wazua Fri, Jan 3, 2025

Worst employers ....
Chaka
#21 Posted : Friday, October 02, 2009 6:59:00 AM

@Jacob,

How much were you paid for this first 'job'?
#22 Posted : Friday, October 02, 2009 7:04:00 AM

@ All

To put this thread in perspective,let the employers point out the qualities of a good/bad/worst employee and let the employees who then determine which of these make the employer a good/bad/worst of the employers.

May I take the liberty of going into fiction and give the example of CTU and Jack Bauer? (Please humour me). CTU has the primary objective of fighting terrorism. It has been given a set of protocols by its supervisory organization,Division which answers to Homeland Security and is judged by these protocols.

However,Mr. Bauer often breaks these protocols which stand in the way of the primary objective but ends up stoping the terrorist(s),also at a great expense to his personal life.

In this regard,is CTU a good employer of Mr. Bauer or is it the worst? Is Mr. Bauer,who accomplishes the primary objective of CTU,but breaks the protocols,a good employee or the worst employee at CTU?

Just a thought. Just a thought.

Live hard,die hard.
#23 Posted : Friday, October 02, 2009 7:16:00 AM

@All

In as far as this thread is concerned,so far the best employer,in my opinion,is the 'Muhindi' who gave Mr. Zuma a spade and a lorry load of 'kokoto' to unload. This was a good test which is meant to determine how well a employee is prepared to face the challenges of life in accomplishing the primary objective of the organization.

Mr. Zuma is,in my opinion,the best employee. He will go far,not just at the firm,but also in life.

My take.

Live hard,die hard.
majimaji
#24 Posted : Friday, October 02, 2009 7:37:00 AM

My employer is best!

I pretend to work and he pretends to pay me!!!

In man prudence,in woman patience - Jacob Cats
Cupcake
#25 Posted : Friday, October 02, 2009 7:41:00 AM

Mirooo...or Muiru if am not wrong means a black man.....

kikombe keki
#26 Posted : Friday, October 02, 2009 8:04:00 AM

@eamathenge;
nisamehee; i din't to copy your comment......Friday morning blues!!

@Fundaah;
Do you work only to impress your employer?

I am currently self-employed,but even when I was in formal employment,I was being paid to do something that I would have willingly done for free; nay,I would have paid for being given the opportunity to do!!!

And even what I do today is something that I would do for free. Thus after completing an assignment,you wont find me chasing clients all over town the following day for the cheque!!

Completion of the job is enough reward for me.....payment is only to foot my personal bills

Is it enough for you,or do you need another kind of motivation?

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
akowally
#27 Posted : Friday, October 02, 2009 8:30:00 AM

@ mukiha

well put

There are enough posts about finding happiness in something else ... spouse,employer ... I think being whole inside should be a good start. Make sure whatever you do pleases yourself first. We should emulate what Jesus did in terms of service. Qualities of a good servant include:

We can take on any task
We do not require rewards to be of service
We are indiscriminate on who to serve
Not affected by moods
Take service as a lifestyle

NB. I am not talking about employment here,just advice about taking service as a lifestyle.

King George: 'The highest distinction of man is the service of others'
Jesus: 'The greatest among you is the one who rules like the one who serves' (Luke 22.24)

When we pray in praise to God,he makes a difference in our lives.
JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
Jacob Zuma
#28 Posted : Friday, October 02, 2009 10:17:00 AM

@ aemathenge

I passed the first interview.

The second interview,I was given a craw bar,told to remove those mbaos used to support storied buildings. Two floors.

I barely passed that one but I did.

Then there was a third interview&hellip;&hellip;..

In the meantime,I was put on probation which comprised of working 6 days a week,7am-6pm.

My starting salary was 6250 bob

I am Not Him,I am in No Way related to Him,I am related to Jesus though
jaribu
#29 Posted : Friday, October 02, 2009 12:19:00 PM

media houses exploit those poor reporters you see being bossed around my dr. alfred mutua. while their bosses like linus gitahi at NMG pocket a cool 2.5m per month excluding bonuses,the poor reporters are exploited and paid peanuts with hefty deductions. i know this guy who works at one of the big media houses but still sleeps on the sofa in his mama's house. that's why some of those celeb chicks in the media can be found in westlands over the weekends doing their thang that involves some funny extra curricular activities!

OnLy deaD FiSh gO WiTh tHe floW....!
#30 Posted : Friday, October 02, 2009 2:16:00 PM

@jaribu;
You mean Gitahi gets such a tiny salary?

How much does a reporter earn and how much does a reporter deserve?

Is a bad employer the one who pays the smaller salary?

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
Kamaa
#31 Posted : Friday, October 02, 2009 7:36:00 PM

@ majimaji

Lolest! wewe ni majimaji tu!

@ zuma

kwani wewe ni fundi wa mawe...?

When you run so fast to get somewhere,you miss the fun of getting there... Life is not a race,so take it slowly....
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
Jacob Zuma
#32 Posted : Saturday, October 03, 2009 7:38:00 AM

@kamaa

Me?

I am no fundi,have never done anything fundish. It was a clerk job when I was in colle and we had gone on strike and I needed to get some cash.

I am in the PR industry

I am Not Him,I am in No Way related to Him,I am related to Jesus though
Kamaa
#33 Posted : Saturday, October 03, 2009 8:15:00 AM

basi huyo muhindi ni mnoma...

anakupee job ya kokoto na umevaa suti...?

When you run so fast to get somewhere,you miss the fun of getting there... Life is not a race,so take it slowly....
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
#34 Posted : Monday, October 05, 2009 6:29:00 AM

@Mukiha,there is absolutely nothing to forgive. I have derived 'copy that' from Jack Bauer which he uses to agree or acknowledge the truth of a certain piece of information.

We also seem to be reading from the same page in that most posts are about people complaining how bad employers are while they are actually an employer's worst human resource nightmare.

@ All,inorder for an employer to be the 'worst' you must be a 'good' employee. Define the qualities of a good employee and a bad employee. Define the qualities of a good employer and the worst. Then we can make a judgement here.

My penny thoughts.

Live hard,die hard.
moonshine
#35 Posted : Monday, October 05, 2009 7:02:00 AM

@majimaji,

i loved that,and i believe thats what happens in most establishments. if only employers can start paying not pretending to pay guys would stop pretending to work and get down to Work.

God's time is the best.
akowally
#36 Posted : Monday, October 05, 2009 7:14:00 AM

@ mukiha

I hear Njoroge Mwaura gets 180k and akina swale mdoe get 400k,that is why all these guys run to citizen ... about this small pay .... I don't know

#37 Posted : Monday, October 05, 2009 7:54:00 AM

akowally,it's 150K!!!!

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
akowally
#38 Posted : Monday, October 05, 2009 8:44:00 AM

@ McReggae

Thanks. This is a forward I was sent about the market prices,you can check out the part of Njoroge Mwaura,though it stands corrected

Dyer and blair's entry level is...hold ur breathe....10k!

Insurance companies like UAP,ICEA,First Assurance,Britak pay 25k for entry
level graduates

entry levels for Banks vary broadly...28k to 50k+... (graduate clerks).

I have it from a very reliable source that audit trainees at Deloitte get
62k,at KPMG they get 55k,while they get 70k at PwC. Management trainees
get 35k and 30k at BBK and Stanchart respectively!

Ernst & young has the highest start pay for fresh fraduates,above 70k.

Citibank pays 50k for graduates and 80k for mgt trainees.

Bamburi has to be the highest payer of fresh graduates for their management
trainee program...a whopin 120k!!!

Safaricom pays between 55K-65K for either entry level engineers (called
technicians at that point) or graduate management engineers read MTs.

Ericsson,min. 100K for engineers,could be more if you had a previous
employer offering more than that.

Gibb Africa (consultancy).......46K lakini kuna pesa ya PJs.......jobs za
nje!!!

KPLC now offers 72K for fresh engineers.......you are always free na kuna
overtime mob....gava kinda thing you know.

KenGen....80K for MTs,Nokia 80K with allowances kibao,alcatel,upwards of
75K and don't forget the allowances

NB: Above are purely Engineering jobs.

I am aware that KTN pays poorly. You need to just look at the way their
presenters dress and you have an idea!
the likes of Muli,Namu,Mbugua and Arunga on 95k plus benefits.

Apparently Njoroge Mwaura is the highest paid at about 180k plus benefits.
I understand that Lilian Muli is on much less than that

I've got a source at the firm auditing Royal Media saying ati Louis,
Kasavuli and Swaleh are on 400k plus benefits including rent,motor
vehicle maintenance and entertainment.

#39 Posted : Monday, October 05, 2009 9:03:00 AM

akowally,eti a forward????.....most of those posts on engineering salaries are by me.......done here at sk some time back!!!!!

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
akowally
#40 Posted : Monday, October 05, 2009 9:09:00 AM

@ McReggae. OK,then I guess it was done by you,someone copy pasted it along with others,compiled it,sent it to a friend of mine,my friend forwarded it to her friends and .... it became a forward