wazua Mon, Dec 23, 2024

10 Pages<1234>»
Goodness!!! Safaricom HY 2011-2012 RESULTS Down 50%
#21 Posted : Wednesday, November 09, 2011 4:58:15 PM

Barrywhite wrote:
I agree; nse will be in a coughing bout tomorrow. Time to buy or sell? Depends on your horizon.

they released the numbers after market closing to avoid it being chocked. Tomorow is the D-day.
#22 Posted : Wednesday, November 09, 2011 5:03:20 PM

Its not foolsday,make use of pain killers,the profitability list reads eabl,kcb,equity,bbk and safcom.
#23 Posted : Wednesday, November 09, 2011 5:04:59 PM

What's Aly Khan saying now? I thought the impression he created was mpesa is making more than Western Union so I was expecting close to what WU makes worldwide, bout $5B.

Anyway, I think this is good. We can now get in at 2bob. smile

#24 Posted : Wednesday, November 09, 2011 5:13:02 PM

I dont understand,voice accounts for over 60% revenue and has fallen only 5%..now how does 50% drop come in if not unnecessary expenses and sponserings?
FUNKY
#25 Posted : Wednesday, November 09, 2011 5:13:21 PM

M-pesa and data could not save safaricom.
#26 Posted : Wednesday, November 09, 2011 5:16:05 PM

Hahahahaa sweet music in my ears after what I went thr jana! And the absurd calling rates.
sorovi
#27 Posted : Wednesday, November 09, 2011 5:21:25 PM

Michael was very wise to have left at that time.. now Bob will take all the blame.. Though did safaricom have a choice? Airtel must be celebrating!!!
GGK
#28 Posted : Wednesday, November 09, 2011 5:29:40 PM

Exploitation era is over?
"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
iMANI
#29 Posted : Wednesday, November 09, 2011 5:31:28 PM

decline in profit by 48.3% mainly due to:

a. operating expenses up by 22.6%
b. selling & admin expenses up by 25.5%
c. net financing costs up by 33.2%

Life and beer are very similar........chill for best results.

#30 Posted : Wednesday, November 09, 2011 5:34:51 PM

"Operating expenses surged 22.6 per cent to Sh26.5 billion from 21.6 billion driven by weak shilling and high inflation. Losses from unrealised foreign exchange stood at Sh1.3 billion"

The shilling: First ARM, now Safaricom,next...
It will strike gain!
#31 Posted : Wednesday, November 09, 2011 5:43:49 PM

Jamani, I know you understand the telecom biz very well. Your thoughts?
iMANI
#32 Posted : Wednesday, November 09, 2011 5:49:40 PM

data and mpesa are going to be the key drivers going forward...with the latter up by nearly 50% and contributing up to 15% of total revenue
Life and beer are very similar........chill for best results.

#33 Posted : Wednesday, November 09, 2011 5:53:21 PM

What is the opposite of stellar?

#34 Posted : Wednesday, November 09, 2011 6:17:00 PM

Why are folks surprised about Safcom?

1) Cheaper to call Airtel to Safcom than Safcom-Safcom
2) Data grew but others are (slowly) improving
3) Forex losses. Well, all firms with net$/FX liabilities are crying
Cde Monomotapa
#35 Posted : Wednesday, November 09, 2011 6:19:14 PM

that news from reuters must be false..

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly utalijua jiji bro.
#36 Posted : Wednesday, November 09, 2011 6:22:32 PM

Losses from unrealised forex as a whooping 1.3 billion! This is pretty high, even if Zain or rather Airtel was listed and had to make public the results i bet they too wouldnt be smiling.
#37 Posted : Wednesday, November 09, 2011 6:23:01 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
"Operating expenses surged 22.6 per cent to Sh26.5 billion from 21.6 billion driven by weak shilling and high inflation. Losses from unrealised foreign exchange stood at Sh1.3 billion"

The shilling: First ARM, now Safaricom,next...
It will strike gain!

I wonder how the other operators are faring. Looks like Airtel just wanted to crash the party.
#38 Posted : Wednesday, November 09, 2011 6:24:32 PM

Die, Airtel die, die (stabbing motion)
Cde Monomotapa
#39 Posted : Wednesday, November 09, 2011 6:24:53 PM

Discount cash & carry smile
GGK
#40 Posted : Wednesday, November 09, 2011 6:28:59 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
that news from reuters must be false..

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly utalijua jiji bro.

See it here from Business Daily if you trust local more
http://www.businessdaily...4/-/s9381i/-/index.html
"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,