wazua Fri, Jan 31, 2025

PSV insurance Boycott...Doesnt make sense.
#1 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2011 9:26:12 AM

I hav been following the debate of how unprofitable psv insurance is, and there are plans to move out of the business all together and I say this does not make sense to me.

If you look at statistics personal vehicle accidents account for more than 60% of road accidents while matatu & bodaboda share the rest with bodaboda occupyig the largest share so in my opinion I think the claims that PSV insurance is unprofitable is crap.

Fraud has been blamed on this unfortunate conclusion but who is to blame is it the PSV owners or the under writers themselves.Blaming the psv industry for their woes is an escapist move that covers their inadequacies which has contributed to the meager growth of the overall industry i.e average growth of about 17% in the last 5yrs.
#2 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2011 11:00:04 AM

Why not simply hike up the premiums for PSVs?
#3 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2011 11:19:22 AM

@mukiha I think that would be unfair something need to be done to reduce fraud which makes this segment unprofitable.

Britak interestingly thru Equity bank is getting traction in this segment I think they will reap big if they are able to tame Fraud.
kimiri
#4 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2011 11:40:22 AM

I actually think this is a prelude to hiking of premiums. And thus inflation continues.
#5 Posted : Tuesday, September 27, 2011 7:52:33 AM

selah wrote:
@mukiha I think that would be unfair something need to be done to reduce fraud which makes this segment unprofitable.

Britak interestingly thru Equity bank is getting traction in this segment I think they will reap big if they are able to tame Fraud.

So what is better: [1] to have expensive, but solid insurance, or [2] to have cheap but shaky insurance, or [3] to have no insurance at all?

When you say "something needs to be done": what would you suggest be done, and by whom?

Sometimes shock-therapy works best.
#6 Posted : Tuesday, September 27, 2011 2:07:51 PM

@Mukiha obviously non of the above since even if you make the insurance expensive it will not rid it of fraudsters.

In my opinion the insurance companies need to enhance their investigative wing to rid it of complacency which has contributed alot in fraudulent claims.

The only way fraudulent claims can be processed is if the underwriters themselves participate in the vice themselves.

#7 Posted : Tuesday, September 27, 2011 3:48:55 PM

selah wrote:

Its a good thing I never bought into Britank. Surely Motor Pool, Stallion, Blue Shield, United is enough evidence??