wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

HELB REPAYMENT- ADVICE!
brother-ya-nanii
#1 Posted : Wednesday, October 05, 2011 4:31:00 PM

I have been repaying my HELB loan regularly until i had some cash flow problems. I stopped for about six months and HELB has twanga'd me some serious penalties. I would like to resume payment ASAP. My question is: If i repay all the six months as a lump sum payment will i get the penalties waived? Or should i just wait and accumulate the FULL outstanding amount + interest (Next year) and repay as a lumpsum to avoid penalties?

Advice from wazuans please. I want to get back into HELB's good books!

** I have gone through the previous HELB thread but it does not answer this questions in detail
Layman
#2 Posted : Wednesday, October 05, 2011 4:46:45 PM

....have you raised a similar querry with HELB?
#3 Posted : Wednesday, October 05, 2011 4:54:20 PM

Please go and talk to HELB. They tend to listen if you have a story that stacks up. In future be sure to inform them when you are out of work Etc
kibish
#4 Posted : Thursday, October 06, 2011 8:12:54 AM

If you repay the whole principal+interest amount as a lumpsum the whole penalties will be waived . I took myself there couple of days ago, and you just give them your story and a balance as at that day is generated and if u clear it there you get your cert instantly,....
brother-ya-nanii
#5 Posted : Thursday, October 06, 2011 9:54:06 AM

@ Layman...i did. There reply was that penalties will NOT be waived.

@ Robinhood, i informed my accounts supervisor by email a few day after expiry of my contract . They said penalties will continue to be charged since i had already started payment. Infact here is the reply:

Your query has been received with appreciation.

We wish to inform you that as per HELB Act, 1995, once you stop/not servicing the loan, we automatically start levying penalty as explained in the attached PENALTY NOTICE. All other charges remain as per the loan agreement you signed on top of the annual ledger fee of Kshs 1000 that was legislated in 2004.

Further note that loan repayment/penalties, ledger fee cannot be postponed, suspended and or halted on condition of further studies, unemployment, ignorance about repayment among other reasons.

To avoid all these urgently start servicing the loan through any of the attached modes/options of repayment.

Attached find your loan statement as requested.

Thank you

brother-ya-nanii
#6 Posted : Thursday, October 06, 2011 9:58:00 AM

kibish wrote:
If you repay the whole principal+interest amount as a lumpsum the whole penalties will be waived . I took myself there couple of days ago, and you just give them your story and a balance as at that day is generated and if u clear it there you get your cert instantly,....

@Kibish what if i pay for the six months i defaulted as a lumpsum payment and continue paying the rest in installments will they waive the penalties?

Must i pay the whole principal amount (over 200K) as a lumpsum for all the penalties to be waived?
#7 Posted : Thursday, October 06, 2011 12:02:19 PM

brother-ya-nanii wrote:
kibish wrote:

@Kibish what if i pay for the six months i defaulted as a lumpsum payment and continue paying the rest in installments will they waive the penalties?

Must i pay the whole principal amount (over 200K) as a lumpsum for all the penalties to be waived?

The ONLY way not to pay the penalties is to pay the whole principal amount + interests, in one lumpsum payment. PERIOD. Yes, you have to pay the over 200k at once.

Boss, 200k loan?! Kwani you used to get maximum 42k loan + 8k bursary for 5 years? smile
brother-ya-nanii
#8 Posted : Thursday, October 06, 2011 12:14:55 PM

jguru wrote:
brother-ya-nanii wrote:
kibish wrote:

The ONLY way not to pay the penalties is to pay the whole principal amount + interests, in one lumpsum payment. PERIOD. Yes, you have to pay the over 200k at once.

Boss, 200k loan?! Kwani you used to get maximum 42k loan + 8k bursary for 5 years? smile

Ni kubaya! Used to get minimum 35K for five years. My principle is 2OOK plus. Will have to accumulate the whole 200K then. Am not paying those penalties bwana
#9 Posted : Thursday, October 06, 2011 1:57:34 PM

Mine was 42K for five years plus 12.6 fourth term for 3 years: Total principal: more than 247K
Mblue
#10 Posted : Thursday, October 06, 2011 2:15:55 PM

brother-ya-nanii wrote:
@ Layman...i did. There reply was that penalties will NOT be waived.

@ Robinhood, i informed my accounts supervisor by email a few day after expiry of my contract . They said penalties will continue to be charged since i had already started payment. Infact here is the reply:

Your query has been received with appreciation.

We wish to inform you that as per HELB Act, 1995, once you stop/not servicing the loan, we automatically start levying penalty as explained in the attached PENALTY NOTICE. All other charges remain as per the loan agreement you signed on top of the annual ledger fee of Kshs 1000 that was legislated in 2004.

Further note that loan repayment/penalties, ledger fee cannot be postponed, suspended and or halted on condition of further studies, unemployment, ignorance about repayment among other reasons.

To avoid all these urgently start servicing the loan through any of the attached modes/options of repayment.

Attached find your loan statement as requested.

Thank you

Pray

Where will the money come from?
"..one is only poor only if they choose to be.."-Dolly Partron
#11 Posted : Friday, October 07, 2011 9:09:05 AM

Mine was 42K for five years plus 12.6 fourth term for 3 years: Total principal: more than 247K

Umelipa?! Don't be like Isaack Mutoka Shivati. smile
#12 Posted : Friday, October 07, 2011 9:16:24 AM

jguru wrote:

Paid ikareduce to below 200K, changed jobs and forgot about it, now the total plus the penalties is kedo 300K, I have started paying small small, still figuring out how to deal with the penalties!!!!
#13 Posted : Friday, October 07, 2011 10:07:09 AM

Paid mine twice. Got a refund after a very acrimonious exchange..
brother-ya-nanii
#14 Posted : Friday, October 07, 2011 11:44:56 AM

jguru wrote:

Paid ikareduce to below 200K, changed jobs and forgot about it, now the total plus the penalties is kedo 300K, I have started paying small small, still figuring out how to deal with the penalties!!!!

Almost similar situation here. Mine is still above 200K, but i have penalties of about 40K. What if we pay little bits and reduce the PRINCIPLE to say, less than 100K. Then pay off that 100K as a lumpsum...will they waive those penalties?
bartum
#15 Posted : Friday, October 07, 2011 1:43:50 PM

brother-ya-nanii wrote:
jguru wrote:

Almost similar situation here. Mine is still above 200K, but i have penalties of about 40K. What if we pay little bits and reduce the PRINCIPLE to say, less than 100K. Then pay off that 100K as a lumpsum...will they waive those penalties?

@brother ya nini wacha ukora
brother-ya-nanii
#16 Posted : Friday, October 07, 2011 1:47:24 PM

bartum wrote:
brother-ya-nanii wrote:
jguru wrote:

@brother ya nini wacha ukora

Sio ukora @ Batum...at the end of the day is still get to repay all my HELB loan. Maybe even earlier than HELB planned. The point is to get those penalties waived. I have a target to clear it by end of next year.
#17 Posted : Friday, October 07, 2011 3:19:01 PM

Mine was ZERO. Nili soma kitambo - before they started giving loans! I checked online recently and was happy to see that my ID is not in their records.

But I am happy to see that people are taking their repayments seriously. There were times when people used to proudly proclaim that they won't pay. Sure, Kenyans are changing.... for the better
#18 Posted : Friday, October 07, 2011 3:43:12 PM

brother-ya-nanii wrote:
jguru wrote:

That should be the way, pay the lumpsum sometime in the future and let the penalties be waived!!!
#19 Posted : Saturday, October 08, 2011 3:59:59 PM

brother-ya-nanii wrote:
jguru wrote:

That should be the way, pay the lumpsum sometime in the future and let the penalties be waived!!!

But how long will the penalty waiver availability last?
Seles83
#20 Posted : Friday, October 19, 2012 8:09:34 AM

Just finished mine paid a lump sum...paid a fine of over 90K..i am glad i got a clearance cert and monies are available for other needy or less fortunate students

Fellas lets clear our HELB loans and empower others//
More monies, more problems...