wazua Mon, Sep 22, 2025

Nairobi Stock Exchange changes name to ...
mwekez@ji
#1 Posted : Tuesday, October 11, 2011 11:04:08 PM

mwekez@ji
#2 Posted : Tuesday, October 11, 2011 11:37:51 PM

A move in the right direction. Bulls and bears will soon have more channels to make money
Nabwire
#3 Posted : Tuesday, October 11, 2011 11:39:16 PM

Wouldnt it make more sense to add different exchanges than simply changing the name? It would go a long way if the NSE grouped companies according to market capitalization (Dow 30), up and coming tech companies (Nasdaq) and mercantile exchanges like the NYMEX. But then again, NSE is a young exchange with alot of room for growth.
QW25081985
#4 Posted : Wednesday, October 12, 2011 12:04:44 AM

and with all these so called changes they cannot introduce short selling ....kwani what are they thinking ??????????????????????????????? bure kabisa...
Cde Monomotapa
#5 Posted : Wednesday, October 12, 2011 4:49:21 AM

QW25081985 wrote:
and with all these so called changes they cannot introduce short selling ....kwani what are they thinking ??????????????????????????????? bure kabisa...

Kuwa mpole mzeia. Let's be firmly on the road to the super SSA econ.bubble. Then we can intro shorts. smile
Cde Monomotapa
#6 Posted : Wednesday, October 12, 2011 4:57:13 AM

I have finally got it!! So this why the mkt has been falling Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly guys have been dumping their NSE stocks to move to the NSE Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#7 Posted : Wednesday, October 12, 2011 9:59:05 AM

Nabwire wrote:
Wouldnt it make more sense to add different exchanges than simply changing the name? It would go a long way if the NSE grouped companies according to market capitalization (Dow 30), up and coming tech companies (Nasdaq) and mercantile exchanges like the NYMEX. But then again, NSE is a young exchange with alot of room for growth.

@Nabwire do you mind if I school you a little..

The dow jones 30, the NAsdaq etc are all indices under the New York Stock Exchange.. They are not individual exchanges..

As our market grows though we do need more indices
babadila
#8 Posted : Wednesday, October 12, 2011 10:08:45 AM

As they say a thousand miles start with a step. Let us view this a a window for new opportunities and better investments to come.
Cde Monomotapa
#9 Posted : Wednesday, October 12, 2011 10:57:24 AM

guru267 wrote:
Nabwire wrote:

The dow jones 30, the NAsdaq etc are all indices under the New York Stock Exchange.. They are not individual exchanges..

WEWE! @guru! nkt!
sumuni
#10 Posted : Wednesday, October 12, 2011 11:43:18 AM

guru267 wrote:
Nabwire wrote:

misinformation! NYSE major indices include, the Dow Jones industrial average, NYSE composite and S&P 500. NasDaq is a separate stock exchange also based in New York city.
It is a curious fact that of all the illusions that beset mankind, none is quite as curious as that tendency to suppose that we are mentally and morally superior to those who differ from us in opinion.
Aguytrying
#11 Posted : Wednesday, October 12, 2011 12:00:07 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
I have finally got it!! So this why the mkt has been falling Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly guys have been dumping their NSE stocks to move to the NSE Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

ha ha. btw why are foreigners dropping our beloved KCB like a hot potato. Soon to hit 15.00 territory
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
QW25081985
#12 Posted : Wednesday, October 12, 2011 12:10:29 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Cde Monomotapa
#13 Posted : Wednesday, October 12, 2011 5:47:03 PM

Aguytrying wrote:
Cde Monomotapa wrote:

ha ha. btw why are foreigners dropping our beloved KCB like a hot potato. Soon to hit 15.00 territory

Coz they are broke at home. They'll be back and this time for a very long time when they discover frontier economies are way less risky than their developed(shrinking) economies.
Nabwire
#14 Posted : Wednesday, October 12, 2011 10:51:51 PM

guru267 wrote:
Nabwire wrote:

Thanks for the correction, though I was more interested in NSE expanding, whether through more indices or more exchanges. I think grouping companies according to market cap or whether they are small to mid size upcoming companies, will create a more informed investor base. Though NYSE is the major exchange, there is the Chicago, Philadelphia & Cincinatti stock exchanges, maybe in the future we can have stock exchanges in different cities than just Nairobi. I think Sumuni gave a clear summary.
#15 Posted : Thursday, October 13, 2011 7:15:33 AM

Nabwire wrote:
Though NYSE is the major exchange, there is the Chicago, Philadelphia & Cincinatti stock exchanges, maybe in the future we can have stock exchanges in different cities than just Nairobi. I think Sumuni gave a clear summary.

I dont think there is room in our small market for other exchanges..

Just look at SA.. They are pretty happy with having only the JSE and yer they have new listings practically every month..