wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

How are you doing?
#1 Posted : Monday, November 07, 2011 1:48:49 PM

With the CBR at 16.5%, Kenyan and especially Kenyan families are at rock bottom and if not, will be hitting there soon.

Is the money you're making able to see you through the month? I was worried over the weekend when I heard a bachelor complaining and wondered how families are getting through. The cost of essential goods is high and now you can't even borrow to subsidise or expand biashara. People are buying bare minimum. Companies cannot expand at that rate so shares will also not make you any money.

So my question is, what's keeping you going? What's keeping Kenyans going?

#2 Posted : Monday, November 07, 2011 2:40:40 PM

boss dont even ask... imagine going to the post office and getting a letter from ur bank telling you mortgage interest has increased from 12% to 17.5% with immediate effect...
nifunze
#3 Posted : Monday, November 07, 2011 2:49:48 PM

I definitely had to cut-back my expenses in the past few months to accommodate my basic needs, My monthly entertainment expenditure took the biggest hit with 80% cut back..(there goes EABL revenue,eating out and social life)... I also started carrying packed lunch to work 60% savings there. To counter the crazy matatu fare I leave for work before the cocks and head back late in the evening...small %age saving there. Then all this savings goes into covering the increase in my basic needs: food, electricity, water...etc

So whats keeping me going? I guess change of lifestyle and my boss who was generous enough to throw in a 5% increment(KRA readily took their pound of flesh out of that increment!).

Our office messenger has a family-two kids- (Am yet to start one!)...earns just above minimum wage....now its him that I would really wanna ask...what's keeping you going?
#4 Posted : Monday, November 07, 2011 2:57:37 PM

Luckily I dont have a loan,just a credit card which I use when the going gets tough and pay in time so I enjoy maximum 50day interest free credit and still earn some swiper points (barclaycard).

Lakini ,Landlord aliniletea barua ya 18% rent increament wef January 2012 jana. Boss amekaa gumu hataki kuadjust mshahara for inflation.

But next year in August ,God willing, I intent to take a sacco loan to build my syokimau house project.Im just building up my Sacco deposits.Mungu saidia
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
Thiong'o
#5 Posted : Monday, November 07, 2011 3:23:44 PM

With the CBR at 16.5%, Kenyan and especially Kenyan families are at rock bottom and if not, will be hitting there soon.

Is the money you're making able to see you through the month? I was worried over the weekend when I heard a bachelor complaining and wondered how families are getting through. The cost of essential goods is high and now you can't even borrow to subsidise or expand biashara. People are buying bare minimum. Companies cannot expand at that rate so shares will also not make you any money.

So my question is, what's keeping you going? What's keeping Kenyans going?

@ 2012, this thread has some useful info. on your questions.

http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...spx?g=posts&t=15612

#6 Posted : Monday, November 07, 2011 6:27:15 PM

Have they affected any bank loan yet?

GGK
#7 Posted : Monday, November 07, 2011 7:56:21 PM

Boss things are elephant.

Bank loan I have is tethered at 14.5% no change.
Entertainment has gone
Traveling is now "only if I must" gata imekuwa kitu ingine.
Sometimes am opting for matatus.
Salo is stagnant and the side biashara is down.
I guess if this continues I will fold up as an entity.
BTW how does one gets voluntarily bankrupt?

"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,