Health
Cooking fat vs oil
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/22/2009 Posts: 2,449 Location: Africa
Are there any health risks associated with cooking with cooking fat as opposed to oil? My mother used to cook with kimbo but i fear it could have long term effects eg. High predisposition to heart attacks due to clogged arteries. Any experts with their opinions?
What I know is any saturated fats is not good for ones health in the long run.
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/31/2008 Posts: 7,081 Location: Kenya
Sasa jameni tutakula nini? Sukuma ni za kinyesi...Unga ni wa GMO...Mafuta ndio hayo... ...The only good oil is olive,...which is so damn expensive...
YesuWangu wrote:What I know is any saturated fats is not good for ones health in the long run. And which are saturated fats? Great men are not always wise, neither do the aged understand judgement...
YesuWangu wrote:What I know is any saturated fats is not good for ones health in the long run. @yesuwangu, elaborate please
Magigi wrote:Sasa jameni tutakula nini? Sukuma ni za kinyesi...Unga ni wa GMO...Mafuta ndio hayo... ...The only good oil is olive,...which is so damn expensive... Kweli ndugu.Add to that water we don't even know if boiling or drinking straight from the tap makes any difference! Apparently there is nothing that cannot happen today!
Rank: New-farer Joined: 3/16/2011 Posts: 58 Location: kenya
virgin coconut oil is also good
Just eat and drink what you have been eating and drinking everyday.When your time to die comes you will just die. It is better to keep your mouth closed and let people think you are a fool than to open it and remove all doubt... -Mark Twain
Rank: Member Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 677 Location: Nairobi
http://cholesterol.about...cs/faq/f/difference.htm
Thats an easy defination. Basically the unsaturated include the kimbos, cowboys and all the oils that are solid at room temperature. Not the best for health. The healthier versions, unsaturated fats (mono and poly unsaturated) are best for general well being. The best is extra virgin olive oil but this is very expensive in Kenya because olives grow mainly in the mediterrenian temperatures. The same way coconut oil is very expensive for them. The benefits of olive oil are unparalled but since 90% of Kenyans cannot afford it, we can try cheaper alternatives such as sunflower oil which is also much more health beneficial than the kimbos (but not as cheap as well) http://whfoods.org/genpa...=foodspice&dbid=132
http://healthfood-guide....efitsOfSunflowerOil.aspx
bkismat wrote:Just eat and drink what you have been eating and drinking everyday.When your time to die comes you will just die. Sound advice this is. 95% sound and 5% advice Lord, thank you!
Euge wrote:bkismat wrote:Just eat and drink what you have been eating and drinking everyday.When your time to die comes you will just die. Sound advice this is. 95% sound and 5% advice Dash has said it like it is. when it comes to oils, healthier is expensive. just go for boiro sometimes. Float like a butterfly, sting like a bee. - Muhammad Ali🐝
bkismat wrote:Just eat and drink what you have been eating and drinking everyday.When your time to die comes you will just die. well said brother, you may spend a lot of energy checking on what you are eating only to die out of a plane crash. African parents don't know how to say sorry.. the closest you will get to a sorry is a 'have you eaten'
Sober wrote:bkismat wrote:Just eat and drink what you have been eating and drinking everyday.When your time to die comes you will just die. well said brother, you may spend a lot of energy checking on what you are eating only to die out of a plane crash. Well, i'm not just thinking of myself here. I also have to do what's best for my children. If they develop high blood pressure and other ailments because of poor choices i've made then i'll be held to account. For now i must do the best i can for them
Euge wrote:bkismat wrote:Just eat and drink what you have been eating and drinking everyday.When your time to die comes you will just die. Sound advice this is. 95% sound and 5% advice ati 95% sound and 5% advice?
Rank: Member Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 677 Location: Nairobi
Yes when your time comes, it comes but if you can manage to prolong your life would'nt you? There is a direct relationship between cancer prevalence and todays lifestyle. I understand death can come anytime anywhere but I am also not going to taunt it to come for me. If I can eat healthy to live longer, I will. If buckling up my belt will reduce my chance of death on the roads, I will buckle up. If warming my foods using microwave increases my chances of cancer, I will avoid it. If my family is predisposed to diabetes, I will avoid those triggers. But thats just a few I can do. The rest I leave it to God.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 1,491 Location: Nairobi
bkismat wrote:Just eat and drink what you have been eating and drinking everyday.When your time to die comes you will just die. Avoid the likes of yokozuna and group. In these current times u will be adviced against consuming everything so bkismat u r on point Kenya ni yetu sisi sote
@Dash I agree, do your bit then leave the rest to Sir God; Do you watch 1,000 WAYS TO DIE, utashangaa how guys lose their lives in freak and very silly accidents.
Isn't it interesting that what we are always afraid of is not that which kills us bt something entirely diff?
I know of a case where a dude led a really promiscuous and carefree sex life. But he realised his folly and genuinley purposed to change. But he had to go for testing, to know his status.So off he trotted to a VCT. He fully expected to be told he's HIV positive, and you can imagine his unbelievable joy when the results showed him negative. He was so so excited he never saw the speeding bus coming as he crossed the road not far from the VCT...
[quote=Dash]http://cholesterol.about.com/cs/faq/f/difference.htm Thats an easy defination. Basically the unsaturated include the kimbos, cowboys and all the oils that are solid at room temperature. Not the best for health. The healthier versions, unsaturated fats (mono and poly unsaturated) are best for general well being. The best is extra virgin olive oil but this is very expensive in Kenya because olives grow mainly in the mediterrenian temperatures. The same way coconut oil is very expensive for them. The benefits of olive oil are unparalled but since 90% of Kenyans cannot afford it, we can try cheaper alternatives such as sunflower oil which is also much more health beneficial than the kimbos (but not as cheap as well) http://whfoods.org/genpa...=foodspice&dbid=132
http://healthfood-guide....fitsOfSunflowerOil.aspx[/quote] Am I missing something here? Sober information should state something like this: Saturated Fats - Kimbo, Kasuku, Cowboy, Chomo, Yellow pima - These are bad for your coronary artery. Unsaturated Fats - Ghee, Tree fat, etc - Bad for your heart Saturated oil - Corn oil, Olive oil, Motor oil etc - Very bad for fast engines Unsaturated oil - Crude oil, Ufuta, Pwani fry, Chipsy, - good for cars and weight lifters Where are the nutritionist here? Satura "One man gives freely, yet gains even more; another withholds unduly, but comes to poverty. A generous man will prosper; he who refreshes others will himself be refreshed." Rev Canon Karanja.
Insurgent wrote:[quote=Dash]http://cholesterol.about.com/cs/faq/f/difference.htm Thats an easy defination. Basically the unsaturated include the kimbos, cowboys and all the oils that are solid at room temperature. Not the best for health. The healthier versions, unsaturated fats (mono and poly unsaturated) are best for general well being. The best is extra virgin olive oil but this is very expensive in Kenya because olives grow mainly in the mediterrenian temperatures. The same way coconut oil is very expensive for them. The benefits of olive oil are unparalled but since 90% of Kenyans cannot afford it, we can try cheaper alternatives such as sunflower oil which is also much more health beneficial than the kimbos (but not as cheap as well) http://whfoods.org/genpa...=foodspice&dbid=132
http://healthfood-guide....fitsOfSunflowerOil.aspx[/quote] Am I missing something here? Sober information should state something like this: Saturated Fats - Kimbo, Kasuku, Cowboy, Chomo, Yellow pima - These are bad for your coronary artery. Unsaturated Fats - Ghee, Tree fat, etc - Bad for your heart Saturated oil - Corn oil, Olive oil, Motor oil etc - Very bad for fast enginesUnsaturated oil - Crude oil, Ufuta, Pwani fry, Chipsy, - good for cars and weight liftersWhere are the nutritionist here? Satura Great men are not always wise, neither do the aged understand judgement...
Robinhood wrote:Insurgent wrote:[quote=Dash]http://cholesterol.about.com/cs/faq/f/difference.htm Thats an easy defination. Basically the unsaturated include the kimbos, cowboys and all the oils that are solid at room temperature. Not the best for health. The healthier versions, unsaturated fats (mono and poly unsaturated) are best for general well being. The best is extra virgin olive oil but this is very expensive in Kenya because olives grow mainly in the mediterrenian temperatures. The same way coconut oil is very expensive for them. The benefits of olive oil are unparalled but since 90% of Kenyans cannot afford it, we can try cheaper alternatives such as sunflower oil which is also much more health beneficial than the kimbos (but not as cheap as well) http://whfoods.org/genpa...=foodspice&dbid=132
http://healthfood-guide....fitsOfSunflowerOil.aspx[/quote] Am I missing something here? Sober information should state something like this: Saturated Fats - Kimbo, Kasuku, Cowboy, Chomo, Yellow pima - These are bad for your coronary artery. Unsaturated Fats - Ghee, Tree fat, etc - Bad for your heart Saturated oil - Corn oil, Olive oil, Motor oil etc - Very bad for fast enginesUnsaturated oil - Crude oil, Ufuta, Pwani fry, Chipsy, - good for cars and weight liftersWhere are the nutritionist here? Satura @robin, also scratched my head when i read the parts in bold text. Insurgent, what are you trying to say?
Health
Cooking fat vs oil