wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

Cheap but good food in tao!!!!
akowally
#1 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2009 5:55:00 AM

I am wondering which is the best place that you can find cheap but good food in town.

popolo
JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
se7en
#2 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2009 7:13:00 AM

define cheap?

Try Greenview,opp. Jamia... wa!! these guys feed you,you leave weeping... with joy! The food is mob and quality or but *Disclaimer: Its smokey as hell* hazina towers I think,directly opp. ambank for their chicken & ug/chap,I guarantee you,you'll chew your fingers off!

if you can not be kind,at least have the decency to be vague
speak softly and carry a big stick, you will go far... Theodore Roosevelt
Kamaa
#3 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2009 7:26:00 AM

@ seven

Lol! can imagine how smoky it is...

mpaka ukiingia kwa lift... jameni watu wote wana sneeze...

you've heard me..
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
Chaka
#4 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2009 7:33:00 AM

You could try road behind Kenya Polytechnic Univesirty College(What a name!).Many restaurants there.
jaribu
#5 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2009 8:12:00 AM

Try Highlands,at Khoja where you pick Westlands/Graffin ma3,they have the best dish in town and just opened another Highlands/Club Bettyz at Corner house which is a bit expensive. There's also another Highlands Tom Mboya st/ Ronald Ngala junction located at 1st floor Savoy house: Caution- be seated by 1pm,too popular!

Greeview is very slow in service,but food is great but rather expensive (about 200 bob) compared to Highlands (180). Alternatively try buffet at Seasons,Old Mutual. You eat as much as you can for just 250 bob- chicken,salad,pilau,beef,etc

Gawa dishes directly opposite Ufundi sacco Tom Mboya st has the cheapest food in tao but the atmosphere is so boring,full of old wazees and stone faced waiters. Nice place if really broke about 150 bob for the dish.

There's another ka-restaurant at the basement of Avenue Hse which is next to Cameo. Great dish but sio mob sana,very affordable.

As for me,I lunch at one of the most famous restaurants in town where you can see all top politicians and biz people. Not that I'm loaded,but just 'inside job' for just 100 bob,after 2pm....hehehehehe. Hapa Nai you just have to know the right buttons to press!

bY aNy MeAns NecEsSaRy.....
Ja-Kom
#6 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2009 9:09:00 AM

Kijana Msafi....along good old River road....(unless that area is not within defn of town).

For just as through the disobedience of the one man the many were made sinners,so also through the obedience of the one man the many will be made righteous.
Romans 5:19
For just as through the disobedience of the one man the many were made sinners, so also through the obedience of the one man the many will be made righteous. Romans 5:19
#7 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2009 9:41:00 AM

Behind Chianda house.

The Hague...or Local Triburnal ama TJRC.

akowally
#8 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2009 10:28:00 AM

@se7en
My definition of cheap could even go to as low as fifty bob to around 150 for a good meal (excluding fries). Will try out that joint one of this days and see how it is. I guess because of the smoke it is not a place where someone would want to take their wife.

@ Kamaa
Also concerned about the smoke

@ Jaribu
Very good analysis. I see there are economic people like me. Which is this restaurant with all the politicians …..

@ Ja-Kom
Where exactly along River Road. I don’t have a problem with any side of Tao,so long as there is quality.

@ Impunity
Where behind Cianda House. And why the name impunity. We might wonder if we are talking to one of our politicians. Lol

popolo
JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
jaribu
#9 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2009 10:45:00 AM

@Akowally...you asked,...

'Which is this restaurant with all the politicians ….. '

He he he.' A gentleman never tells.' That's what mum always used to say,that gentlemen should always keep secrets and she also used to add,any man who tells his age will tell anything!

So,the famous hotel I talked about will remain nameless,otherwise my deal makers may end getting sacked if I mentioned it's name. But I can give some vital clues,it has a swimming pool,hosts many international diginiteries,One of the big accountants is called simon and Anyang' Nyongo just loves the place! He he he...

Chaka
#10 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2009 10:55:00 AM

@Jaribu,

Hi ni ranalo foods kimathi street...?
K22
#11 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2009 11:05:00 AM

Try Regional Centre first floor,Moi Avenue opp Jazz bar.... Very pocket friendly prices

Randomly insane

A successful man is one who makes more money than his wife can spend. A successful woman is one who can find such a man
jaribu
#12 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2009 11:25:00 AM

@ Chaka,

Aiii bwana- Ronalo kuna swimming pool jameni? I'm talking about a big posh place which will remain nameless so guys just cut the chase...pliizz! It's a super place to heng out with the honeyz.. And speakin' of honeyz,I know this dude who can hook you up with celeb chicks and some hot TV news readers for a cool 10k...'inclusive',if you catch my drift. Dat's a storro for another day!

Gday.

zamali
#13 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2009 11:37:00 AM

@ jaribu

You said 'Not that I'm loaded,but just 'inside job' for just 100 bob,after 2pm....hehehehehe. Hapa Nai you just have to know the right buttons to press'!

This reminds me of campus days. ..we had 'AFCO' - where a cook could organise ugali & chicken for 15 bob,instead of 65 bob !

But on the second post...hooking us up for 10K,with a 'celeb' ??....dont stretch us that far.

Zama za Kengen IPO.... zama za mali
sheep
#14 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2009 12:32:00 PM

Dats the stanley....but i dont believe the 10k part.
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
#15 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2009 2:22:00 PM

But @jaribu you must be a very interesting dude.... wewe ni wa yesu,oga na bibi hata kama hujapeleka mbuzi,now,'inside job' and 10k 'inclusives' deal... aaaaih,tangaza msimamo........ but thats a good variety of restaurants you have there. if he cant get any from that list,then he wont get any soon.

i would say,kosewe gizzards anytime! - well,i hope they still make as nice ones.

'Money frees you from doing things you dislike. Since I dislike doing nearly everything,money is handy.' ~ Groucho Marx.............
jitetee
#16 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2009 4:46:00 PM

@jaribu - Sounds like Serena

Time and chance happen to all.
Bottlenecks
#17 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2009 8:33:00 PM

That must be Intercont........ I know celeb chics go for hook ups there but didnt know they were available to Local dudes,thot only junguz. Ama pesa ndio inaongea??? 10k service LOL

Is Greed good?
#18 Posted : Friday, August 28, 2009 5:18:00 AM

There is this place at Nakumatt Lifestyle,1st floor...'One Africa Shop'...exceptionally good food and they have traditional uji and boiled maize jioni.....takes you back!

Wisdom is what's left after we've run out of personal opinions
#19 Posted : Friday, August 28, 2009 6:58:00 AM

Jaribu,can u lay bare testimony of the 10k superdeal....Lazima ulionja!

The only reason why some people are still alive is coz its illegal to shoot them!!
jaribu
#20 Posted : Friday, August 28, 2009 8:18:00 AM

lol,I thot this thread was about cheap food joints in da city and now it seems to have evolved into something else- my bad -maybe it's coz leo ni furahiday.

@Simonkabz- well looks like we don't live in the same city. 10k deals are there with those celebs you respect so much. that money gives you like 3 hrs company and not the whole night. i have never paid for the company but i know guys who have. the dude who does the hook ups is well known and lives at hazina sth b!

@Wendz- i used to be a bad boy when i woz young and stupid but now am wiser and focussed. just sharing my experiences and i have never claimed to be mr perfect for we have all fallen short of the glory of the lord- once in a while. by the way,ronalo is just an over rated joint. try coco j along chaka rd,hurlingham and come report here!