Fraud SMS
#21 Posted : Friday, November 04, 2011 11:10:23 AM

aemathenge wrote:
+254713279687
28:10:2011
06:57 PM
We,ve been hired 2 shorten ur life ,4 Details mpesa 20,000 2 hind u .

I have forwarded to 333

This guy has a sense of humour. smile smile
QW25081985
#22 Posted : Friday, November 04, 2011 11:31:41 AM

its friday guys they send this smses fast and thick ....be alert !
#23 Posted : Friday, November 04, 2011 12:07:08 PM

Hallo,SGT DAVID I have been given 3 chances of replacement, to those who were suspended coz of medical ground, 1 kenya police,1GSU and 1A.P.so plz send me details of MIKE, and EVALINE.am Inspector,P. OBURU.Here kiganjo training collage
#24 Posted : Friday, November 04, 2011 3:18:34 PM

aemathenge wrote:
+254713279687
28:10:2011
06:57 PM
We,ve been hired 2 shorten ur life ,4 Details mpesa 20,000 2 hind u .

I have forwarded to 333

Reply... You will save me the poison I wanted to buy! Come quickly.
TD
#25 Posted : Friday, November 04, 2011 3:53:43 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
Name:
Number: +254700775741
Content:
Sister Jayne tafadhali mtoto ameumwa na nyoka na mahali niko sina credit tafadhali nitumie credit ya 50 nipigie mtu was BODABODA nimpleleke hosipitali halaka.
Time: 15/09/2011 01:11PM

He he he, I always thought am immune to these kind of frauds but I fell for this one. Called the number and a lady who sounded distressed picked the phone, apologised that she sms'ed to a wrong number but reminded me she is yet to get help and the kid is in trouble. I sambazad her 100 credit :)
#26 Posted : Friday, November 04, 2011 6:05:40 PM

From +254706177341

Message: SAFARICOM BONGA, Your Phone number has WON Ksh100,000th. Call H/Office on 0787909194 at 8AM-10:PM NB: DO NOT PAY ANYTHING.

Date : 24/10/2011

I forwarded it to 333. Also called the conmen who asked if i had an equity bank acct. I told them to keep the cash as this was a pure con

#27 Posted : Friday, November 04, 2011 7:32:26 PM

Do not know if this was a con or not. It did not involve a phone though. Taking a break form work and strolling along Argwings Kodhek when I meet this couple carrying a gal of about 12 months. They then tell me that the kid is sick and they need to get her to Mbagathi and need just 40 bob to get there. Now I am a sucker for children (since I got mine) and imagine no parent can use a baby to solicit for money. So I give them 200 bob. I walk about 20m and them I turn back to see them talking to another person. Still not sure if it was a con and still feel guilty for suspecting a con.

Anybody ever come across any such story/con?
#28 Posted : Sunday, November 06, 2011 9:16:45 AM

sending the message to 333 is kinda useless... received this message and even edited to add the number

BT71NL015 Confirmed.
You have received Ksh9,600.00 from
GERALD MWAURA 254706406494.
on 4/11/11 at 4:16 PM
New M-PESA balance is Ksh21,300.00

This message was sent by +254706406494. Thanks

then safaricom replies:

Received, we'll investigate. Send us the number that sent you the message. Dont send money, airtime or personal details to anyone about any promotion.Thank you

how does one send the number? or this is an automated reply even if you provide the number
GGK
#29 Posted : Sunday, November 06, 2011 11:33:55 AM

Also send a fraud SMS to 333.
Reply is standard "Received, we'll investigate. Send us the number that sent you the message. Dont send money, airtime or personal details to anyone about any promotion.Thank you"

How do we know that Safaricom actually investigated and action was taken?
"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
livie
#30 Posted : Monday, November 07, 2011 1:08:39 PM

Gathige wrote:
From +254706177341

Message: SAFARICOM BONGA, Your Phone number has WON Ksh100,000th. Call H/Office on 0787909194 at 8AM-10:PM NB: DO NOT PAY ANYTHING.

I forwarded it to 333. Also called the conmen who asked if i had an equity bank acct. I told them to keep the cash as this was a pure con

got similar one leo killed b4 they started mob stories....

If you are going to be thinking only one thing, you might as well be thinking big. -Donald J . Trump
#31 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2012 12:33:30 PM

Got this one this morning on my data line:
Name:
Number: +254707552266
Content:
Dear sister Lilian, l have crosed boda to Kenya and l have sent 8.7m via western union. Do the clearence at the import doc before l arrive in Mombasa. Containers nos, (JN9564846/122) black, (A4573616M/12) green, (ZT26675714/12) red, (GX55605328) blue. Containers secret words are (Ketty). Be blessed.
Time: 19/04/2012 10:44:40
#32 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 11:55:14 AM

They have enrolled wazungus now, check this one out!

Hi, call Mcdonald Thomson on 0721518411 at noon am his driver. Good day.

This muzungu is supposedly from canada confused has a lot of money and looking for a plot to build an orphanage, funny his number ends with 411
A New Kenya
mfadhili
#33 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 4:31:55 PM

Elder wrote:
Do not know if this was a con or not. It did not involve a phone though. Taking a break form work and strolling along Argwings Kodhek when I meet this couple carrying a gal of about 12 months. They then tell me that the kid is sick and they need to get her to Mbagathi and need just 40 bob to get there. Now I am a sucker for children (since I got mine) and imagine no parent can use a baby to solicit for money. So I give them 200 bob. I walk about 20m and them I turn back to see them talking to another person. Still not sure if it was a con and still feel guilty for suspecting a con.

Anybody ever come across any such story/con?

@Elder .that couple is a con . they needed 40 to get them to hospital u gve 100. Thy should hve gone to hospital period. Hve met an old man who will cry how hungry he is and jus needs 10 bob 2 feed. so i bought him a whole loaf with milk...he wsnt impressed. another guy says his kid is sick and he cries how he came to his brother's house and found no one and nids 2 take the kid to hosi 1st time i gave him a sock. 2nd tyme i offered to call his brother and find out where he was....(not impressed).
Sad part they do it so very much they forget they have already accosted you. 90% chance u will meet them again
mfadhili
#34 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 4:35:02 PM

Gathige wrote:
From +254706177341

at tht point of 100,000th i think they confused between kshs.100,000 and being the 100th caller. safaricon!!!1 soo amazing
#35 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 6:21:36 PM

Has anyone met this middle-age lady, driving a pink Vitz?

She was parked at a U-turn, just on the side to allow cars behind to pass. As I passed her, and waiting for the road to clear at the u-turn, she calls waving from her car through the window saying she has ran out of fuel and she didn't notice the fuel guage.

She explains that it was really embarassing given that she forgot to carry her purse along. She said since home is not so far, just about 5km, she wondered if I could help her with some money to buy 1litre of fuel.

I sympathyized and offered sh200.
She comes for it, but refuses to take and asks if I can make it sh500?
I said "no I thought you said you want to buy just one litre!".
She responds "Can you make it sh300?" I said no.

To cut the story short. She took the 200 bob and I drove off. But when I looked at my rear view mirror, I noticed she was talking to the next driver that was behind me.
I took a turn and hide where she could not see my car. Only to see her start the car, reversed back from the U-turn and took off straight on.

I thought she said there was not fuel in the car!!!!
mibbz
#36 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 8:10:48 PM

boss you were definately played!! its happened to me on Langata Road at the Uchumi U-turn just after rafikiz. this indian lady came out of a vitz and asked me for 200 bob for fuel,i gave her. Was told by some other pals later on they have encountered the same lady doing the same thing.
#punked!!
#37 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 9:02:21 PM

In India,there are more beggars than the entire East and central African population.I wouldn't be surprised if one beggar has swam all the waysmile .
#38 Posted : Saturday, December 01, 2012 10:03:59 AM

mibbz wrote:
boss you were definately played!! its happened to me on Langata Road at the Uchumi U-turn just after rafikiz. this indian lady came out of a vitz and asked me for 200 bob for fuel,i gave her. Was told by some other pals later on they have encountered the same lady doing the same thing.
#punked!!

Yes, she was an Indian, middle-aged woman, speaking good English!!!
mibbz
#39 Posted : Saturday, December 01, 2012 11:01:28 AM

mibbz wrote:
#punked!!

Yes, she was an Indian, middle-aged woman, speaking good English!!!

were you also a victim?
mozenrat
#40 Posted : Wednesday, December 05, 2012 6:59:42 PM

How do you fall for this Indian woman crap... ungemwambia auze gari anunue fuel..