wazua Fri, Jan 31, 2025

DIESEL TREE
Manmbao
#1 Posted : Tuesday, April 07, 2009 12:04:00 PM

There is this tree i saw on K24,its seed are used to produce diesel. Anybody with information on this. Availability,marketing etc.

Your greatest glory is not in never failing,but in rising every time you fail.
Persistence means taking pains to overcome every obstacle,to do all that's necessary to reach your goal.
motta
#2 Posted : Tuesday, April 07, 2009 1:31:00 PM

Its called Jeotropha & produces bio-diesel.Its being grown in lamu & kwale(shimba hills area) where Energy africa ltd signed contracts with farmers 3yrs ago.

mpango iko,tena sana!
"La historia me absolvera"Fidel Castro
Manmbao
#3 Posted : Tuesday, April 07, 2009 2:17:00 PM

Does it have a ready market and how much land is needed for it to be viable?

Persistence means taking pains to overcome every obstacle,to do all that's necessary to reach your goal.
Feish
#4 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2009 3:34:00 PM

a friend of mine in nyandarua has 20 ha of it already. Bought diesel extractor in india for 2000usd. Doing it in his farm and know what? gava does not tax the bizina coz the guy said its trial basis. on a different thread had talked about planting of the same.

life is an endless adventure
Manmbao
#5 Posted : Thursday, April 09, 2009 8:54:00 AM

Can you post the link to that thread here please

Plentyresources
#6 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2009 1:20:00 PM

HI All
All Biodiesel Production Compared to cooking oil production is a waste of time.

Diesel
every four Kg of unshelled seeds produces one Ltr.
The waste products are useless unless used as fuel.
the average cost of crude oil is 55/=

sunflower
every three Kgs of seeds produces one ltr.
the waste is animal feeds.
the average cost of crude sunflower oil is 160/=

Talk to me and see the demonstration of both production.

Plenty Resources.
Nairobi

Some Change - you can Buy-soda-with
#7 Posted : Thursday, April 30, 2009 5:12:00 AM

@plentyresources would you post here the the demonstration of both production?

This will benefit all sk-ians.

AKS
pauloti
#8 Posted : Thursday, April 30, 2009 11:16:00 AM

i have tried crushing jatropha,and trust me the business is not feasible with the current fuel prices. jatropha takes too long to mature - about 3 years,its messy to process (heavy wear and tear on machinery),expensive to buy and you cant sell any of the by products because they are toxic. i also tried sunflower but its too expensive to process for diesel,so its better to sell it as cooking oil. i am now crushing cotton seed,from which i get oil for bio diesel and cake which i sell as animal feed. i use the revenue from the cake to help subsidize my cost for oil / diesel. some people also buy my oil for cooking,especially the lower income category.
Plentyresources
#9 Posted : Monday, May 04, 2009 5:01:00 AM

Hi
Sunflower oil production is better since the plant can be grown within 4 months,it requires very little care and rain. with high breed seeds,you can increase the oil to waste Ratio.

someone intrested can do contractual fariming with farmers where you give them seeds and they sell you the seeds at an agreed fee.

i have alot of information about the oil production. I have gone to ug where farmers dedicate their farms for sunflower production. you waste nothing. sunflower seedcake is animal feed,the dirty oil is good for soap/bio diesel production.

Am planning to expand my business before the next season. i have a one tone a day oil mill. i need to buy a four tone a day. If you need the small one talk to me.

pauloti- where do i get cotton seeds in large quantity?
How much do i pay? please use franckenyan@yahoo.com to reply.

when you say that the low income people use the cotton seed oil,you are very wrong. whenever you buy oil written vegetable oil,you are taking any available oil - cotton seeds,coconut oil,psalm,sesame among others. some are written double refined???.

Good Day all

pauloti
#10 Posted : Wednesday, May 06, 2009 1:00:00 PM

@plentyresources. the cotton seed is available from cotton ginnerys. i buy from a ginnery in kitui nd kisumu who have stocks all year round nd can deliver to me. the other ginnerys have it sometimes whenever they operate bt do not deliver. my machines broke down last month so i hav not bought since march bt the last price i bought it for was kshs 18 per kilo delivered. i dint get wht u said abt the oil. my machine is near a slum nd most of the people staying there come nd buy my oil for cooking. i dont sell it in fixed quantities. i sell it loose,they bring container nd i fill whatever they want. there is a paint company tht buys my oil also,bt they take too long to pay so i prefer selling in retail. i have not made bio diesel for last 2 months becoz there is better demand for cooking oil. bt u cud do tht. the cake goes very fast. i have buyers who come from central who buy for they cows nd also one animal feeds man buys from me. payment for cake is good becoz it cash terms. i bought my machines in 2006 from china nd have repayed it now so am happy. plz give workings for sun flower. i want to try it but the prices are very high. someone wanted to sell me for 45/- for kg.
Plentyresources
#11 Posted : Thursday, May 07, 2009 2:07:00 PM

HI pauloti

Sunflower seeds are available at 13/= to 26/= fro farm- you can only get it from jan to march in kenya webuye area. transportation cost is yours.

For now you get it from ug at 600 ugshs transportation is yours.

kindly send me the contacts for the kitui or kisumu ginerry via email franckenyan@yahoo.com.

i have started a contractual farming wthin kiambuu area and will be able to supply you with sunflower anytime after kitu six months.

cheo.

Plenty

#12 Posted : Friday, April 15, 2011 2:44:49 PM

motta wrote:
Its called Jeotropha & produces bio-diesel.Its being grown in lamu & kwale(shimba hills area) where Energy africa ltd signed contracts with farmers 3yrs ago.

mpango iko,tena sana!

This would have been the solution to fuel prices but a friend told me that it is just a fraud.

You plant a tree wait for 4 years and get just a few seeds
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
vestor
#13 Posted : Thursday, April 21, 2011 9:20:29 PM

@ Pauloti, I am based in Nairobi, how much do you sell the cake for animal feed? Are you around Nairobi?

Any one who knows where I can also get sesame cake and the price, kindly let me know
franckenyan
#14 Posted : Thursday, April 28, 2011 8:56:15 PM

Hi all

Diodiesel is the only solution we are left with now that Oil from far away (Gadafi)Via Somalia - (Indian Ocean's Mungiki)

the only shortcumming is the availability of raw Material in plenty - goetropha , croton, etc

The secret is in coconut oil. its plenty and not seasonal - I saw this Proverb behind an old truck - Usitharau Madafu maembe ni ya msimu.

Having done all the calculation ie 10 cocnuts = 1 kg coconut Oil - Who can tell me the wholesale price of a medium sized coconut "at farm" Price?
i am willing to take estimates

Am still looking for cotton seeds - whose got the prices

@vector - I have avocado cake - you can actualy get a sample talk to me about the price ie
franckenyan@yahoo Dot com

I am plentyResource - unable to log in as plenttyresource - Anyway that is anther days story

HAve a cheap trip home AMa!!!!!!

Burning Spear
#15 Posted : Friday, April 29, 2011 2:51:01 PM

motta wrote:

mpango iko,tena sana!

hii mti inaitwa mubariki in kikuyu and grows well in semi arid areas ie does not require much rain.
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
bendi3
#16 Posted : Friday, April 29, 2011 3:57:33 PM

franckenyan wrote:
Hi all

The secret is in coconut oil. its plenty and not seasonal - I saw this Proverb behind an old truck - Usitharau Madafu maembe ni ya msimu.

Having done all the calculation ie 10 cocnuts = 1 kg coconut Oil - Who can tell me the wholesale price of a medium sized coconut "at farm" Price?
i am willing to take estimates

@franckenyan,
If you need coconuts in wholesale drop me a line at bensoh(at)hotmail(dot)co(dot)uk.You never know you might just find what you are looking for.
The early worm, is the one caught by the early bird.........
Alo
#17 Posted : Thursday, May 05, 2011 3:14:41 PM

@ Franckenya i can also get you coconut. Contact me at wawushrich@gmail.com we talk.
"A woman's heart should be so hidden in Christ that a man should have to seek Him first to find her."