wazua Wed, May 6, 2026

Public transport in Kenya: what we need do.
Ondiek
#11 Posted : Sunday, October 09, 2011 10:35:03 PM

I am a very responsible driver but also aware of the fact that we have one or two lunatics on the road. It is all an individual responsibility to bring sanity to the road.
#12 Posted : Sunday, October 09, 2011 11:52:20 PM

This Michuki-only solution is dangerous. So we are reliant on one man to solve all our transport issues? I agree with kratos, we have serious issues with individual discipline that need sorting out.
ali
#13 Posted : Monday, October 10, 2011 5:46:48 AM

In kibaki's gvt, michuki, Ruto, karisa maitha, mukhisa kituyi, abdikadir mohamed are go getters who do wonders where they go. One of them would be enough. Kimunya, he did well in finance bt i'm not sure he is multifaceted to handle transport's many faces and demands.
For in him (Jesus) we live and move and have our being-Acts 17:28
alustaadh
#14 Posted : Monday, October 10, 2011 8:34:55 AM

no one has mentioned behavioural change via training, making it diffucult to acquire PSV driving license by introduction of several competency based hurdles.
It is humiliating to be associated with thieves and murderers.
Etwani
#15 Posted : Monday, October 10, 2011 11:28:37 AM

@ali, here is my peni mbili worth,

1. NCC has sole rights to control transport within Nairobi. This license was issued solely to Kenya Bus but matatus were allowed in by presidential decree (Kenyatta). This decree has never been overturned.

2. NCC should auction licenses (2 or 3) for rapid transportation within Nairobi. Ma3's can participate as consortia but must fulfill stringent conditions. If you have good decent public transport, Kenyans will leave their vehicles at home.

3. NCC should remove traffic cops from city roads. Let NCC deal with lawbreakers - they are more ruthless.

4. As for continued deaths on our roads, standardised buses should be introduced and strictly regulated. In Ethiopia you dont just bring in a bus and start biashara. They have only specific buses that meet requirements. Very few accidents there.

5. Lastly MK cannot act because ma3 industry is dominated by - allow me to say this "mlima kenya people". Streamlining it will be perceived as "asante ya punda". But I think although initially people may lose jobs as time goes many jobs will be created if the industry is actually streamlined.
#16 Posted : Monday, October 10, 2011 11:37:43 AM

Etwani wrote:

1. NCC has sole rights to control transport within Nairobi. This license was issued solely to Kenya Bus but matatus were allowed in by presidential decree (Kenyatta). This decree has never been overturned.

2. NCC should auction licenses (2 or 3) for rapid transportation within Nairobi. Ma3's can participate as consortia but must fulfill stringent conditions. If you have good decent public transport, Kenyans will leave their vehicles at home.

3. NCC should remove traffic cops from city roads. Let NCC deal with lawbreakers - they are more ruthless.

4. As for continued deaths on our roads, standardised buses should be introduced and strictly regulated. In Ethiopia you dont just bring in a bus and start biashara. They have only specific buses that meet requirements. Very few accidents there.

5. Lastly MK cannot act because ma3 industry is dominated by - allow me to say this "mlima kenya people". Streamlining it will be perceived as "asante ya punda". But I think although initially people may lose jobs as time goes many jobs will be created if the industry is actually streamlined.

So you mean to say that "mlima kenya people" own all the public transport vehicles going to western, rift, coast,eastern etc? That is a very commendable feat don't you think?

Etwani
#17 Posted : Monday, October 10, 2011 1:35:02 PM

Kratos wrote:
Etwani wrote:

So you mean to say that "mlima kenya people" own all the public transport vehicles going to western, rift, coast,eastern etc? That is a very commendable feat don't you think?

Commendable it may be, but thats besides the point. What measures would you recommend?
#18 Posted : Monday, October 10, 2011 2:05:42 PM

Kibaki has his own version of Mcdoba here.Mention him and you will see fire from one.....Kiraitu

Not michuki only who can streamline the transport industry but anyone who has political will can do it.
Simple law enforcement backed by political will can make this industry very profitable and create more jobs.It will make breaking the law unattractive just like during Michukis stint in the docket .

You break the law and your car is grounded for 6 months . this days its haywire
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
#19 Posted : Monday, October 10, 2011 2:22:32 PM

'user' wrote:
Kibaki has his own version of Mcdoba here.Mention him and you will see fire from one.....Kiraitu

You break the law and your car is grounded for 6 months . this days its haywire

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you I will strangle somebody!!!
ali
#20 Posted : Monday, October 10, 2011 2:26:59 PM

Alalalai! Presidential decree? @ etwani, Honestly, you have taught me a lot in just one post. So, what do we do?
For in him (Jesus) we live and move and have our being-Acts 17:28