wazua Fri, Jan 31, 2025

World's most hated airport-Kenya #6
#1 Posted : Thursday, November 10, 2011 2:54:34 PM

#2 Posted : Thursday, November 10, 2011 3:14:46 PM

CDG is a nightmare, you think you're at JKIA then realize its actually Europe...
majimaji
#3 Posted : Thursday, November 10, 2011 4:04:51 PM

JKIA is crowded and dis-organised. A south african once told me that the place stinks.
KAA needs to style the place up.
#4 Posted : Thursday, November 10, 2011 4:19:13 PM

Check out this bile from a Kenyan on the comments section.

[i]No whitewash here. JKIA sucks, a lot. Getting out of JKIA, by plane or road is like escaping hell. Sucks even more, that while the authorities here are strict about security which is a very good thing, its an airport that stinks. I'm Kenyan, and I hate to write this, but garbage is garbage. A couple of thousand kilometers up north is Bole, in Addis Ababa, which is a far better airport. JKIA has frequent blackouts, staff is rude, majority of the time i get in, the staff are always on gossip mode, and unprofessional (I always get asked why I am flying into Kenya. Duh!!! I live there), I genuinely avoid the bathrooms, which, when they don't stink of waste stink of acrid chemicals but recently someone had the sense to sort that out, or maybe it was a one off, Duty Free sucks big time, no sockets to plug in, and when you find one, always broken, everything that has to do with waiting is overpriced, during the hot season, sitting in the waiting room is a nightmare. And this is just what I remember off the top of my head. There is way too much room (and finances) to improve it, just have lousy lazy people.
It is still far better than the old Harare airport, where security guards used to cook on stoves in the departure lounge at one point, and everyone had the fear that they would get robbed, 10 years ago.

Read more: World's most hated airports #2 | CNNGo.com http://www.cnngo.com/exp...?page=0,1#ixzz1dJ9iMFNc[/i]

While i agree that the standards for the airport are not the best i totally fail to understand if this is the same airport i have been too. Guys need to appreciate what they have before any outsider can do the same.

#5 Posted : Thursday, November 10, 2011 4:26:07 PM

I think that list is for airports that matter and not all airports. Lakini kusema ukweli, our airport especially the interiors are dated (has signs of an era gone by). It needs a major face lift.
majimaji
#6 Posted : Thursday, November 10, 2011 4:28:01 PM

@ Kratos, one gets used to a bad smell. Inakuwa kawaida.
#7 Posted : Thursday, November 10, 2011 4:56:23 PM

Thought our airport is being upgraded, recently i saw they have increased the space for resting with better chairs and duty free shops spaceincreased to. I hope guys are not trying to compare our airport that is as old as i can guess with recent airports. Am sure when the expansion is finished we will be in the same league as mineral rich SA. Remember in kenya its only taxpayers money used no oil and minerals.
#8 Posted : Thursday, November 10, 2011 4:59:41 PM

majimaji wrote:

@ Kratos, one gets used to a bad smell. Inakuwa kawaida.

I know what you mean its called olfactory fatigue. My point is JKIA is not like what the commentator I have quoted is saying. I believe that if your house stinks you don't go to a pub and shout about it.smile

#9 Posted : Thursday, November 10, 2011 5:02:21 PM

I think being included in that list alongside Heathrow, CDG and some american and Brazilian airports is not necessarily a bad thing.

If anything its recognition that we matter. you will note they have mentioned that ours is above african standards.

I am not settling for less here, just acknowledging the potential that Kenya has going forward. I would like the expansion completed ASAP
Mainat
#10 Posted : Thursday, November 10, 2011 5:25:47 PM

I think somebody is being unfair to JKIA. An airport is not a house or a hotel. It’s just somewhere you pass through. In that respect, it’s about how long it takes for you get through to the plane or to your transport home or your experience while waiting if you are on-transit. On this basis, Abhu Dhabi is a worse airport than JKIA with rubbish food, uncomfortable chairs and last time I was there, it had construction going and very few people speak English which is a nuisance if it’s a hub. Nicely, it takes you like 15 minutes to get through to your plane if you time it properly. Heathrow, even an hour and a half would be good.
Sehemu ndio nyumba
#11 Posted : Thursday, November 10, 2011 5:42:29 PM

glad it is not the other 'airport'
otienosmall
#12 Posted : Thursday, November 10, 2011 5:46:14 PM

Yenyewe JKA has to do something, it’s down kiasi; like you get into a duty free shop and realize it’s just like the mama mboga's kiosk in the estate. Worse still there are some extremely greedy ladies at the baggage-check-in desk who try as hard as possible to look for an excuse to charge your luggage I suspect they even give you a wrong weight reading so that you bribe them
#13 Posted : Thursday, November 10, 2011 7:22:48 PM

yes KAA is making strides but there is a lot of room for improvement...kwanza those duty free shops that look like 'exhibition' shops...same overpriced goods, diversity suffocated somewhere along those grey corridors...
#14 Posted : Thursday, November 10, 2011 11:41:57 PM

someone give @Mugo Kibati that link...
#15 Posted : Friday, November 11, 2011 10:12:19 AM

Robinhood wrote:
glad it is not the other 'airport'

Even I thought it was the other "airport" but the topic title didn't connect.

Anyway, Mainat has a point, if you used to stay at JKIA for 15 min then board, it wouldn't be that much of a problem but still, the renovations need to be finished faster. Eld and MSA are actually a bit bearable, sadly I can't compare with others out there since sijatemebea vilivyoSad
#16 Posted : Friday, November 11, 2011 10:38:01 AM

otienosmall wrote:
Yenyewe JKA has to do something, it’s down kiasi; like you get into a duty free shop and realize it’s just like the mama mboga's kiosk in the estate. Worse still there are some extremely greedy ladies at the baggage-check-in desk who try as hard as possible to look for an excuse to charge your luggage I suspect they even give you a wrong weight reading so that you bribe them

Are you sure....eti they you to bribe them, you mean the KQ ladies, I beg to differ, hii ni kama umepigiwa tu story boss!!!
#17 Posted : Friday, November 11, 2011 10:43:13 AM

otienosmall wrote:

Are you sure....eti they you to bribe them, you mean the KQ ladies, I beg to differ, hii ni kama umepigiwa tu story boss!!!

@McDoba, i think he means the KAA ama KRA persons...
majimaji
#18 Posted : Friday, November 11, 2011 10:46:33 AM

@ Mainat, I agree an airport is not a house or a hotel. Njonjo also said that a Prison is not a hotel by the way.
However, the Airport like JKIA is the first contact that a new visitor has with the country. The experience there no matter how brief is an indication of how the people and country are. Money spent sprucing up JKIA is dollars well spent. And South Airport road is a mess, we need to spend money on that too.
#19 Posted : Friday, November 11, 2011 10:55:16 AM

otienosmall wrote:

@notstop......KAA has nothing to do with baggage weight and charging of the same!!!
#20 Posted : Friday, November 11, 2011 11:06:11 AM

otienosmall wrote:

@notstop......KAA has nothing to do with baggage weight and charging of the same!!!

@McD, officially yes, last time I was there, they were hovering around as hao watu wa KRA went through my bag...