wazua Fri, Jan 31, 2025

3 Pages<123
Nimeacha this Mat business for good now
kimiri
#41 Posted : Tuesday, September 20, 2011 4:25:00 PM

Pole sana mr Ali. No business is easy but Matatu is certainly crazy. You realize that in Mat business nearly everybody you deal with is a crook including the crew itself, police, mechanics, and Mungiki (worst of all). Yet, one thing is for sure: most Kenyans can hardly ever dream of becoming rich (sometimes even making the ends meet) with the kind of salaries they get from their regular jobs. In my short life I have done a number of businesses including mat alongside being formally employed. On some occasions I have burned my figures but I have always valued the lessons that I get. One of the key things that one needs to get right in many businesses (not only mat) is identifying and retaining good workers. If you don’t do this in the case of mat, these guys will milk you dry within no time.

For mats, I have also realized that you need to invest in building networks/relationships that ensure limited disruption of the business. For instance, if you are not around and your vehicle breaks down you should have a mechanic who can fix it nicely and fast even without being paid on the spot. It is the same case with police harassment. You have to make sure that you know some of them to avoid inconvenience. Interestingly this may not necessarily mean you spend a lot of money in bribing them. For example, a year ago my manager (who also doubles as one of my drivers) realized that besides each vehicle paying some ksh200 everyday to some policemen here in Nairobi, they were still targeted during those crack down/operations. So he entered into an agreement with a fairly senior man in blue that they get paid ksh1,000 lump sum per vehicle once every week and in turn the vehicles do not stop even when flagged down. Clearly, this is corruption but what can you as an investor do?

I can give you a short story. At one time one of my vehicles got impounded but when I went to the police station, the arresting officer told me that he actually wanted to know who the vehicle owner was. Off course we had to buy him some “tea” in order for the vehicle to be released but you can bet that since then we have used his help on a number of occasions. This is the unfortunate reality of doing business in Kenya. Ask bar owners and you will hear similar stories. Cheers and best of luck in whatever you decide to do.
keraka
#42 Posted : Wednesday, September 21, 2011 6:58:00 PM

Matatu pliz help help help am fainting.Am now enjoying my evenings bila stress,phone calls bila shida and waking up to bright days.Amen.
The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.
Olu
#43 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2011 11:35:16 AM

A close relative had dreams of dominating rt 46, huruma. He took a 1.4m sacco loan and bought a tyt hiace. Things were going well until the mat was hijacked by armed gangsters never to be seen again. Sadly he had not taken a comprehensive insurance. Now he almost gets seizures when you say 'matatu' in his presence.

Many people assume a business idea will work just because someone else is doing it. They don't bother to identify all risks and how they can mitigate them.

They don't do a feasibility study for the business. They have no financial plans, marketing plans, operational plans, pricing plans but expect to collect money from day one by the tonnes!

They don't know when they break or when a project should be discontinued or sold off!

Dear brothers and sisters of wazua. Your project has to succeed on paper before it can succeed on the ground. Inolve professionals at this stage if you have to.

well said and put sparkly
ali
#44 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2011 12:32:45 PM

Is that why bwana Ocs kept on giving my manager his cellphne number to be given to me? And i kept on refering him to the manager and the crew? May be i lost a great chance?
For in him (Jesus) we live and move and have our being-Acts 17:28
Kenyanenterpreneur
#45 Posted : Friday, September 23, 2011 8:24:05 PM

Hey there,

I have the same trouble coming up with a viable idea even after all the money loss to employee or other officials.

I think farming is a good idea though, the fact is as long as there are lives there is a demand for the produce. it is just a matter of figuring out what to farm, where to sell it and how to do so cheaply!

Check out some fish farming idea i got from my Uncle on my blog!

http://kenyanenterpreneur.blogspot.com/
raszag
#46 Posted : Tuesday, November 01, 2011 9:04:18 AM

Wazuans,

I've gone through all the 45 posts and greatly appreciate each and every one of them.

I currently thinking of venturing into the mat biz...14 seater long distance shuttle (nyeri, nakuru etc) and be the driver myself.

What I have gathered from the contribution is: Also clarify:

1. You need to be either the driver/conductor or have 'good' managers......I intend to be the driver

2. Have to know how to deal with the police - Have a personal relationship with some senior cop - Will build this over time

3. Its better to have the mat managed by a sacco who collect the fare and you fuel at there petrol stations - I intent to join one as my intention is to go via the long distance shuttle route.

What are the terms of this saccos e.g to how much do you pay them for these services etc?

4. Its important to insure the mat comprehensively not third party.

What are the cost of two kinds of insurance and the merits and demerits of each in the mat biz?

5. What does the current law say about phasing out of the 14 seater-long distance, will it be business as usual or will they be affected?

Thanks
Hardwork, Smartness & Humility = Successful and Happy life...Jipange sasa hivi
Chanaleze
#47 Posted : Saturday, November 12, 2011 4:24:09 PM

d'oh! b yorslf bro 4 passion neva fails u.....
GGK
#48 Posted : Saturday, November 12, 2011 10:24:21 PM

My understanding is that GoK will let 14-seater mats become extinct through natural attrition
"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
Marty
#49 Posted : Thursday, November 17, 2011 2:50:34 PM

ali wrote:
I always knew i could hack it, bt i'm done with the biashara ya matatu. Have sold 2 and will retain 1 to be using for hires ama family outs/travels. Anyone with better biz ideas pls? No transport biz ideas

Millionaires and billionaires have levels of confidence that borders on arrogance and that is what sets them apart. I take note of the confidence Bw Ali you got and am impressed. My story is kinda interesting coz I did farming, burnt my fingers, did stocks burnt fingers again till I landed on real estate and thinbgs have never been the same again. I learnt valuable lessons out of the failures and it never occured to me that I'd quit trying. Push on. The phase you are in is very neccessary for future success. The moment you successfully negotiate out of this, you'll be primed for success.
When I admire the wonder of a sunset or the beauty
of the moon, my soul expands in worship of the Creator.