Culture
celebrate them when alive
What has he done? This man! I will never forgive moi. I cry every time i watch him. For in him (Jesus) we live and move and have our being-Acts 17:28
We should celebrate members of the public that brought change to the country and not shed crocodile tears when some one is no more yet we did nothing when they were alive. African parents don't know how to say sorry.. the closest you will get to a sorry is a 'have you eaten'
ali wrote:What has he done? This man! I will never forgive moi. I cry every time i watch him. I thought that instead of waiting our heroes to die and then start celebrating their lives, we should acknowledge them when alive. I celebrate stanley njindo matiba today. @sober, name your hero.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/3/2010 Posts: 1,141 Location: Londokwe
These are my living heros: 1.Martin Shikuku--(Leading from the front and not too tempted by greed). 2.Mzee Ojwang (he gives me the medicine of life -laughter). 3.Kenneth Matiba (second liberation). 4.Michael Joseph (for bringing MPesa to Londokwe) 5.My wife. 6.My father. I will add to the list polepole when I remember more 2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/18/2008 Posts: 3,434 Location: Kerugoya
I dedicate this post to the Ladies and Gentlemen who put together the Virtual Republic of Wazua and the earlier sensation that was Stocks Kenya. Who ever you are, I salute you. I, Aemathenge Mahe-Goat, celebrate you and your creation while you are alive.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/13/2009 Posts: 1,950 Location: in kenya
RAILA,Orengo,Rev.Njoya,Anyang Nyong, and all political prisoners who were pain in the behind of the Moi Gov. Ndingi Mwana Nzeki John Githongo 'Ojwang' na 'mama kayai' the living comic kenyan legends. '......to the acknowledgment of the mystery of God, and of the Father, and of Christ; 3 In whom are hid all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.' Colossians 2:2-3
My 93 year old grandma (Wa Gathige).......lots of things have changed over time but not her ever beautiful and neat self.I thank God for her good health.She has outlived many of her generation,she still walks straight,wakes up and is already patroling her crops by 6,cooks the best mukimo and now she is a great great grandma and doesn't seem to let go.She brings tears to my eyes whenever we chat on phone,she brings laughter to her great,great great grand and grand children who always want to be around her,She inspires.She encourages.She never gets angry.She never quits.She is a great teacher.She is prayful and never fails to remember each of her off-springs in her morning prayers...She blesses.She is truly a gift from above.....I celebrate her life. Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Njung'e wrote:My 93 year old grandma (Wa Gathige).......lots of things have changed over time but not her ever beautiful and neat self.I thank God for her good health.She has outlived many of her generation,she still walks straight,wakes up and is already patroling her crops by 6,cooks the best mukimo and now she is a great great grandma and doesn't seem to let go.She brings tears to my eyes whenever we chat on phone,she brings laughter to her great,great great grand and grand children who always want to be around her,She inspires.She encourages.She never gets angry.She never quits.She is a great teacher.She is prayful and never fails to remember each of her off-springs in her morning prayers...She blesses.She is truly a gift from above.....I celebrate her life. I could I forget my grandmother (90year old) She is a living gem.She woke me up every morning for 6 years(from class 3-class 8) when I was in primary school.she was my alarm , I couldn't wake up until I heard her calling me. She prepared my packet lunch in the early cold mornings.she took me to hospital when I became sick.She protected me from village bullies.She took the responsibilities of my late mum when mum passed on at my early age. Thank God for He didn't disappoint her.I came among top 4 and proceeded to a good high school where I also came among top. Grandmum , you are my hero 2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
Rank: Member Joined: 7/17/2008 Posts: 478 Location: Old Trafford
Njung'e wrote:My 93 year old grandma (Wa Gathige).......lots of things have changed over time but not her ever beautiful and neat self.I thank God for her good health.She has outlived many of her generation,she still walks straight,wakes up and is already patroling her crops by 6,cooks the best mukimo and now she is a great great grandma and doesn't seem to let go.She brings tears to my eyes whenever we chat on phone,she brings laughter to her great,great great grand and grand children who always want to be around her,She inspires.She encourages.She never gets angry.She never quits.She is a great teacher.She is prayful and never fails to remember each of her off-springs in her morning prayers...She blesses.She is truly a gift from above.....I celebrate her life. Beautiful & very touching. I trust you tell her all these? It it were a song, it would give cucu wa gakunga huge competition!
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/31/2008 Posts: 7,081 Location: Kenya
ali wrote:What has he done? This man! I will never forgive moi. I cry every time i watch him. ...Wish somebody could squeeze Moi's BALLS kidogo just for him to get a feel of what so many people went through.
I agree we should honour our heroes while they are alive. But it would bring lots of issues and we would never agree with each other about the listing of our heroes. For instance in the case of Raila, the fight for the second liberation may be clouded by his admission of complicity in the '82 coup, the 2007 violence and dining with Moi between 1998-2002. It can also be said he was doing so for selfish political gain!(Same for Matiba here) I bet Orengo would easily make it into the list. But I don't get it why Nyong'o would be in it and not Mukhisa, Muite, Gibson K Kuria or Sheikh Balala. Being in jail should not automatically make one a hero! BTW was Nyong'o ever ever detained? Njoya was never jailed. But he comes out as a man with a passion for the cause he fought for so hard. Unlike some of his comrades who joined politics on the platform of their fighting for rights record, he stayed in his old church job till retirement. Also, let us look beyond politics...there are great people in other fields as well.
@Bree, I do especially when she is down.It's my auntie who always say,"Do you know every time you chat on phone or pay her a visit she gets younger by a year?....I don't know how true that is,but who doesn't like being appreciated and loved?....I know she does and from many years,she has a naughty nickname for me known to very few...haha! Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
'user' wrote:Njung'e wrote:My 93 year old grandma (Wa Gathige).......lots of things have changed over time but not her ever beautiful and neat self.I thank God for her good health.She has outlived many of her generation,she still walks straight,wakes up and is already patroling her crops by 6,cooks the best mukimo and now she is a great great grandma and doesn't seem to let go.She brings tears to my eyes whenever we chat on phone,she brings laughter to her great,great great grand and grand children who always want to be around her,She inspires.She encourages.She never gets angry.She never quits.She is a great teacher.She is prayful and never fails to remember each of her off-springs in her morning prayers...She blesses.She is truly a gift from above.....I celebrate her life. I could I forget my grandmother (90year old) She is a living gem.She woke me up every morning for 6 years(from class 3-class 8) when I was in primary school.she was my alarm , I couldn't wake up until I heard her calling me. She prepared my packet lunch in the early cold mornings.she took me to hospital when I became sick.She protected me from village bullies.She took the responsibilities of my late mum when mum passed on at my early age. Thank God for He didn't disappoint her.I came among top 4 and proceeded to a good high school where I also came among top. Grandmum , you are my hero looks like maboyz wa shushu tuko kadhaa hapa. she remains the most hardworking person I know. always doing more with less, inspiring, and lively. she was there to provide while I was growing up. waking me up , early each day and prepare me for school. by night, I used a lot of her paraffin as I did my studies....and I watched her smile on graduation day, and knew she was proud of my achievements. God grant you more days shush. posthumously, I have not forgotten my first day in nursery school, when grandpa, holding me by hand walked me to that class. even though he is gone, the feel of his hand on that day, I still reminsce. rip grandpa.
Mwende she brought so much vigor,vocabulary and raw emotions to wazua.. sadly i think she passed away or was consumed by her raw energy..
chemos wrote:Mwende
she brought so much vigor,vocabulary and raw emotions to wazua.. sadly i think she passed away or was consumed by her raw energy.. Oooh no ,Magigi knows where Mwende is .She is live and kicking. 2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
Culture
celebrate them when alive