wazua Wed, Apr 29, 2026

8 Pages123>»
SAFARICOM SAYS TO RAISE CALLING RATES BY 1 SHILLING ACROSS TARIFFS ON WEAK SHILLING,
#1 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 3:19:31 PM

Sept. 30 (Bloomberg) -- Safaricom Ltd., Kenya’s biggest mobile-phone operator, said its increasing call tariffs amid a weakening currency and rising inflation in East Africa’s biggest economy.

The only component of CPI that held steady this month...watch inflation go!
kinoru
#2 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 3:21:28 PM

yu here i come
#3 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 3:26:50 PM

kinoru wrote:
yu here i come

You are going nowhere. Given their totally dominant position other players will just follow suit.
kinoru
#4 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 3:30:39 PM

by the way my bonga points ,mpesa ?!!$%
#5 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 3:31:49 PM

I'm not sure what you guys on Safcom pay, but I'm assuming this is between 30% to 100% increase on rates.

Imagine what inflation will come in at next month...
Jamani
#6 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 3:36:04 PM

kinoru wrote:
yu here i come

Afadhali airtel ama telcom..... huko niwapi unataka kuenda? its like going "kokote"
Barrywhite
#7 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 3:46:21 PM

What commodity or service has had its pricing on a reducing trend consistently for the last ten years? Other than airtime?

The reasons given sound credible ....

"Sept. 30 (Bloomberg) -- Safaricom Ltd., Kenya’s biggest mobile-phone operator, said its increasing call tariffs amid a weakening currency and rising inflation in East Africa’s biggest economy."

The laudable is more often than not rendered laughable by overclaim
FUNKY
#8 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 3:47:36 PM

No one will leave safaricom because of M-PESA and you will soon see Orange and Airtel increasing their tariffs.
Jamani
#9 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 3:49:21 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
kinoru wrote:
yu here i come

You are going nowhere. Given their totally dominant position other players will just follow suit.

They have no option but to follow suit unless they have no plan on roll-out, etc etc............ all equipment, managed service contracts etc are paid for in dollars and transferred to you and me in kshs.
Jamani
#10 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 3:54:58 PM

interesting even local lease lines are contracted in dollars
8 Pages123>»