wazua Sat, Apr 18, 2026

5 Pages123>»
Boiling Tap Water
#1 Posted : Monday, October 03, 2011 4:42:34 PM

Do you?

If yes; why?
#2 Posted : Monday, October 03, 2011 4:45:06 PM

I don't, but I use water guard.
kinoru
#3 Posted : Monday, October 03, 2011 4:45:43 PM

kill micro-organisms and make it softer
QW25081985
#4 Posted : Monday, October 03, 2011 4:49:24 PM

kinoru wrote:
kill micro-organisms and make it softer

ati " to make it softer " kwani unakulanga maji na kunywa chakula. Hahahaha.
kinoru
#5 Posted : Monday, October 03, 2011 4:50:44 PM

siyo ivyo yaani that taste like spring water
olesopa
#6 Posted : Monday, October 03, 2011 5:03:15 PM

Ok, if you live in Nairobi, its sad , but boiling the water dont make it any safer for human consumption. Don't get me wrong, NAWASCO does a perfect job in water treatment, the big problem is the distribution networks made of old asbestos pipes and age old steel pipes, all this prone to ingress of heavy metals and industrial waste some of it carcinogenic. U dont get rid of this by boiling the water, period. A friend of mine told me a story whereby the water they receive in the industry he works for has more TDS ( total dissolved solids) that the WHO allowable guidelines on what they shud discharge into the aquatic ecosystem. Meaning that the water they receive should not be dicharged into Nairobi river. (technically speaking) and thats a FACT believe it or not, otherwise do some homework on that and revert on this forum. I stand to be corrected.
#7 Posted : Monday, October 03, 2011 5:08:30 PM

olesopa wrote:
Ok, if you live in Nairobi, its sad , but boiling the water dont make it any safer for human consumption. Don't get me wrong, NAWASCO does a perfect job in water treatment, the big problem is the distribution networks made of old asbestos pipes and age old steel pipes, all this prone to ingress of heavy metals and industrial waste some of it carcinogenic. U dont get rid of this by boiling the water, period. A friend of mine told me a story whereby the water they receive in the industry he works for has more TDS ( total dissolved solids) that the WHO allowable guidelines on what they shud discharge into the aquatic ecosystem. Meaning that the water they receive should not be dicharged into Nairobi river. (technically speaking) and thats a FACT believe it or not, otherwise do some homework on that and revert on this forum. I stand to be corrected.

True. they do a great job. I visited the treatment works next to CCK along Waiyaki way and they take samples for testing every hour. So I don't boil my drinking water.

Now this distribution story is shocking. Tuhame NBI kama guka.
#8 Posted : Monday, October 03, 2011 6:19:13 PM

mukiha wrote:
Do you?

If yes; why?

Si mimi...Ni mama watotoSad smile
Ondiek
#9 Posted : Monday, October 03, 2011 6:47:24 PM

olesopa wrote:

Are we sure that chalk dust is no longer used as a substitute for chlorine?
#10 Posted : Monday, October 03, 2011 6:57:01 PM

Used to buy bottled water until I found out it was sewage bottled water...Now I drink right from the tap...and still alive...
5 Pages123>»