wazua Sun, Feb 2, 2025

Traffic Police: Please come back!
#21 Posted : Tuesday, October 04, 2011 12:30:42 PM

StatMeister wrote:
majimaji wrote:

I think it is now obvious now that we need Traffic cops to police the roads in Nairobi.

Since they were removed from the roads, the situation is terrible, let them come back!!

Let them eat but keep Nairobi moving.

Depends on the road you're on. Between aga khan and where the hill ends on Limuru road, there are no less than 10 cops.

FYI, the traffic is horrible.

That is because the cops only send one cop to where the real mayhem is... Barabara tano junction!
#22 Posted : Tuesday, October 04, 2011 1:45:49 PM

The traffic flow issue is quite complicated.

Around 2003/2004 I was involved in a project to install and program the traffic lights at one of the roundabouts in the city. When we asked for vehicle density data, we were given figures from 1986! Over twenty years old.

We did a quick impromptu survey and programmed the controller. Then we needed to test run the system for two weeks in order to see where to fine-tune the timings. This became almost impossible because the cops would never allow the lights to control the flow - interfering all the time.

At one point a cop asked why we were wasting money with extra lights inside the roundabout. His face lit up when I explained to him that they were necessary to create time for pedestrians to cross an "exit". "Oh; Kumbe? Unajua sisi hatufundishwi chochote kuhusu control. Kila mtu hufanya kivyake"

A few years later I met the then city traffic engineer and asked him what was his biggest challenge. "Political interference" he replied.

Politicians order the cops to stop the traffic and clear the way for them. This causes major traffic jams all over the city. The biggest culprit is the VP! This is how you find yourself stopped for 45 minutes at the Lusaka/Mombasa road roundabout waiting for nothing!
#23 Posted : Tuesday, October 04, 2011 1:48:56 PM

TRAFFIC POLICE have a role to play at the junctions, but it is NOT to control the traffic. That is the job of traffic marshals employed by the City Council.

The job of the police is to arrest those who disobey the traffic rules - motorists and pedestrians alike.
danas10
#24 Posted : Tuesday, October 04, 2011 1:55:13 PM

mukiha wrote:
The traffic flow issue is quite complicated.

Around 2003/2004 I was involved in a project to install and program the traffic lights at one of the roundabouts in the city. When we asked for vehicle density data, we were given figures from 1986! Over twenty years old.

We did a quick impromptu survey and programmed the controller. Then we needed to test run the system for two weeks in order to see where to fine-tune the timings. This became almost impossible because the cops would never allow the lights to control the flow - interfering all the time.

At one point a cop asked why we were wasting money with extra lights inside the roundabout. His face lit up when I explained to him that they were necessary to create time for pedestrians to cross an "exit". "Oh; Kumbe? Unajua sisi hatufundishwi chochote kuhusu control. Kila mtu hufanya kivyake"

A few years later I met the then city traffic engineer and asked him what was his biggest challenge. "Political interference" he replied.

Politicians order the cops to stop the traffic and clear the way for them. This causes major traffic jams all over the city. The biggest culprit is the VP! This is how you find yourself stopped for 45 minutes at the Lusaka/Mombasa road roundabout waiting for nothing!

maybe you should go back now and be their consultant. they have the latest data...
majimaji
#25 Posted : Tuesday, October 04, 2011 3:23:10 PM

On another note, I notice Thika rd traffic coming to town through Globe Cinema flyover will terminate in the vicinity of old Nation hse on Tom Mboya street. I think this is a recipe for disaster, already Tom Mboya is sooo crowded...
#26 Posted : Tuesday, October 04, 2011 3:35:57 PM

bwenyenye wrote:
StatMeister wrote:
majimaji wrote:

I think it is now obvious now that we need Traffic cops to police the roads in Nairobi.

Since they were removed from the roads, the situation is terrible, let them come back!!

Let them eat but keep Nairobi moving.

Depends on the road you're on. Between aga khan and where the hill ends on Limuru road, there are no less than 10 cops.

FYI, the traffic is horrible.

That is because the cops only send one cop to where the real mayhem is... Barabara tano junction!

Why don't we appreciate that motorists contribute to the mess in a very significant way? They jump lights in case where there are no cops and grind to a standstill at the centre of the round about, never giving way to any car. RESULT? Madness on the roads.
#27 Posted : Tuesday, October 04, 2011 3:48:47 PM

I have always wondered....

Who is the greater idiot: the driver who jumps a red light and drives on or the one who stops 5m past the lights and waits for people behind to hoot when the light turns green?
#28 Posted : Tuesday, October 04, 2011 3:55:21 PM

ha haa Kenyans

I think at the on start things were chaotic, courtesy of Matatu drivers.. later on, in some areas (my route)things got better.. infact traffic moved swiftly without those cops.. then i noticed the traffic lights all of a sudden were dim, spoilt!!!!.. how now? if its not the cops and rogue Kanjo officers so as to get the cops back on the routes...??
#29 Posted : Tuesday, October 04, 2011 4:06:04 PM

mukiha wrote:

Who is the greater idiot: the driver who jumps a red light and drives on or the one who stops 5m past the lights and waits for people behind to hoot when the light turns green?

The brurry gasket who hoots immediately the lights turn green! ABK!!!!!
#30 Posted : Tuesday, October 04, 2011 4:40:46 PM

bwenyenye wrote:
mukiha wrote:

But the idiot in front cannot see the lights because HE stopped ahead of the pole....
Marty
#31 Posted : Tuesday, October 04, 2011 4:48:32 PM

mukiha wrote:

Two idiots in equal measure.

Then I obediently obey the traffic lights and await for the green light. Another idiot hoots at me coz av refused to jump the lights and he wants to do exactly that. He should embed wings on his jalopy and fly over Nairobi. ABK
When I admire the wonder of a sunset or the beauty
of the moon, my soul expands in worship of the Creator.
StatMeister
#32 Posted : Tuesday, October 04, 2011 4:54:03 PM

bwenyenye wrote:
mukiha wrote:

What of those GK vehicles that use the wrong side of the round about (Parliament)?
A bad day fishing is better than a good day at work
Blackberry
#33 Posted : Tuesday, October 04, 2011 5:50:29 PM

ha haa Kenyans

I think at the on start things were chaotic, courtesy of Matatu drivers.. later on, in some areas (my route)things got better.. infact traffic moved swiftly without those cops.. then i noticed the traffic lights all of a sudden were dim, spoilt!!!!.. how now? if its not the cops and rogue Kanjo officers so as to get the cops back on the routes...??

Im with you on this....WASIRUDI KUCONTOL TRAFFIC!!!!problem is we motorists were so (programmed) to being policed....But I bet in no time we shall deprogramme and relearn the traffic rules a new.

Mean while Kisia & Co wainvest in Traffic cameras then waweke Public notices for those who escape the Traffic cop or is it Kanjo?.....ama wanjojee ofenders when they are renewing PSV road licence for PSV & Commercial Vehicles na DL for small cars.
......law 'n order will be restored pap!!!

btw,... why is it that the trailers on the outer lane are allowed to jump lights(Nyayo roundabout)? woe unto you ukijaribu kumfuata....

Opinion is free, truth is sacred.

Spend.thrift
#34 Posted : Tuesday, October 04, 2011 6:03:19 PM

Blackberry wrote:
ha haa Kenyans

Im with you on this....WASIRUDI KUCONTOL TRAFFIC!!!!problem is we motorists were so (programmed) to being policed....But I bet in no time we shall deprogramme and relearn the traffic rules a new.

Mean while Kisia & Co wainvest in Traffic cameras then waweke Public notices for those who escape the Traffic cop or is it Kanjo?.....ama wanjojee ofenders when they are renewing PSV road licence for PSV & Commercial Vehicles na DL for small cars.

btw,... why is it that the trailers on the outer lane are allowed to jump lights(Nyayo roundabout)? woe unto you ukijaribu kumfuata....

The police is not the problem. The problem is the Kenyan who can afford to buy a car but cannot afford to think. Take a walk along city Hall way around midday and you will find two Council askaris whose job description seems to be to stop motorists at the pedestrian crossing so that pedestrians can cross. And when you stop at a red light especially when joining Uhuru Highway from Haile Selassie, the hooting behind is so loud that you wonder why we complain about people like Songo. Songo is a fair reflection of Kenyans.
Blackberry
#35 Posted : Tuesday, October 04, 2011 6:23:53 PM

Spend.thrift wrote:
Blackberry wrote:
ha haa Kenyans

The police is not the problem. The problem is the Kenyan who can afford to buy a car but cannot afford to think. Take a walk along city Hall way around midday and you will find two Council askaris whose job description seems to be to stop motorists at the pedestrian crossing so that pedestrians can cross. And when you stop at a red light especially when joining Uhuru Highway from Haile Selassie, the hooting behind is so loud that you wonder why we complain about people like Songo. Songo is a fair reflection of Kenyans.

...and in the CBD... why have the sity kajo taken over traffic control....ati nyef nyef ...city by laws...NKT!!! Hate to imagine what it will be like when Kanjo will become a kauty.

Opinion is free, truth is sacred.

#36 Posted : Wednesday, October 05, 2011 9:39:42 AM

Its terrible, afadhali waendelee kula until we have the right gaament in place.

#37 Posted : Wednesday, October 05, 2011 10:47:26 AM

Its terrible, afadhali waendelee kula until we have the right gaament in place.

But that will never happen as long as we continue voting for the Sonkos, waititus, Railas and Uhurus of this world!
#38 Posted : Wednesday, October 05, 2011 10:59:11 AM

Marty wrote:
mukiha wrote:

Two idiots in equal measure.

Then I obediently obey the traffic lights and await for the green light. Another idiot hoots at me coz av refused to jump the lights and he wants to do exactly that. He should embed wings on his jalopy and fly over Nairobi. ABK

Doesn't the Probox have the Kangaroo button just for that?
#39 Posted : Wednesday, October 05, 2011 1:50:45 PM

Spend.thrift wrote:

told like it is
#40 Posted : Wednesday, October 05, 2011 4:42:50 PM

And where in the world is this Kisia fellow? He should have been crucified in the media by now! He should be telling us why he cannot install simple traffic lights yet @Mukiha is willing to help!Let him never try to ask me for a governor's vote! The fellow has been unable to do street lighting,traffic lights, city cleanliness... kwani what does he do the whole day? ABK!