wazua Sun, Feb 2, 2025

Traffic Police: Please come back!
majimaji
#1 Posted : Tuesday, October 04, 2011 9:25:53 AM

I think it is now obvious now that we need Traffic cops to police the roads in Nairobi.

Since they were removed from the roads, the situation is terrible, let them come back!!

Let them eat but keep Nairobi moving.
Pierce
#2 Posted : Tuesday, October 04, 2011 9:35:33 AM

majimaji wrote:

I think it is now obvious now that we need Traffic cops to police the roads in Nairobi.

Since they were removed from the roads, the situation is terrible, let them come back!!

Baniani mbaya kiatu chake dawa.
#3 Posted : Tuesday, October 04, 2011 9:47:22 AM

majimaji wrote:

...most people do not realize that the police that control traffic at the roundabouts for smooth flow never really eat, it is the ones at the roadblocks that do!!!
#4 Posted : Tuesday, October 04, 2011 9:49:31 AM

majimaji wrote:

In which NBI do you live? Traffic cops are still on the roads. I saw some this morning.
#5 Posted : Tuesday, October 04, 2011 9:51:51 AM

Its very confusing, some roundabouts have cops, some have lights, and some have NOTHING!

#6 Posted : Tuesday, October 04, 2011 9:52:25 AM

Euge wrote:
majimaji wrote:

In which NBI do you live? Traffic cops are still on the roads. I saw some this morning.

Most of them are not only there to arrest traffic offenders but not to control traffiC!!!!
FancyFace
#7 Posted : Tuesday, October 04, 2011 9:57:15 AM

Euge wrote:
majimaji wrote:

I think majimaji meant they are not controlling traffic anymore, they are there to make sure drivers are obeying the traffic lights...the worst hit roundabout is the Haile Seleasie one tailback hadi Bellevue...takes minimum of 3hrs from Bellevue to Bunyala roundabout...those lights need to be reprogrammed(sic) such that roads with heavier traffic/rush hour wanapewa more green time....I stand collected (seriously) Sad Sad

Problems can get out of proportion, and not only in the wee small hours. Don't let the problems eclipse the Master. Let the Master eclipse the problems.
majimaji
#8 Posted : Tuesday, October 04, 2011 9:58:43 AM

Iteere said he is removing all traffic cops on roads except in essential points.

But it's obvious it is not working, traffic jams have increased big time on all roads. Let the cops be back, the more the merrier.
majimaji
#9 Posted : Tuesday, October 04, 2011 10:00:37 AM

@ FancyFace, that's exactly what i mean.
FancyFace
#10 Posted : Tuesday, October 04, 2011 10:03:08 AM

majimaji wrote:

Iteere said he is removing all traffic cops on roads except in essential points.

But it's obvious it is not working, traffic jams have increased big time on all roads. Let the cops be back, the more the merrier.

cosign 101% ...total chaos I tell you..Pray Pray

Problems can get out of proportion, and not only in the wee small hours. Don't let the problems eclipse the Master. Let the Master eclipse the problems.
#11 Posted : Tuesday, October 04, 2011 10:08:50 AM

The real issue here is not the removal of the cops but the failure of Kisia and his mboys to install properly programmed traffic lights at every intersection. The police action has left a void. They should have ensured that all the round-abouts had proper functioning lights then eased out. Not just get up one day and walk away!
tuvok
#12 Posted : Tuesday, October 04, 2011 10:09:01 AM

Agreeing with @FancyFace regarding the reprogramming.

Uhuru highway at Bunyala + Haile Selassie roundabouts should have high priority than the other 2/3 roads, as well as have this priority pegged on time of day. Not hard to do.

The 30 second per road doesn't quite cut it. Alternatively they should scrap the roundabouts and in so doing, allow traffic flow in opposite directions simultaneously.

Still think automation is the way to go + strict enforcement of the highway code.
danas10
#13 Posted : Tuesday, October 04, 2011 10:10:55 AM

Pierce wrote:
majimaji wrote:

Baniani mbaya kiatu chake dawa.

Sad nini hii???? but enyewe the roads are terrible...esp mbs rd in the morning!!!! sasa hakuna kulala smile

#14 Posted : Tuesday, October 04, 2011 10:13:41 AM

Those on village old dirt roads are still there....I actual have never understood why they put cops on roads outside town other than for the purposes of collecting money.If it's true that Iteere removed cops on Nairobi roads,then that is kalulu think.
#15 Posted : Tuesday, October 04, 2011 10:22:58 AM

Always so quick to judge the cops as "eating".

The cops have proved that the problem is not them but the nairobi city council under the leadership of Phillip Kisia.

It is the right thing to make sure that the cops only ensure the traffic code is followed. But what to do when the city council is the most inept institution in Kenya. They would rather arrest poor women and bundle them in their jalopies rather than fix the traffic lights.

I find it odd that Kenyans are not willing to support the cops in this. Just the same way we complained so much about cops, let us breath fire on Kisia and his team.

They should fix all the traffic lights in Nairobi otherwise these jams will only get worse. I left home today at 6am and got to town at 7am. A trip that normally takes 12 minutes took me 1 hour. Not because of no cops on the highway but because Kisia is too busy running a political campaign to become governor of Nairobi.

God HELP us!

Bwana Itere, keep the cops off those roads as you have. Let Kenyans stay in that jam until they realise they need to talk to their kajoras.
majimaji
#16 Posted : Tuesday, October 04, 2011 10:45:24 AM

Personally, I do not expect anything good to come out of City Hall as far as roads in Nairobi are concerned. Firstly, the budget they have for roads is peanuts and now we have overlapping mandates of bodies like Kenya Urban Roads, Kenya Highway authorities, Metropolitan ministy... The only hope is when we have a County Govt in Nairobi accountable to the people. In the meantime, Iteere, send them boys back.
Ondiek
#17 Posted : Tuesday, October 04, 2011 12:03:41 PM

majimaji wrote:

Personally, I do not expect anything good to come out of City Hall as far as roads in Nairobi are concerned. Firstly, the budget they have for roads is peanuts and now we have overlapping mandates of bodies like Kenya Urban Roads, Kenya Highway authorities, Metropolitan ministy... The only hope is when we have a County Govt in Nairobi accountable to the people. In the meantime, Iteere, send them boys back.

Now that is the problem right there. KURA and KENHA should manage all aspects of the roads including traffic lights which the inept CCN has failed to do.

Road users also need to obey the damn lights. It is so infuriating to stop at red lights and have other motorists hoot at you and others zoom by and when the lights turn green pedestrians sashay across the road wiggling whatever little they have.Damn what a rant!
sanity
#18 Posted : Tuesday, October 04, 2011 12:08:22 PM

Always so quick to judge the cops as "eating".

The cops have proved that the problem is not them but the nairobi city council under the leadership of Phillip Kisia.

Applause That is exactly where the problem is..Since the cops are the most visible government on our roads,we blame them for everything.let them stay away from controlling traffic.That inconvinience should be enough for us to realise where the real problem is...fix the damn NCC..
Hope is not a strategy
StatMeister
#19 Posted : Tuesday, October 04, 2011 12:09:39 PM

majimaji wrote:

Depends on the road you're on. Between aga khan and where the hill ends on Limuru road, there are no less than 10 cops.

FYI, the traffic is horrible.
A bad day fishing is better than a good day at work
majay
#20 Posted : Tuesday, October 04, 2011 12:21:12 PM

They should definitely come back coz on some roads the lights are even not functional
all about Kenya in 2011