Investor
Stocks
NSE set to Introduce Futures but What are they?
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/25/2009 Posts: 4,534 Location: Windhoek/Nairobbery
The Nairobi Securities Exchange (NSE) is set to unveil new FTSE indexes this week, the move will pave way for derivatives such as Futures, Electronic Traded Fund's (ETF'S) and Real Estate Investment Trusts (REITS) to be traded at the bourse, as part of my investor education series i will shed more light in this article on what futures are all about, the sequel to this one will focus on ETF's and REITS. What are Futures? A future is a contract between two people in which they agree a price for a commodity to be delivered at a particular date, what that simply means is that by buying the contract you simply agree to buy something which is not yet produced at a predetermined price i.e a Farmers up coming Seasons Tomato harvest, in this scenario the buyer holds a long position while the seller (Farmer) has a short position. Futures are available for almost every commodity out there i.e Gold, Wheat and Uranium e.t.c Read more here http://www.contrarianinv...s-but-what-are-they.html
Cheers @deal. Keep em' coming.
[quote=the deal]The Nairobi Securities Exchange (NSE) is set to unveil new FTSE indexes this week, the move will pave way for derivatives such as Futures, Electronic Traded Fund's (ETF'S) and Real Estate Investment Trusts (REITS) to be traded at the bourse, as part of my investor education series i will shed more light in this article on what futures are all about, the sequel to this one will focus on ETF's and REITS Jamani Deal ETFs are not Electronic Traded Funds, ama you are confusing them with EFTs? ETFs are Exchange Traded Funds, basically just an index fund which tracks a particular index. Now my question, seeing there are not many stock listing at the NSE, why would one buy an ETF? Why pay a fund manager extra money to buy you a couple of stocks and while at it, only mimick the index, not really outdo it? Unless there's a Peter Lynch at the NSE,I dont see any use. But the REITs, those I am interested in!!
Nabwire wrote:[quote=the deal]The Nairobi Securities Exchange (NSE) is set to unveil new FTSE indexes this week, the move will pave way for derivatives such as Futures, Electronic Traded Fund's (ETF'S) and Real Estate Investment Trusts (REITS) to be traded at the bourse, as part of my investor education series i will shed more light in this article on what futures are all about, the sequel to this one will focus on ETF's and REITS Jamani Deal ETFs are not Electronic Traded Funds, ama you are confusing them with EFTs? ETFs are Exchange Traded Funds, basically just an index fund which tracks a particular index. Now my question, seeing there are not many stock listing at the NSE, why would one buy an ETF? Why pay a fund manager extra money to buy you a couple of stocks and while at it, only mimick the index, not really outdo it? Unless there's a Peter Lynch at the NSE,I dont see any use. But the REITs, those I am interested in!! OK, thanks too @Nabwire. Do you think it'll have any effect on raising liquidity in the market? Like more foreign portfolio flows.
Thanks @Nabwire bdw you are welcome to do an article on ETF's i will credit the article to your name. @Cde yes there will be strong foreign inflows into Kenya esp into tea,flowers and coffe futures that in turn will strengthen the Shilling.
the deal wrote:Thanks @Nabwire bdw you are welcome to do an article on ETF's i will credit the article to your name. @Cde yes there will be strong foreign inflows into Kenya esp into tea,flowers and coffe futures that in turn will strengthen the Shilling. Interesting about the futures so will the Mombasa tea & coffee auctions be overtaken by events or is that its a spot market. Mmm...I concur @deal we need as much info as we can get on these development so @Nabwire do us a report too please.
Moreover, what will happen to the earlier proposed Commodities Ex by NCPB (for grains I suppose) probably it should be consolidated on the NSE to avoid mkt fragmentation and also enhance visibilty & transperency.
Generally, I am proud at the positive strides Kenya's Capital Market is taking in addition to Nairobi basing Africa's one & only African Carbon Exchange (ACX) - A platform to commercially trade green energy products e.g Carbon Credits. Najivunia kuwa mKenya!!
Cde Monomotapa wrote:the deal wrote:Thanks @Nabwire bdw you are welcome to do an article on ETF's i will credit the article to your name. @Cde yes there will be strong foreign inflows into Kenya esp into tea,flowers and coffe futures that in turn will strengthen the Shilling. Interesting about the futures so will the Mombasa tea & coffee auctions be overtaken by events or is that its a spot market. Mmm...I concur @deal we need as much info as we can get on these development so @Nabwire do us a report too please. Yes Mombasa will remain as the spot market for coffe and tea while some sophisticated farmers will be at the NSE...interesting times are this.
This should also pave way for Mortgage Backed Securities (MBSs) coupled with the Constituitional right to housing, the formal housing shortage especially in the low to middle segment should be addressed faster and more innovately than at present  ROAR!!
Cde Monomotapa wrote:This should also pave way for Mortgage Backed Securities (MBSs) coupled with the Constituitional right to housing, the formal housing shortage especially in the low to middle segment should be addressed faster and more innovately than at present  ROAR!!  Weapons of mass destructions...Housing Finance bleat bleat bleating.
Rank: Bona-fide Joined: 11/2/2011 Posts: 191 Location: Nairobi
I think we are ready for the futures market. ETFs do track the performance of an index, any index all over the world, and allows it to be traded just like a stock. It is a fascinating financial product. On the futures market, not only will it provide an inflow of currency but will provide a price band or price control measure of the associated products involved (please read unga and sugar).Futures will reduce the possibility of the runaway prices that we are experiencing in Kenya on some products to occur as they are a contract between two parties with a specific price agreed on and a specific day. Question is do futures prices indicate where commodity prices will be? Are we ready for MBS even though they were responsible for the 2008 global melt down? Do we have the human capital that comprehends the fundamentals of derivatives? I can't wait to get your thoughts on these questions. Follow us on Twitter @genghiscapital “Be a yardstick of quality. Some people aren’t used to an environment where excellence is expected.” Steve Jobs,iGenius
FACT: derivatives (with the possible exception of fx forwards and interest rate hedging) have no useful economic function. What they are is good and additional income channels for brokers. What the NSE needs is a working all inclusive commodities exchange and far more listings. On listings, I really like the idea of an SME exchange. Sehemu ndio nyumba
the deal wrote:Cde Monomotapa wrote:This should also pave way for Mortgage Backed Securities (MBSs) coupled with the Constituitional right to housing, the formal housing shortage especially in the low to middle segment should be addressed faster and more innovately than at present  ROAR!!  Weapons of mass destructions...Housing Finance bleat bleat bleating. Yup. 1st we take out the prime then move on to sub-prime. 15-20ys of upside before re-write history  untill then it's kaChing! time 
GenghisCapitalLtd wrote:Do we have the human capital that comprehends the fundamentals of derivatives? I can't wait to get your thoughts on these questions. This is where the Nairobi International Finance Centre under Vision 2030 comes in and the Primary Dealer role of the already licensed International Bankers with Rep. Offices in Kenya will come to the fore 
Cde Monomotapa wrote:Generally, I am proud at the positive strides Kenya's Capital Market is taking in addition to Nairobi basing Africa's one & only African Carbon Exchange (ACX) - A platform to commercially trade green energy products e.g Carbon Credits. Najivunia kuwa mKenya!! Unajivunia kuwa mkenya na una jina ya zimbabwean chief. Comrade mwenemutapa (Monomotapa)! Kweli wewe si mshona au mndembele?
tony stark wrote:Cde Monomotapa wrote:Generally, I am proud at the positive strides Kenya's Capital Market is taking in addition to Nairobi basing Africa's one & only African Carbon Exchange (ACX) - A platform to commercially trade green energy products e.g Carbon Credits. Najivunia kuwa mKenya!! Unajivunia kuwa mkenya na una jina ya zimbabwean chief. Comrade mwenemutapa (Monomotapa)! Kweli wewe si mshona au mndembele? Me ni mKenya damu! Dual citizenship highly possible then i'd mosdef be a Shona. I love Zim a lot, very dear to me personally and my socio-economic affairs 
OK, thanks too @Nabwire. Do you think it'll have any effect on raising liquidity in the market? Like more foreign portfolio flows.[/quote] You are welcome  My experience has been that all these exotic trading instruments just cause confusion among individual investors. An ETF or index fund usually has ALOT of stocks on the index that it is tracking, for example the index fund that I bought tracks ALL the stocks on the S&P 500 INDEX, thats 500 stocks!!! Sounds good when they sell you the dream coz you will be invested in McDonald's, Exxon Mobil, Citi, Walmart etc etc so they tell you that you will be well diversified. Until you go back and do the math and realize that just one share costs over $100, so effectively if you buy $3,000 worth of stock, you only only 30 shares. Then you factor in the stocks that pull the others down, and things are not quite so rosy  But, when it comes to FDI flows, it will definitely help coz these fund managers are not particularly interested in tracking African stocks, they would rather just buy an ETF that tracks African Financial stocks, or mineral stocks. In 08 when I asked them if they invest in Africa, only a few did and they did so through ETF and index funds. So basically I gues this move is to make investment easier for foreign investors but for locals, I just dont see why you wouldcreate more fees for yourself unless you have beaucoup money and want to invest in alot of African countries with one stroke. @ The Deal, if you want me to write an article on ETFs, giving me credit on your page is not the way to interest me, show me the money!! I like cold hard cash  and I will give you a way to EFT prior to submission of the article Mainat is spot, all these derivates trades are a way to create employment for the brokerage firms, but the upside is we will get huge FDI inflows
LOL seems like my joke of cold hard cash didnt sit well. For real there is really nothing to explain, ETFs is buying stocks wholesale, good for institutional investors aka mzungu, good for Kenya/ Africa, thats all. But I will call the major brokerage firms and ask for portofolios of their investments in Africa, then we can strategize from there on which companies to buy, though last I checked they were heavily invested in North Africa, Morocco etc
Interesting. So should we expect that the ETF will include the NSE 20 and or the NASI or will it also include stocks from other mkts.
Investor
Stocks
NSE set to Introduce Futures but What are they?