wazua Wed, Feb 5, 2025

A Few things to increase security measures.
jasonhill
#1 Posted : Wednesday, October 26, 2011 9:49:12 PM

From what I've seen so far, there are a few tactics that need to be improved in the field as far as security measures.

1. Spectators- You don't move the "crowd" of onlookers 300 feet away- you CLEAR THE ENTIRE BLOCK. I saw the Kayole spectators in visual range of a suspected booby-trapped car. Well guess what? Had that car contained an improvised explosive device, and also had been full of nails and shrapnel, if the crowd can still see the car, IT CAN STILL "SEE" the crowd. CLEAR THE ENTIRE CITY BLOCK, and those that remain should be immediately arrested by a secondary crew of officers with lorries, that are also looking in the crowd for, and detaining, suspicious people.

2. When checking a car's boot at a roadblock, make the driver pull up/back the carpeted area where the spare tire sometimes sits. Don't just open the boot, look, and close it.

3. Glue a mirror to a skateboard, and attach a mop handle to it also- now you can see under the car for suspicious welds and cuts. Disallow cars with too many antennas, loose seats, loose carpet, loose door panels, extra batteries, or any exposed wires or odd modifications (even large car stereos) into buildings and secure areas. Make cargo vehicles and lorries hire a crew to unload OUTSIDE the building or area. No drive-up deliveries.

4. Secure the crime scene after the fact- no one in or out for a while, comb the crowd, and JAM radio, GPS, and cell signals for a block or so radius while doing so. For obvious reasons. Communicate by hand signals and megaphones if need be.

5. Require businesses in which more than 20 people gather at any time to install a high-mounted CCTV camera at the entrance, with the DVR recorder located at the opposite end of the building by wire. It should cost less than 100k shillings for the whole setup. It's simply the cost of doing business.

We're not talking rocket science here, and all the tools, including latex gloves, are dirt cheap and for sale by China, so it's time to style up and use them.

Best,

Hill
livie
#2 Posted : Thursday, October 27, 2011 11:05:47 AM

jasonhill wrote:

4. Secure the crime scene after the fact- no one in or out for a while, comb the crowd, and JAM radio, GPS, and cell signals for a block or so radius while doing so. For obvious reasons. Communicate by hand signals and megaphones if need be.

Hill

sometimes monitoring the in and outgoing calls from a base tower immediately before and after the blast can give vital clues to assist arrest the perpetrators...

i'd want to keep this open if i were the investigating officer
If you are going to be thinking only one thing, you might as well be thinking big. -Donald J . Trump
livie
#3 Posted : Thursday, October 27, 2011 11:07:40 AM

do the askaris know how C4, semtex H...etc looks like?

just a thought
If you are going to be thinking only one thing, you might as well be thinking big. -Donald J . Trump
#4 Posted : Thursday, October 27, 2011 12:00:11 PM

livie wrote:

just a thought

they don't, just like me!
Kenyans have not been exposed to some of these things - kumbuka just the other day farmers in naivasha na nyahururu who had been growing and selling flowers for years to some jungus who paid well, realised kumbe it was opium.

Still, nikiona kitu inakaa kama plasticine and a wire and maybe clock sticking out of it, then kaguru deithia
#5 Posted : Thursday, October 27, 2011 12:28:47 PM

police blow up car

the proximity of the people and the kayole police vehicle is worrisome
sanity
#6 Posted : Thursday, October 27, 2011 12:53:40 PM

SECURITY ADVICE

If a terrorist throws a hand grenade down in front of you don’t run.
You will be killed by flying shrapnel piercing vital organs or your head.
Seek shelter behind a chair or table in the two to four seconds before
the grenade goes off.

If there is no cover fall face down with your feet facing the coming explosion.
Pull your elbows into your sides to protect vital organs and cover your ears.
This will change you from a five or six foot tall standing target into a tiny six
inch box on the ground. The blast may miss you entirely or flying shrapnel may
hit the soles of your shoes. At worst you can you lose your feet – but you will survive.

Regards,
Jack Bauer
Hope is not a strategy
Kaka M
#7 Posted : Thursday, October 27, 2011 1:23:49 PM

Some good points here, could someone explain what happens in the event of a grenade explosion? Considering that someone has advised lying down with feet to the grenade, how far should the feet be from the grenade? If someone is next to a wall, what are the chances of a building block harming the person?

How far can it damage? Thinking as the lay man I am, If i armed myself with a tennis racket so if it comes I bat it away (Hoping there will be a direction without pple or upwards)what, are the chances of averting the disaster.
#8 Posted : Thursday, October 27, 2011 1:26:20 PM

sanity wrote:
SECURITY ADVICE

If a terrorist throws a hand grenade down in front of you don’t run.
You will be killed by flying shrapnel piercing vital organs or your head.
Seek shelter behind a chair or table in the two to four seconds before
the grenade goes off.

If there is no cover fall face down with your feet facing the coming explosion.
Pull your elbows into your sides to protect vital organs and cover your ears.
This will change you from a five or six foot tall standing target into a tiny six
inch box on the ground. The blast may miss you entirely or flying shrapnel may
hit the soles of your shoes. At worst you can you lose your feet – but you will survive.

Regards,
Jack Bauer

i thought you died?Laughing out loudly
jasonhill
#9 Posted : Friday, October 28, 2011 5:50:26 AM

livie wrote:

just a thought

It looks like ANYTHING suspicious that cannot be clearly explained or accounted for, especially if it is unattended in a crowded place, the person in possession of it doesn't know how they got it, is nervous about it, runs from it, has been asked to carry it for someone else, or cannot describe it, its purpose, or its contents after being walked away from it and questioned about it.

But yeah, taped up wires, wires hanging out or connected to remotes, split open cell phones or other electronics, and radios are suspicious. Taped up and wired "bundles" of any kind are suspicious, especially if they are surrounded by nails, marbles, ball bearings, etc.

It also has to be kept in mind that this isn't the season to argue, fuss, and debate with KP if they ask about what you are carrying or who or what is in your vehicle. Just be cool, calm, and understanding during these times. Now we can see the need for only licensed, known, identifiable street vendors.

Be careful and alert. God Bless.

Best,

Hill