wazua Mon, Sep 22, 2025

3 Pages<123
Precision Air IPO
mwekez@ji
#41 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2011 7:58:05 AM

Sober wrote:
58,841,750 shares on offer at 28.00 Ksh each. i am in.

Thats fast. You haven't even read the prospectus
mwekez@ji
#42 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2011 7:59:39 AM

The initial public offering (IPO) cost puts the airline’s price to earnings (P/E) ratio at 50, above that of all NSE stocks except Kenya Orchads’, whose P/E stands at 75. A high P/E ratio denotes a stock that has a high future growth potential, or one that is over-priced.

http://www.businessdailyafrica....39552/1240452/-/jxjwy/-/
stocksmaster
#43 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2011 8:13:37 AM

mwekez@ji wrote:
The initial public offering (IPO) cost puts the airline’s price to earnings (P/E) ratio at 50, above that of all NSE stocks except Kenya Orchads’, whose P/E stands at 75. A high P/E ratio denotes a stock that has a high future growth potential, or one that is over-priced.

One of its majority shareholders (KQ) is trading at a P/E of 3.73......same industry.....bigger player hence better economies of scale...trading in a more liquid stock exchange.

At a comparative P/E, Precision Air would be valued at: Ksh 28 x 3.73/50 = Ksh 2.10......Sad

Happy Hunting!
mwekez@ji
#44 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 8:53:08 AM

stocksmaster wrote:
mwekez@ji wrote:

One of its majority shareholders (KQ) is trading at a P/E of 3.73......same industry.....bigger player hence better economies of scale...trading in a more liquid stock exchange.

At a comparative P/E, Precision Air would be valued at: Ksh 28 x 3.73/50 = Ksh 2.10......Sad

Happy Hunting!

I wonder the valuation method used by PW
mwekez@ji
#45 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 8:58:59 AM

On another note:

The DSE share index was up 0.4 per cent in the month of August coming third only to the Namibian and Tunisian stockmarkets which rose 5.8 and 1.3 per cent. In the same month NSE was the worst performing among the continent’s top 16 equity markets.

http://www.theeastafrican.co.ke.../0/-/gnnarp/-/index.html
mwekez@ji
#46 Posted : Wednesday, September 28, 2011 8:28:21 AM

Sterling said Precision Air’s IPO price of Tsh475 (Sh29.39) is “over-priced,” ... Precision Air’s net profits as of 2011 stood at Tsh1.1 billion (Sh67.8 million), a 54 per cent drop from the Tsh2.8 billion (Sh172 million) posted in 2010.

http://www.businessdailyafrica....34/-/qe90rm/-/index.html

mwekez@ji
#47 Posted : Wednesday, September 28, 2011 8:33:58 AM

Anybody with the said research report by Sterling Capital will do us good by sharing
FUNKY
#48 Posted : Wednesday, September 28, 2011 9:13:11 AM

mwekez@ji
#49 Posted : Thursday, October 06, 2011 7:55:16 PM

PW is in denial on the company making a loss in 2011. Have a look at the management report Vs the audited results. And the projected results for 2012 are not any encouraging

Jisomee

http://www.precisionairtz.com/F...eptember%202011%20V3.pdf
the deal
#50 Posted : Thursday, October 06, 2011 9:44:39 PM

After reading the prospectus and applying my various analytic skills I rate this company/IPO Avoid/Sell.
Iborian
#51 Posted : Friday, October 07, 2011 11:38:18 AM

Hii BURE KABISA. AVOID, AVOID, AVOID. You are better of with the laughable British whatever now that it has lost 1/3 since its listing. I still rate it below 5/=.
Eddy
#52 Posted : Friday, October 07, 2011 8:19:07 PM

the deal wrote:
After reading the prospectus and applying my various analytic skills I rate this company/IPO Avoid/Sell.

The deal i do in most cases respect your opinions, but for PW you need to look at their market and also the number of shares and remember even here in Kenya results are not the main thing, safaricon would be in the stratosphere.
mwekez@ji
#53 Posted : Saturday, October 08, 2011 2:09:05 AM

Eddy wrote:
...look at their market and also the number of shares and remember even here in Kenya results are not the main thing ...

@Eddy, under the existing market conditions PW has been able to achieve the following DECLINING PROFITS in the past 5 years. What makes you thing that going forward the market will significantly change in their favour

2007 - Tzs 5,533,703,000
2008 - Tzs 1,662,395,000
2009 - Tzs 2,871,190,000
2010 - Tzs 2,788,108,000
2011 - Tzs -1,666,301,000 (Ouch, a loss that the auditors had to inform us but PW management wanted to put it as a profit of Tzs 1,285,115,000)

With the number of shares, their PE ratio in 2011 would be 50 if we were to go with management accounts and it would be VERY BAAAAAD if we were to go with the audited accounts.

And FYI, financial performance is one of the key consideration in analysing the viability of an investment (Check what stocksmaster wrote in post #43)
Iborian
#54 Posted : Saturday, October 08, 2011 9:48:05 AM

@Mwekezaji and Stocksmaster.

Very nicely put.

Buy at your own risk (PERIL).