wazua Fri, Jan 10, 2025

284 Pages«<4849505152>»
How to tell NSE has bottomed out
#981 Posted : Monday, October 17, 2011 10:51:14 PM

CfC Stanbic hires former Wall Street executive in hunt for deals. I wonder how much they are paying him...
http://www.businessdaily...4/-/48c59fz/-/index.html
Cde Monomotapa
#982 Posted : Monday, October 17, 2011 11:03:55 PM

[quote=youcan'tstopusnow]CfC Stanbic hires former Wall Street executive in hunt for deals. I wonder how much they are paying him...
http://www.businessdaily.../-/48c59fz/-/index.html[/quote]
Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly kweli Africa is the emerging destination and source of global business and employment. SSA...where the Super Boom & Super Bust will occur off a stiff cocktail of African, Western & Eastern capital smile
stocksmaster
#983 Posted : Monday, October 17, 2011 11:08:58 PM

guru267 wrote:
Agriculturals - I wouldn't buy. Everyone is buying, returns going fwd will be minimal esp if dollar falls.

@sparkly last years earnings for tea companies were based on lower tea prices and a USD/Kshs of 85... In this current scenario I do not see the rate going anywhere near that level any time soon...

and as for tea prices they will not stop rising for the forseeable future.. So profits for these babies are going to be insane..

The old perception of some of these agricultural companies should be withdrawn as I believe they have learnt from past mistakes.. eg now they are using dams, and. they got HUGE cash reserves..

I project a full year EPS of 120 on williamson tea and im still observing the others...

I share a similar view.....this year (and i believe next year), tea companies will return super normal profits. Taking into consideration the huge cash reserves some are sitting on, i expect the dividend yield to be in excess of 10% for the likes of Williamson Tea based on the current prices.

Happy hunting.
hisah
#984 Posted : Tuesday, October 18, 2011 7:09:02 AM

Apart from agri stocks, coop bank has been ranging at 13.80 - 14.50 for 3 mths. Silent accumulation. Same to mpesa btwn 2.80 - 3.10.
KPLC - Something interesting when at sub 17, volume pops up again. Testing for supply for a 2nd time at the current levels.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
FUNKY
#985 Posted : Tuesday, October 18, 2011 8:44:21 AM

the deal
#986 Posted : Tuesday, October 18, 2011 9:00:36 AM

Some of us never buy the hype...i go for value...there are many hidden gems at the NSE at the moment!
cnn
#987 Posted : Tuesday, October 18, 2011 9:28:18 AM

FUNKY wrote:
http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/Weakening+shilling+lifts+agricultural+stocks+/-/539552/1256688/-/of3alw/-/index.html

I have to agree with guy from Apex IB who was on KTN news last night pushing for the Agricultural companies to re-value their land holdings which they have held at historical cost despite the sharp rise in land prices.He also had the case for more of the tightly held holdings by foreign anchor shareholders to be sold to locals as a return to the country where they are making their billions and a share split to ease trading of the same.
Required also is shareholder activism to push for higher dividend pay outs as happens in the west.
Agriculturals at this point hold great value,and i will gladly add to my WTK holdings.
Aguytrying
#988 Posted : Tuesday, October 18, 2011 9:32:19 AM

cnn wrote:
FUNKY wrote:
http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/Weakening+shilling+lifts+agricultural+stocks+/-/539552/1256688/-/of3alw/-/index.html

I have to agree with guy from Apex IB who was on KTN news last night pushing for the Agricultural companies to re-value their land holdings which they have held at historical cost despite the sharp rise in land prices.He also had the case for more of the tightly held holdings by foreign anchor shareholders to be sold to locals as a return to the country where they are making their billions and a share split to ease trading of the same.
Required also is shareholder activism to push for higher dividend pay outs as happens in the west.
Agriculturals at this point hold great value,and i will gladly add to my WTK holdings.

With time. I've come to recognize your picks are good.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
hisah
#989 Posted : Wednesday, October 19, 2011 5:25:47 PM

The volume today on MPESA looks like a shakedown... Supply test is coming. By month end we'll see if the 2.90 guard-rail lets go...

AK - still trying to find landing group. Same as KCB, NBK, KQ and Total - capitulation has squeezed hard on these stocks.

CFCI - Will soon break below 8.80 then back to 6/-

SCBK - Mr Market wants to test the rights price.

Eqty - The bounce continues, but 20 still remain a tough barrier.

Scangroup too looks set to print new 2011 lows heading towards 30.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
trizher
#990 Posted : Wednesday, October 19, 2011 5:34:03 PM

...We do it for the $$$$!!
hisah
#991 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2011 1:11:50 PM

hisah wrote:
@Qw - For KCB 19.50 is an uptrend breaking point since 2009. Remember when I mentioned the same last year when MSC broke below 13.60... Uptrend breaks are usually very nasty esp in a bear market & prices get ridiculous to say the least. You might see 15/- which showed up in 2009...

Aug 24 2011 - And KCB did breakdown 15/-
hisah
#992 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2011 1:19:49 PM

hisah wrote:

@youcant - this is what I see at the moment based on 5yr chart analysis.

KCB - Testing the uptrend line since March 2009. A break below and close below 19.50 will mean an end to the uptrend and aim for 18 as the first support before settling at 16.50.

MSC - No longer in an uptrend still testing layers of support levels. Support zone is 5.50 - 6.00. Below this is back to 2009 March lows at 3.60. There was a lot of churn volume between May 2010 and Aug 2010 and since then the uptrend has broken down. That volume was exit volume. This one will take time to turn around.

Centum - high volume churn on 27/7/2011. 17.80 tested and bounced, but the structure is bearish and 21 is now resistance. Should settle at 16/- in coming months.

Sasini - Uptrend since March 2009 lows broken down in March 2011. Tested underside of uptrend and rallied above in May 2011, but failed to maintain above uptrend and now below again since July 2011. It looks like it wants to attempt another upthrust above the trend line now at 11.30. A test and failure to go above it just like in May 2011 will see it fall to 8.50. The next support comes in at 6.80 - 7.10 levels. From the look of things this is the likely out come - 7bob in coming months.

KCB and Centum exceeded sell targets! Sasini did the opposite after the real estate announcement and turned bullish.
Aguytrying
#993 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2011 4:12:28 PM

@hisah. Uko juu tu sana. What would you say of kenol kobil, after its refusal to break down 9.50-10.00. For so long. Has it developed a new resistance point. Also factoring in the take over target talk by the ceo and all the good feel about the stock.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
QW25081985
#994 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2011 4:34:50 PM

Aguytrying wrote:
@hisah. Uko juu tu sana. What would you say of kenol kobil, after its refusal to break down 9.50-10.00. For so long. Has it developed a new resistance point. Also factoring in the take over target talk by the ceo and all the good feel about the stock.

u mean support area ...Yep i would think so..
Aguytrying
#995 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2011 5:29:32 PM

QW25081985 wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:

u mean support area ...Yep i would think so..

Yes i meant support. Resistance is the opposite. The demand from 9.50 to 9.80 is strong and keeps coming back, even after the massive sells that come from time to time.
#996 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2011 5:47:41 PM

QW, does that mean you are now buying and have stopped calling for 8 bob?smile

hisah, yeah, those agrics have been on a mad mad rally. WTK and KAPCH are on a roll. Has supply started to creep up on WTK? Was up 9.8p.c at one time today but ended up 5.71% These 2 are rallying because of the sale of the headquarters (and the promise of extra fat dividends) I think Sasini only announced an intention to change 'use of land' Will the price explode once they get down to real development?

KCB has been battered. Could the results be that terrible? Does a (massive) increase in their base rate bode well?
Equity put in respectable figures today. But nothing like the massive figures we saw at Q1. Maybe we will see them end their year at 35%-40% growth. I want the price lower...

Have Centum bonus shares started trading? Their half year is already up.
QW25081985
#997 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2011 6:04:46 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

hisah, yeah, those agrics have been on a mad mad rally. WTK and KAPCH are on a roll. Has supply started to creep up on WTK? Was up 9.8p.c at one time today but ended up 5.71% These 2 are rallying because of the sale of the headquarters (and the promise of extra fat dividends) I think Sasini only announced an intention to change 'use of land' Will the price explode once they get down to real development?

KCB has been battered. Could the results be that terrible? Does a (massive) increase in their base rate bode well?
Equity put in respectable figures today. But nothing like the massive figures we saw at Q1. Maybe we will see them end their year at 35%-40% growth. I want the price lower...

wweweew !!! hold there . we compare Q3 with previous Q3 ...lol .and equity has done exceptionally well.If it fall to 17 bob again thats a steal if you ask me.. as for kcb am also worried..
There has been huge selling by foreigner ( these guys are serious)as we run up to results . that aint good..
As for ak . wacha tu...i have tried to explain my strategy lakini wapi..hiyo tu wacha nijiweke.. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly smile
#998 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2011 6:50:02 PM

QW, still no doubt things are not as rosy as the beginning, as James Mwangi alluded to. ROE thought went up past the 30% mark
ROA slightly down, which he mainly attributed to the rapid rise in assets
hisah
#999 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2011 9:46:28 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

And it shot up from 10s to 13, then fell back to 12 for a reload, and now testing 14. Breaking it aims 16. Now imagine your query being confirmed!

@guru says WTK land is not a 'beauty', but with dubai built in the sand, anything is possible when the hot money lands here smile And when those agri firms revalue their land, you might see a serious parabolic; EAGAAD's fake-out rally will look like a dwarf...

@Aguy - I'm not convinced with KK despite the fact that it's ranging at 9.50 - 9.90. The June exit volume at 12 still stands in the way. Money was made then. This is why I prefer a rotation to Total than KK. Total has announced all its bad onions and speculators are now capitulated. If there are any signs of biz recovery, I'd rather this extremely oversold oil stock than KK. Please note, I'm not thinking like a long term investor, but as a trader. Just study global oil stocks behavior. BP is a good example when had that nasty oil spill. Total could bounce 50% more easily than KK rallying on the same measure.
QW25081985
#1000 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2011 9:59:34 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
QW, still no doubt things are not as rosy as the beginning, as James Mwangi alluded to. ROE thought went up past the 30% mark
ROA slightly down, which he mainly attributed to the rapid rise in assets

aiiish . lol you are so negative on the results and the way they were quite good i am starting to think they were cooked..Here's a low down on the most important stuff..eps ,loans. etc etc etc courtesy s.i.b bank.

" Equity bank group announced its 3Q11 results with after tax profits climbing 42% y/y to KES 7.3bn. Interest income from loans and advances grew 34%y/y(14% q/q) as the loan book expanded to KES 109bn, up 54%y/y. Interest on customer deposits surged 30% supported by a 50% growth in customer deposits to KES 144bn. Consequently, net interest income jumped 32%y/y to KES 11bn. Non funded income, representing 46% of the group’s total income, notched up 15% y/y. Total operating income and total operating expenses grew by 24% and 14% respectively. Cost to income ratio stood at 56%, down from 61% in 3Q10. Total Assets rose 43% y/y to KES 195bn. At an annualized EPS of KES 2.63, the bank trades at a PE of 7.24x and a PB of 2.37x. "