wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

At last, KenyaPower makes me prepaid
ali
#1 Posted : Tuesday, November 08, 2011 7:07:13 AM

Phew, no more bills (honestly, those bills drive me up the wall). Tangu saturday apana tumia postpaid tena. Bt, the thing has locked and i'm told it need sorted from headoffice (or office head, whatever). If i call kenya power contact ctr, am told meter not activated. What next? Or i must clear previous bill for me to be activated? For now, i'm nt being billed thou. Any kpl worker here?
For in him (Jesus) we live and move and have our being-Acts 17:28
#2 Posted : Tuesday, November 08, 2011 8:22:45 AM

cant wait for your ranting after a month of using that contraption...
#3 Posted : Tuesday, November 08, 2011 8:33:20 AM

chemos wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly , Hata mimi nangoja the rants, and I assure you they will come.
anasazi
#4 Posted : Tuesday, November 08, 2011 8:47:25 AM

I have no desire at all to be put on prepaid! Kwanza the practice of giving less credits per shilling when you top up large amounts of cash is just infuriating! Not to mention not sending load tokens on time when you pay by m-pesa.... I will keep my post paid, thank you!
Form is temporary, class is permanent
#5 Posted : Tuesday, November 08, 2011 10:00:48 AM

I think people rant when they lack info. I've been on prepaid for four months now, and it's awesome. I pay for what I use and I've taken time to understand how I'm billed on prepaid and most importantly, why the same amount would result to different power units during the same month. @anasazi, higher users get billed more, whether prepaid or postpaid. Power usage si kama bundle ama wholesale prices, ati bulk equals less per unit.
ali
#6 Posted : Tuesday, November 08, 2011 10:27:15 AM

Its bad? Bt in nyayo estate i used it almst incident free. Had hiccups bt i felt debt free and at peace.
#7 Posted : Tuesday, November 08, 2011 3:09:16 PM

@ Jus Blazin....I recently got this prepaid meter after realising that KPLC were ripping me off on post paid but i bought some units jana through M-Pesa lakini bado sijapata reply, is this normal?
Chaka
#8 Posted : Wednesday, November 09, 2011 11:41:10 AM

Last month, 500 bob gave me 25.2 units
Today,the same amount has given 32.1 units
How can I know when power is cheaper without buying first?Why can't KP send alerts to their customers when power is cheaper so that we can make savings by getting more units?
#9 Posted : Wednesday, November 09, 2011 12:19:44 PM

@Chaka, your electricity charge has three variable components, namely Fuel Cost Charge, Foreign Exchange Rate Fluctuation Adjustment and Inflation Adjustment.

The fluctuations are published in the Kenya Gazette i.e:

1. Fuel Cost Charge

(b) The Company shall publish each month a notice in the Kenya Gazette showing the Fuel Cost Charge rate applicable to all Units billed during the month of publication of such notice.

2. Foreign Exchange Rate Fluctuation Adjustment

(b) The Company shall publish a notice in the Kenya Gazette showing the amount of the Foreign Exchange Rate Fluctuation Adjustment applicable to all Unit charges specified in Part II of the Schedule of Tariffs for all meter readings taken during the month of publication of the said notice.

3. Inflation Adjustment

(b) The Company shall publish in the first month of the half-year inflation adjustment period a notice in the Kenya Gazette showing the half-year Inflation Adjustment rate applicable to all Units billed during that half-year period.

So, if you want to know the exact charge per unit, buy the Kenya Gazette each month and pore through it for ERC notices. The gazette can be bought from the Government Printer on Haile Selassie Avenue, but you will soon do a Cost Benefit Analysis and find that it is cheaper to just pay at the rate quoted.
ali
#10 Posted : Wednesday, November 09, 2011 4:22:41 PM

No no. Jana, after you guys told me that the prepaid thing is jinxed, i called bwana njoroge and demanded my postpaid back. Instead, he sent me a nice talking lady who explained to me how the thing works. Eg we bought 70 units @ 900 bob. Bt they told me, the nxt batch we buy, it'l be at 8/per unit. Not bad
Mo
#11 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 3:09:49 PM

Robinhood wrote:
chemos wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly , Hata mimi nangoja the rants, and I assure you they will come.

Guys, i have been on this scheme since the first pilot phase over 2 years ago. I tell you without blinking an eyelid this thing is damn convinient. No worry about geeting your bill late or sending someone to post office/bank etc etc. Just buy the units on ur mpesa and voila "there was light"
I understand the skeptism but it's all part of change.
Speak your truth quietly and clearly; and listen to others, even the dull and the ignorant; they too have their story.
#12 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 5:44:08 PM

@ Jus Blazin....I recently got this prepaid meter after realising that KPLC were ripping me off on post paid but i bought some units jana through M-Pesa lakini bado sijapata reply, is this normal?

@Taz, sorry hadnt seen this post. Well, at times there are delays with response from KPLC once you've purchased via Mpesa. In such instances, contact KPLC customer care (should be 020-3201015 if I'm not wrong) and they would give you the units and the number you need to input on the meter.
#13 Posted : Wednesday, November 16, 2011 4:48:15 PM

@ ALI BABA..

2 more weeks before u start ranting about this pre pay thing... waiting....

How is the going so far?
Ali Baba
#14 Posted : Wednesday, November 16, 2011 5:19:38 PM

CHEMOS: You are causing confusion here.That guy who wrote that piece is ALI,not ALI BABA. Please note the difference.
ali
#15 Posted : Monday, November 21, 2011 5:40:47 AM

I'm Ali not Ali baba. Mine just started billing few days a go, the 1st 10days or so, was connectd directly without going thru the mtr. So far so good.
accelriskconsult
#16 Posted : Monday, November 21, 2011 11:00:36 AM

@Taz, sorry hadnt seen this post. Well, at times there are delays with response from KPLC once you've purchased via Mpesa. In such instances, contact KPLC customer care (should be 020-3201015 if I'm not wrong) and they would give you the units and the number you need to input on the meter.

The last time I tried calling that number, all my more than 20 calls were dropped after I was put on hold.

It might be better to establish a reorder level and strictly enforce it.
#17 Posted : Wednesday, December 07, 2011 10:20:04 PM

Can someone call them and have them fix the prepaid meter even if they are yet to get the pilot phase to my area? This guys are making holes in my pockets, soon i will be back to the tilly lampsmile

@ Gordon kindly explain why kplc charges for forex if you do indeed understand the concept.

rryz
#18 Posted : Thursday, December 08, 2011 10:34:37 AM

Kratos wrote:
Can someone call them and have them fix the prepaid meter even if they are yet to get the pilot phase to my area? This guys are making holes in my pockets, soon i will be back to the tilly lampsmile

@ Gordon kindly explain why kplc charges for forex if you do indeed understand the concept.

You cannot call them to have only you put on the prepaid system, if your area has not been designated to have prepaid meter yet. And please note this is not the pilot phase, the pilot was done afew years back.
About the forex element, KPLC pay their producers in forex, so any forex exch. loss or gain is passed on to the consumer. You will notice sometimes the forex figure is a +ve & sometimes its a -ve.
#19 Posted : Thursday, December 08, 2011 6:11:28 PM

rryz wrote:
Kratos wrote:

You cannot call them to have only you put on the prepaid system, if your area has not been designated to have prepaid meter yet. And please note this is not the pilot phase, the pilot was done afew years back.
About the forex element, KPLC pay their producers in forex, so any forex exch. loss or gain is passed on to the consumer. You will notice sometimes the forex figure is a +ve & sometimes its a -ve.

The power producers are all within the boundary of Kenya, why then pay them in USD?Hell knows.
And why pass the loss to the customers?Can they just absorb the loss like any other companies do!

#20 Posted : Thursday, December 08, 2011 9:52:19 PM

rryz wrote:
Kratos wrote:

The power producers are all within the boundary of Kenya, why then pay them in USD?Hell knows.
And why pass the loss to the customers?Can they just absorb the loss like any other companies do!

Thanx @ rryz, like @ impunity i fail to understand why i should be charged forex yet the suppliers of KPLC are all local. Anyway, i may have to continue getting ripped off in the meanwhile. This month my consumption after really reducing my usage was 529/= yet my total bill is 2,658/=. Sad Sad