wazua Mon, Jul 28, 2025

Secrets to cope with tough times.
akowally
#1 Posted : Wednesday, September 02, 2009 7:32:00 AM

I know that we are facing very tough financial times due to the climate change,economic meltdown,effects of post election violence e.t.c

This post should help SK guys to know a few things they can do to save and live an economical life.

The followings are some tips I use:

-Eat home cooked food as much as possible,it is most economical.
-Buy energy saving bulbs
-Shop mostly in supermarkets. Here you will benefit from the points e.g. using Tuskys,Uchumi ... cards. Tuskys so far is the best at this,redeeming at 1.50 per point. Also you will be saving a few shillings on each item e.g. loaf at the shop is 35 bob while the same in a supermarket is 30 bob. In total you can save up to 500 or more in one shopping.
-Avoid the stock market if you are not good at it.
-Don't follow these things coming up every day promising millions.
-Conserve water esp. when showering,using the loo and washing dishes. There are numerous ways of doing this.
-Don't look at Brands,unless you have a skin problem,there is little difference between lux,dettol and the like as compared to cussons,flamingo and the like which are much cheaper. The same applies to colgate and whitedent,barclays and equity,omo and toss e.t.c. Always take the more economic option.
-Avoid taking your kids to quack doctors who will keep your kid coming back. Identify good doctors for you and your family and you'll enjoy a bout of health.
-Pray,fast,help the needy and make sure that you are happy and blessings shall come to you.
-when moving out don't just consider the rent price,consider such things as water and electricity(some bills are higher than others for no reason),security,fare/fuel e.t.c.

These are mine and I believe that over the past year I have been able to cut down so much such as to have a better quality of life at an evidently tougher environment.

What are yours???

When we pray in praise to God,he makes a difference in our lives.
JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
Poggie
#2 Posted : Wednesday, September 02, 2009 8:14:00 AM

Can I still catch an ocassional pint?

As a man thinketh so is he
As A Man Thinketh So is He
jaribu
#3 Posted : Wednesday, September 02, 2009 8:19:00 AM

to conserve water....shower together with her!

bY aNy MeAns NecEsSaRy.....
mozenrat
#4 Posted : Wednesday, September 02, 2009 8:41:00 AM

Alas Bwana Jaribu,I have found that showering with her usuallly results in more time spent in the bathroom,more water being used up and a bigger electricity bill from the instant heater... i.e.,more than would have been spent by the two of us if we had showered separately...

I'm still trying to figure out why???
Djinn
#5 Posted : Wednesday, September 02, 2009 8:42:00 AM

@poggie - yes - but downgrade to senator keg or citizen (and imagine you are in Tanzania where the beer tastes like crap - esp Serengeti,yeuch!).

I think,also some of us should really consider cycling to save both time and fuel money (and increase health). if you live within 5-10 km of the CBD and usually commute on a road with heavy traffic (i.e. safer for cylcing as the chances of getting fatally knocked down are very low) - then get a bike - even an MTB - ride to work - get fit,save money and time.

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
#6 Posted : Wednesday, September 02, 2009 8:51:00 AM

@Jaribu
You really do insist on the showering together thing...am still trying to figure out why:)

Advice is what we ask for when we already know the answer but wish we didn't..
skodhe
#7 Posted : Wednesday, September 02, 2009 10:12:00 AM

Unaweza kutumia smat bus to save on fare

tap tap
jaribu
#8 Posted : Wednesday, September 02, 2009 11:39:00 AM

Hey showering together saves time and water as long as you have self discipline and self control especially when she bends over ro pick the soap. remember you have just left the bed and hoped into shower,so you would not be thinking something 'stupid'.....utakuwa already umeshiba! helloooo- my intentions are good,just contributing on how to cope with tough times!

bY aNy MeAns NecEsSaRy.....
Fundaah
#9 Posted : Wednesday, September 02, 2009 11:57:00 AM

today is 2nd and I'm already in debt.....1+1 not adding ........should try these tips....but sio hii ya jaribu....that will be 'suggestive ' body dialogue....

Rules of the game here:

Before you post anything think.give facts only..It's a serious blog for serious people....Do not insult your brother....respect one another...Just be good....
It's good to live a honest life....life without guilt....

Jeremiah 17:11

As a partridge that hatches eggs which it has not laid,So is he who makes a fortune,but unjustly; In the midst of his days it will forsake him,And in the end he will be a fool.'

From the SK Anti-hate/anti- corruption campaigner..
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
ji
#10 Posted : Wednesday, September 02, 2009 12:54:00 PM

Wachana na vitu kama juice/soda after meal,unnecessary snacks e.g. chips in the bus ama mahindi boilo njiani. If you have own car fall back to PSV more often. For the short distances like from GPO to community,ama Railways to University tembea na ukeep fit.

'I never see what has been done; I only see what remains to be done.'

shoshoba
#11 Posted : Wednesday, September 02, 2009 5:12:00 PM

Don't go shopping when hungry!!

This is the day to change the world by starting with your own attitude and actions.
akowally
#12 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 4:47:00 AM

@ Poggie

You don’t have to catch up on your occasional alcohol. Make a plan on quitting alcohol or just increase the “occasional” period to be much longer.

@ Jaribu

Not a bad idea and that STRICTLY applies to people who are married. Anyone else ignore both jaribu’s posts.

@ Mozenrat

Yeah,you might end up using much water that way,but depends on what you deliberately want to do. In some instances it seems funny showering with your wife for the purposes of saving water. But hey,we are trying to survive the tough times.

@ Djinn

Brilliant idea.

@ Leona

Try it out and you’ll figure out why. ONLY if you are married.

@ Skodhe

Where are these smart buses,please give details of how they charge and all. I happen to be behind news on that.

@ Ji

I totally agree.

@ shoshoba

Funny but true

I think the other best thing would be to consider the best kinds of investments for your situation that can survive at this point in time. I am sorry for those who got messed with the decline in the stock market. What do you think are some lucrative areas in this times. I know that at every situation in life there are opportunities. I see people are selling water,opening butcheries for the cheap meat. Umbrellas will be so much on sale right now. If you can get cheap ways of importing generators,you are on top. What other ways????

'The greatest discovery of my generation is that a human being can alter his life by altering his attitudes.” William James
Manja Investor
#13 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 5:20:00 AM

Make telephone calls just to get quick info e.g nikupate wapi??/wi ha? see u kesho then.

Avoid unnecessary phrases or sentences in fone conversations .This goes to our kuyo pals eti the first statement goes like:atiriri!! Do do waste money on atiririris

Also avoid doing so much internet from home,It takes much amount of cash
skodhe
#14 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 7:50:00 AM

@ Akowally A place like Rongai. you buy a card at 60/-. When matatus charge 150/- or 100/. they charge a fixed rate of 50/-. it is a computerised bus. You only enter after it has read your card. When you have reached your destination,your money is deducted from your card.

JPT - JAFIRE PIERRE TYNDOH
#15 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 8:01:00 AM

@ jaribu,

it appears you are a champ in this 'together' business....does eating together save food??? does travelling together in a mat save fare??? does drinking together save beer??? just thinking..

NEVER TALK OF A RHINO IF THERE IS NO TREE NEAREBY - ZULU PROVERB
akowally
#16 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 8:26:00 AM

@skodhe

I really hope they put those things in every route. I am really interested in that. How many routes are they in and where are their stages in town.

@ Kaigangio

That is a really funny one. You have made my mid morning.

'The greatest discovery of my generation is that a human being can alter his life by altering his attitudes.” William James
Ericks
#17 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 11:10:00 AM

This is a very good idea,u can imagine what happens when u r paid on friday,then tuesday of the coming week is a holiday,as if that is not enough my power rationing days includes a saturday,its cold especially in the mornings so nobody wants to shower using cold water... woooiiiiiiii.... then Kids are going back to school,they want this and that and literally everything....... am doomed... why lie....

Its just me
whatever choice you make in life make sure that you can live with it.
akowally
#18 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 12:00:00 PM

@ Ericks

I understand what you are going through. I think with proper budgeting,being economical,and using the tips from all these posts,you will be a much happier man.

Do your budget well. You can start with an expense tracker to show how much you use on different items on a daily basis. After this,you'll know how much you put in good use and how much you waste.

From this you can define your priorities,do a budget with your wife and things will smoothen up.

All the best.

skodhe
#19 Posted : Friday, September 04, 2009 6:59:00 AM

Say a notebook

Sleeping like a littel baby
akowally
#20 Posted : Monday, October 19, 2009 12:08:00 PM

Harvest a lot of water during these rainy days. If you don't have those big tanks it is time to buy them. Some areas have stopped water rationing and water pressure is good. This can make people content and stop saving water. Strike when the iron is hot.

When we pray in praise to God,he makes a difference in our lives.