wazua Wed, Feb 5, 2025

not so yummy.....veges from the sewage!!
#1 Posted : Sunday, October 02, 2011 8:41:24 PM

........apparently the residents of Nairobi have been eating vegetables grown using sewage water ..... Acres of sukuma, spinach, nduma etc are to be found in Njiru under 'sewage irrigation'.....watch citizen at nine for the full story...............and by the way, this has been going on for over 20 years!!
#2 Posted : Sunday, October 02, 2011 9:22:05 PM

It is on 100acres. The greens end up in supermarkets and marikiti. Mungu saidia sisi
akowally
#3 Posted : Monday, October 03, 2011 12:01:41 AM

Thought that was manure...anyway waiting for the part where they say if it is dangerous or not.
JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
Spend.thrift
#4 Posted : Monday, October 03, 2011 8:07:16 AM

akowally wrote:
Thought that was manure...anyway waiting for the part where they say if it is dangerous or not.

The big issues with these sewage fed vegges is not the sewage per se...I hope this wasn't the focus of the documentary - human poop is actually manure just like cow dung. However, RAW sewage is a matter of concern ecause faeces can be a source of pathogens...In fact, if the load of raw sewage is very high, you can actually smell the poop n your plate...I once suffered this misfortune and kept off sukuma wiki for quite a while It was so bad the whole kitchen smelt like a burst sewer. I believe that every Nairobian, including those dining in high end to our hotels) has tasted these vegges unless you personally maintain your weekly suply from Kisii or Kinangop. And off course there is your nduma and mitungo or maindi choma...Have you ever wondered why roast maize is available throughout the year yet we have only two seaons (the best it gets for maize is three seasons in some places like Butere and Busia...where maize is primarily grown for subsistence and therefore never gets to Nairobi).

The other bigger and more serious problem is that these sewage streams from say Mukuru are not just loaded with sewage, there is industrial effluent containing chemicals and heavy metals, all of which accumulate up the food chain. Then there is a postmortem room device called a macerator, whose discharge I suspect also joins the sewage stream...You dont want to think about this.

Important things.
1.Wash your vegges properly before cooking
2.Never buy black Nduma
3.If you buy managu,kunde, saga e.t.c insist that it actually comes from Kisii or similar places.(There are soko women who come with it on Nyamira Express everyday) Cheap managu or Kunde is likely to be from around Dandora or Njiru
4 Deworming regularly
#5 Posted : Monday, October 03, 2011 8:12:36 AM

akowally wrote:

...This has been the case for as long as I can remember...na bado sijakufa neither am i doing a countdown... But on a serious note is our conscience dead...Unauza kinyesi na hujali!!!
#6 Posted : Monday, October 03, 2011 9:22:59 AM

Spend.thrift wrote:
akowally wrote:

The big issues with these sewage fed vegges is not the sewage per se...I hope this wasn't the focus of the documentary - human poop is actually manure just like cow dung. However, RAW sewage is a matter of concern ecause faeces can be a source of pathogens...In fact, if the load of raw sewage is very high, you can actually smell the poop n your plate...I once suffered this misfortune and kept off sukuma wiki for quite a while It was so bad the whole kitchen smelt like a burst sewer. I believe that every Nairobian, including those dining in high end to our hotels) has tasted these vegges unless you personally maintain your weekly suply from Kisii or Kinangop. And off course there is your nduma and mitungo or maindi choma...Have you ever wondered why roast maize is available throughout the year yet we have only two seaons (the best it gets for maize is three seasons in some places like Butere and Busia...where maize is primarily grown for subsistence and therefore never gets to Nairobi).

The other bigger and more serious problem is that these sewage streams from say Mukuru are not just loaded with sewage, there is industrial effluent containing chemicals and heavy metals, all of which accumulate up the food chain. Then there is a postmortem room device called a macerator, whose discharge I suspect also joins the sewage stream...You dont want to think about this.

Important things.
1.Wash your vegges properly before cooking
2.Never buy black Nduma
3.If you buy managu,kunde, saga e.t.c insist that it actually comes from Kisii or similar places.(There are soko women who come with it on Nyamira Express everyday) Cheap managu or Kunde is likely to be from around Dandora or Njiru
4 Deworming regularly

Never buy Nduma in NBI. Buy when you go upcountry coz these business people smear red soil on the nduma.
Ondiek
#7 Posted : Monday, October 03, 2011 9:33:32 AM

I just rescinded my decision of becoming a vegeterian.
#8 Posted : Monday, October 03, 2011 9:37:48 AM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly ...Watu wa Nairobi iko shida mingi sana.Sio mboga,sio nduma,sio kanjo,sio wakora,sio jam,sio matatus,sio masomo ya watoto,sio churches,sio migomo,sio wanafunzi wa UoN,sio polisi,sio mungiki,sio....Pray Pray ....you are literally under siege.No wonder many Kenyans are dying young of......Wacha mimi nitulie tuu hapa ochasmile
#9 Posted : Monday, October 03, 2011 9:51:49 AM

nikitaka kula ugali kumbe ni GMO, nikitaka kula sukuma nasikitishwa ni ya sewage, nikitaka kula nyama nasikia hee haw hee haw kumbe ni ya fundaah - ahhhrg, i will start up my own greenhouse rugitoini
danas10
#10 Posted : Monday, October 03, 2011 10:18:17 AM

...one of the reasons why i have a container garden in my backyard Applause Applause Applause
#11 Posted : Monday, October 03, 2011 10:22:45 AM

Scientifically mimi bado ona chida!!!
#12 Posted : Monday, October 03, 2011 10:52:17 AM

Intelligentsia wrote:
hee haw hee haw kumbe ni ya fundaah

I can only imagine.....being woken at 3 in the morning by brays from your clan....then you click.Jana nilinunua nyama kwa Kamau wa NyamaLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
For Sport
#13 Posted : Monday, October 03, 2011 10:57:42 AM

danas10 wrote:
...one of the reasons why i have a container garden in my backyard Applause Applause Applause

weeeee bado haujavuna...si you were asking about it just the other day??
#14 Posted : Monday, October 03, 2011 11:09:45 AM

na watu walikuwa wanakataa ile IPO ya greenhouse parts..
am sure if it was floated now all the parts would be taken up immediately.
udaypette
#15 Posted : Monday, October 03, 2011 11:14:53 AM

i never allow those mama mbogas to kata kata for me sukumawiki i do it myself before cleaning them properly. And i didnt see cabbages being grown there. Another word of caution never ever eat vegetable salads in nairobi
danas10
#16 Posted : Monday, October 03, 2011 11:43:14 AM

For Sport wrote:
danas10 wrote:

weeeee bado haujavuna...si you were asking about it just the other day??

smile now almost 3 weeks ago. and i started immediately...the shoots are 2-3 centimetres long...maybe in the next 3 weeks i shld get dhania. and the rest will follow...navumilia tu kwa sasa hivi smile
#17 Posted : Monday, October 03, 2011 11:49:55 AM

I don't think there's any way you can avoid such things in life unless you decide to isolate yourself from everyone else. Those vegetables will find their way in hotels and schools. Mara sijui don't eat meat because it might be game meat, the other day i saw something here on "kuku porno" now its vegetables c'mon people you cannot live in fear of everything. We have an immune system that detects and kills pathogens in our bodies, if that fails kuna hospitali. You can't go around asking people ati "hizo mboga zako umetoa wapi" before you have a meal
#18 Posted : Monday, October 03, 2011 12:16:45 PM

chemos wrote:
na watu walikuwa wanakataa ile IPO ya greenhouse parts..
am sure if it was floated now all the parts would be taken up immediately.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly mrs njunge aka benjackie should try her luck again-at double the price
#19 Posted : Monday, October 03, 2011 12:26:32 PM

For Taz.

Simple choices.
#20 Posted : Monday, October 03, 2011 12:27:20 PM

So how many people have died or fallen ill as result of eating veggies grown with sewage? Answer = zero, or very close to zero!!

these are the sort of stories that media houses report when they have nothing better to report.

Completely baseless!!

I will continue eating my sukuma-wiki....