cid hqs and also mamba village,- langata rd,about 1km from rongai/bomas junction. this is a great place coz of boat/camel/swing/horse rides and of course the most spectacular scenery. village mkt,limuru rd is just too elitist and 'white'.

nairobi mamba village website http://www.nairobimambav...ge.org/album/index.html

my2 cents worth.

bY aNy MeAns NecEsSaRy.....
Mosby
#29 Posted : Saturday, August 29, 2009 8:22:00 PM

Sunday family nyamchom..Sunnyhill,about 5km from kiserian on your way to kajiado (turn left off magadi road just after you leave kiserian town).,olepolos-like n they have a swimming pool!,

:::
#30 Posted : Saturday, February 04, 2012 11:14:53 AM

se7en wrote:
define cheap?

Try Greenview,opp. Jamia... wa!! these guys feed you,you leave weeping... with joy! The food is mob and quality or but *Disclaimer: Its smokey as hell* hazina towers I think,directly opp. ambank for their chicken & ug/chap,I guarantee you,you'll chew your fingers off!

if you can not be kind,at least have the decency to be vague

either the owner of greenview has a fishpond and grows his own waru's .........eish juu those servings for fish fingers....every one walks out with a doggy bag ,the quality is good.Applause Applause Applause Applause
#31 Posted : Monday, February 06, 2012 3:51:08 AM

The Ronalo Special Mix is just a culinary wonder,me i give it to the fellow. Anyone knows where i can find a decent njahi in town. Someone needs to be as creative as Ronalo and bring for us some sophisticated njahi

Ninajua Yote!

Sasa hii njahi ndio chai ya maziwa ya mnyama gani jameni?

#32 Posted : Monday, February 06, 2012 3:57:12 AM

carygoh wrote:
se7en wrote:
define cheap?

Try Greenview,opp. Jamia... wa!! these guys feed you,you leave weeping... with joy! The food is mob and quality or but *Disclaimer: Its smokey as hell* hazina towers I think,directly opp. ambank for their chicken & ug/chap,I guarantee you,you'll chew your fingers off!
if you can not be kind,at least have the decency to be vague

either the owner of greenview has a fishpond and grows his own waru's .........eish juu those servings for fish fingers....every one walks out with a doggy bag ,the quality is good.Applause Applause Applause Applause

What is the damage in KES?