Power usage: someone, Help.
#11 Posted : Wednesday, October 19, 2011 3:45:32 PM

wanyuru wrote:
Maybe that neighbour is stealing your stima
Laughing out loudly it could be

ama those guy who nyonga stima the way matatu guys do to speed governors.

BTW i also agree with the token thing. if you buy for high amounts, you get less unitsSad Sad Bought for 27.3units @ 500 bob sometimes back. jana i decided to top up with 700 bob and i got 29 units????d'oh!

Guys it's very important to understand how your power bill is worked, guys should read the brochure provided when the prepaid meter gets installed:

1. You pay 120/= standing charge everymonth
2. You pay 2/= a unit for the 1st 50 units.
3. You pay kes 8.10 for the next upto 1500/=
4. After that you pay 18.57 per unit.

If you take these into consideration then no two tokens can be compaared directly...eg when you bought for 700/= maybe you were charged the 120/= or you were now on the next bracket...or both!!!
danas10
#12 Posted : Wednesday, October 19, 2011 3:53:50 PM

wanyuru wrote:
Maybe that neighbour is stealing your stima
Laughing out loudly it could be

ama those guy who nyonga stima the way matatu guys do to speed governors.

BTW i also agree with the token thing. if you buy for high amounts, you get less unitsSad Sad Bought for 27.3units @ 500 bob sometimes back. jana i decided to top up with 700 bob and i got 29 units????d'oh!

Guys it's very important to understand how your power bill is worked, guys should read the brochure provided when the prepaid meter gets installed:

1. You pay 120/= standing charge everymonth
2. You pay 2/= a unit for the 1st 50 units.
3. You pay kes 8.10 for the next upto 1500/=
4. After that you pay 18.57 per unit.

If you take these into consideration then no two tokens can be compaared directly...eg when you bought for 700/= maybe you were charged the 120/= or you were now on the next bracket...or both!!!

it's now 137 Sad
specky
#13 Posted : Wednesday, October 19, 2011 5:34:10 PM

@ macreggae ,so do we agree that the lesser units you buy the cheaper it is?
grolut
#14 Posted : Wednesday, October 19, 2011 8:36:01 PM

I buy at 500/- a week and do this 4 times. Most of the time I get between 25-28 units although I once got 45 (it still only lasted a week though).
In a place where thought is abandoned, freedom can become a curse.
ali
#15 Posted : Thursday, October 20, 2011 11:21:33 AM

Not all of us have prepaid. I'm in the old postpay system. No one seems to know if the 'power saver gadget' sold in far east are effective? I also think i shoulg get a new fridge, mine i think is like 30yrs old. The huge ones...could it be the problem?
For in him (Jesus) we live and move and have our being-Acts 17:28
For Sport
#16 Posted : Thursday, October 20, 2011 12:27:08 PM

specky wrote:
@ macreggae ,so do we agree that the lesser units you buy the cheaper it is?

"The higher the amount of money used to purchase the units, the more expensive a unit costs. This is because it is charged at commercial rates instead of private or home user."
Prepaid Electricity meters test the patience of consumers
#17 Posted : Thursday, October 20, 2011 2:43:26 PM

danas10 wrote:
specky wrote:
@ali.....lucky you,i pay the same amount na sina water pump,na hot showers,i just have a fridge and the electric kettle and the normal lighting kwanza na bulb za energy saver ,am i also missing something....hata mimi naomba usaidizi

1. Do you leave sockets on even when say TV, radio etc are off?
2. Do you put on all the lights in the house (including the toilet) because you are afraid of the dark?
3. Do you switch on your TV and radio at the same time plus others gadgets i don't know
4. Do you keep opening your fridge door just to see what you have stored, even when its not necessary etc etc

the list can go on and on but really, its some small small things that one would think they don't contribute to that bill. Don't expect to be told big things like "fuel at shell" smile

You want to tell us that if I leave the socket on while the TV is off there is significant power consumption? Wacha mchezo, the last time I checked, "Stand-by Power" for most gadgets is in the order of milliwatts... leave it that way for a month and it consumes less than one unit!
rryz
#18 Posted : Thursday, October 20, 2011 5:25:37 PM

ali wrote:
If someone can help me with real tactics, means, ways to manage power bills, i'd say thank you here on earth and even before the terrestial beings. My neighbour pays 2500, i always pay double that. Now, see this: family size: his is bigger than mine. Usages: we have same. Eg showers, water pumps, normal lighting, fridge,etc. What i'm i missing? Anyone with solution to this?
a water pump & bill is only 2500? It doesn't add up, could be your neighbor's tampered with his meter? You could have your meter checked to just confirm it is not faulty and the readings reflect your consumption. Also the older version of most electric equipments consume more power than their modern counterparts.
#19 Posted : Thursday, October 20, 2011 11:39:39 PM

i reduced my bills by half by removing one appliance...the electric kettle. instant showers also use lots of electricity. also confirm ur meter is not faulty...apparently according to todays dn some are.
Lucid_Iam
#20 Posted : Friday, October 21, 2011 9:33:22 AM

Water pumps also don't consume alot of power. Ratings are around 300W which means it will take roughly 3.3hrs to consume 1 unit of power which by then will have pumped a lot of water.
Culprits to watch out for are heating elements (hot shower, electric cooker/kettle, Ironboxes etc most have ratings of upto 4000W).