wazua Tue, Feb 11, 2025

Looking for Parenting Classes/Books
ali
#21 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 10:55:47 PM

Wawawa, plenty of ideas frm wazuans. I'm asking for help for the simple reasons that am a poor parent. Poor interms of skills. I wish to raise God fearing christian citizens and i'm finding myself falling short in many aspects. While our parents attended no classes, they faced diff challenges from ours. Parenting is a sacred duty to me and i want my kids to know that i gave them the best of me....thats why i want to learn
For in him (Jesus) we live and move and have our being-Acts 17:28
KenSaf
#22 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 10:57:22 PM

Maybe Ali wants to start a biz. SCHOOL OF PARENTING. Remember he was previously in a Matatu biz na ameacha. New biz venture maybe

http://www.wazua.com/for...aspx?g=posts&t=14691
Doors of opportunity don't just open , they have to be unlocked & it's up to you to turn the knob.
Pastor M
#23 Posted : Tuesday, September 20, 2011 8:27:18 AM

ali wrote:
Wawawa, plenty of ideas frm wazuans. I'm asking for help for the simple reasons that am a poor parent. Poor interms of skills. I wish to raise God fearing christian citizens and i'm finding myself falling short in many aspects. While our parents attended no classes, they faced diff challenges from ours. Parenting is a sacred duty to me and i want my kids to know that i gave them the best of me....thats why i want to learn

The best teacher to your children is you the parents,the best manual for them to read is your actions (how you do things). by the way parenting is not for cowards ...
ali
#24 Posted : Tuesday, September 20, 2011 9:14:36 AM

@kensaf....hadnt thought of it from that perspective..SCHOOL OF PARENTING...bt if i was to start, i need to atleast have experience in that line. I'm a parent...an average parent. I want to go above average.
livie
#25 Posted : Tuesday, September 20, 2011 10:32:01 AM

pamela wanda bringing up children in a permissive society
If you are going to be thinking only one thing, you might as well be thinking big. -Donald J . Trump
ali
#26 Posted : Tuesday, September 20, 2011 10:52:55 AM

Thanks livie. Will look it up. Its local sio? Both names are local. The better
#27 Posted : Tuesday, September 20, 2011 1:55:04 PM

Pastor M wrote:
ali wrote:

The best teacher to your children is you the parents,the best manual for them to read is your actions (how you do things). by the way parenting is not for cowards ...

@Pastor M; Kunyua Fanta!

The problem with kids is that they don't come with an Operations Manual. They can be so different, it's amazing. That's why I insist that YOU are the best parenting resource for yourself...

Case in point: both my children cried on their first day of school. One cried in the morning when we left him in the classroom - he wanted us to stay with him! The crying went on for two terms! Very stressful.

The second one cried in the afternoon - she wanted to stay in the bus and go back to school again! She also cried on the morning of the first Saturday when she woke up and was told there was no school!
#28 Posted : Tuesday, September 20, 2011 5:31:23 PM

Asi! @Ali is asking for books and people are telling him he does not need any? His question was not if he needs books;rather which books he can read .........:(
Spend.thrift
#29 Posted : Tuesday, September 20, 2011 5:40:15 PM

WWMMS

What Would Mrs. Manda Say?
Frangipani
#30 Posted : Tuesday, September 20, 2011 7:23:58 PM

I studied quite a bit of psychology in college and I can tell you that good parenting is not instinctive in everyone everyone. Some parents, especially those who suffer from personality disorders such as narcissism make disastrous parents. Further, there are at least four main parenting styles which result in very different types of children. I actually recommend that every Wazua parent gets acquainted with them. I recommend that you simply google "parenting styles and their effects on children". Enjoy.
Ms Mkenya
#31 Posted : Tuesday, September 20, 2011 11:44:19 PM

ali wrote:
I'm asking for help for the simple reasons that am a poor parent. Poor interms of skills. I wish to raise God fearing christian citizens and i'm finding myself falling short in many aspects. Parenting is a sacred duty to me and i want my kids to know that i gave them the best of me....thats why i want to learn

then do a christian parenting class.
....above all, to stand.
#32 Posted : Wednesday, September 21, 2011 11:32:43 AM

Ms Mkenya wrote:
ali wrote:
I'm asking for help for the simple reasons that am a poor parent. Poor interms of skills. I wish to raise God fearing christian citizens and i'm finding myself falling short in many aspects. Parenting is a sacred duty to me and i want my kids to know that i gave them the best of me....thats why i want to learn

He says 'God fearing christian', but that is not definitive.

The label 'christian' currently does not mean what it did when it was first used.

Which 'God'? And what does he mean by 'fearing'? If he sees this 'God' he runs away?

If he recognizes this 'God' why can he ask from this God?

Hii ni mchezo anatuletea hapa.
anika66
#33 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2011 7:21:21 PM

Being a mother of three girls (two early adults and one teen) i can say from hindsight that the best model for parenting for me is my mother. She never shied away from using the cane on me as I grew up. I turned out very well.
Unfortunately as a young 'radical' parent, i rejected this model. I never raised a finger against my kids. They turned out well but once in a while I wish I had been more 'tough' and quick with a pinch in the right place. This could have saved me all the shouting I used to do as a young mother.
Later as I was struggling with my parenting issues, a friend placed in my hands a book called Dare to Discipline by Dr Dobson. I highly recomend this book.
Another book I wish I applied during my youthful parenting years is the Bible. But then I didnt even used to attend church then. So please if you are religious, use the wisdom presented in the Holy Book to discipline your child. A little pinch here and there has never killed any child. Of course the rules of safety when disciplining apply. Dont do it when you are too emotional otherwise you will find yourself in the juvenile court answering to a case of chlid abuse. But a little smack here and there does not hurt. And please introduce your child to church early, those of us who overlooked this are now regretting. Now I can only pray for my children coz they are beyond a smack or pinch. If i dare do it now, they will retaliate and I will be the loser!
Keeping it all in the family
anika66
#34 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2011 7:23:53 PM

Ms Mkenya wrote:
ali wrote:

Get Dare to Discipline by Dr Dobson. Just google it. Good luck. Introduce them to church early.
Keeping it all in the family
Ms Mkenya
#35 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2011 7:38:58 PM

Just wondering....why does it seem such a big deal to attend a parenting class?

We attend customer service, personal financial management, management skills, communication skiils, CME's etc... though clearly it is not the first time we have dealt with them.. We may even have formal training in some areas but still attend seminars.

....above all, to stand.
ali
#36 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2011 10:55:17 PM

I know it in my heart that books/classes will help me. If i am poor in an area, its only fair i learn and better myself. I'm looking at raising Godly pple with sound morals, men and women of character, discipline and courage.
Bree
#37 Posted : Friday, September 23, 2011 8:31:41 AM

babycentre.co.uk
#38 Posted : Friday, September 23, 2011 4:00:25 PM

While we are at this.... now, yesterday while watching the proceedings, there is this counsel was on the prosecutors side. she was narrating how the violence took place and the details... most of the things she touched on was rape, sexual harassment etc... now, i was watching with my 8 year old. He asked me "what do they do when they rape you?" Kama ni wewe, ungejibu nini? I fumbled with words and hoped to be let off the hook... which i was.. may be the poor dude is more confused but i would want to explain better the next time it comes up.
#39 Posted : Friday, September 23, 2011 5:04:00 PM

@ali
You learn parenting from your upbringing ie your parents or community. There's no parenting manual. I remember a joke Will Smith once told of how he bought a new easier to control tv and it came with a huge manual but their new baby while much difficult an undertaking came with non.

So my friend raise your kid your own way that way he might be his own person with your influences or a copy of you and that is better than being a copy of some dude you don't know who writes some books.

Ms Mkenya
#40 Posted : Friday, September 23, 2011 5:58:33 PM

While we are at this.... now, yesterday while watching the proceedings, there is this counsel was on the prosecutors side. she was narrating how the violence took place and the details... most of the things she touched on was rape, sexual harassment etc... now, i was watching with my 8 year old. He asked me "what do they do when they rape you?" Kama ni wewe, ungejibu nini? I fumbled with words and hoped to be let off the hook... which i was.. may be the poor dude is more confused but i would want to explain better the next time it comes up.

@Wendz, i gave up TV a while ago.. We watch TV for very few hours at our house. Yesterday i wanted to watch the proceedings (assuming ti would be like the Kigen Katwa time), but i switched it off in 5 minutes.

I know it doesn't work for everyone but for me, it works. And the kids play outside more, watch DVD's which i choose and i find nice & acceptable.

My 5 year old asked me how a baby get's into a mummy's tummy sometime back (We had been through a baby grows in mummy's tummy) and i explained it in some age relevant detail. If i'd been asked about rape i would have expounded on that and put the element violence into it.
....above all, to stand.