wazua Mon, Sep 22, 2025

Carbacid pretax profit down 14 pct
ngapat
#1 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2011 11:35:29 AM

Sad Kenyan carbon dioxide maker Carbacid posted pretax profit of 374.2 million shillings ($3.7 million) for the year ended in July, a 14 percent drop compared with the previous year.

http://af.reuters.com/ar...ws/idAFL5E7LL3KJ20111021
“Invest in yourself. Your career is the engine of your wealth.”
FUNKY
#2 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2011 11:38:37 AM

I bought this share at 185/-. I do not think it will reach those levels ever again.
Cde Monomotapa
#3 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2011 11:48:30 AM

FUNKY wrote:
I bought this share at 185/-. I do not think it will reach those levels ever again.

Scubidu
#4 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2011 5:26:21 PM

Always thought Centum's trading strategy was a pump-and-dump... though i got into arguments with folks who thought otherwise. The results above give me more confidence that I was right. There used to be a thread long ago on Centum... when they first made the investment... wonder where it is.
“We are the middle children of history man, no purpose or place. We have no great war, no great depression. Our great war is a spiritual war, our great depression is our lives!" – Tyler Durden
#5 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2011 6:01:31 PM

Scubidu wrote:
Always thought Centum's trading strategy was a pump-and-dump... though i got into arguments with folks who thought otherwise. The results above give me more confidence that I was right. There used to be a thread long ago on Centum... when they first made the investment... wonder where it is.

In the period Centum were invested in Carbacid, they reaped massive returns.
I would place Centum's exit on perfect timing and not 'Pump and Dump'
The company was doing great. Centum may have felt the great run was unsustainable and bolted. Nothing wrong in locking your profits. We've all done it. Every asset has its price.

Please give us your reasons for terming Centum a 'Pump and Dumper' and share other instances as well.
#6 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2011 6:22:02 PM

Scubidu, is this the thread you were talking about? - Matiba Sells 2 Million Carbacid Shares To Centum - http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...aspx?g=posts&t=4415
Most people seemed to have written off Centum. Anyway, can't really blame them as it was the height of the bear
Cde Monomotapa
#7 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2011 6:53:03 PM

Ouch! @ycsun Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#8 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2011 7:35:37 PM

FUNKY wrote:

I feel you. lakini no need to cry over spilt milk...

As a policy i will never buy any stock with PE greater than 15. What goes up must come down!
the deal
#9 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2011 8:10:45 PM

I like Carbacid...especially below 100 bob...Centum do not know what theyre doing...they sell winners (Carbacid) & keep losers (Insurance..UAP..AoN)...one thing one should know Carbacid's perfomance is correlated to the GDP.
#10 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2011 8:28:11 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
Ouch! @ycsun Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Now trading at 116, Centum's decisions need no further justification. They bought the 22% equity block at 418 Million and generated 1.2 Billion in dividend and disposal proceeds.
Kila kitu na bei yake lakini, especially in a bear