wazua Thu, May 7, 2026

5 Pages«<2345>
Where are Kenyan journalists?
tmatekwa
#31 Posted : Thursday, May 07, 2009 7:14:00 PM

The previous day Jeff Koinange made some insensitive remarks about an Arsenal fan,on 9.00pm news bulletin of 6th may. And as if it was not enough he threw some barbs at the prime minister. Needless to say both subjects have a common ethnicity. So much for press freedom.

Osama bin Laden
Spendthrift
#32 Posted : Friday, May 08, 2009 7:50:00 AM

@ tamphhhh.......,sorry Obi,I harbour no rage,just genuine distaste for Kenyan journalism. And I have relatives and friends in this trade too.
Who is a journalist and what is journalism? Do you mean to say that some of the editors are accountants or matatu drivers or that they hired based on horizontal competence rather than the relevant skills,knowledge and attitude.

So presenters are supposed to be like flowers? mwathani!!

Even if you insist,it means the entire background teams are incompetent or they are too busy turning each other on to realise that their work has become gonzo. While many including myself would appreciate the need for eclectic approaches in news and other media production,what is apparent in Kenya is an unacceptable level of carelessness,incompetence and shenanegans.
The point is already across,if you read the strings below. Kama huwezi kuelewa tunachomaanisha,huenda wewe ni mmoja wa hao wanahabari duni ambao wamekuwa kikwazo kikubwa kwa uimarishaji wa sekta hii.

@ tea hostage,
Every TV station in Kenya maybe except Family rides on political patronage,so their statements commentary and even news coverage on certain persons are always aligned towards some political objective. Two are particularly extreme while some like NTV are mixed and you may detect some pseudo-objectivity but in extreme times,they usually succumb.
So excuse that mzungu-albino. Only wish someone would comment on why he was fired from that Turner&rsquo;s C** network using the same style he commented on the Arsenal fan (and the PM),who these same fools want us to believe committed suicide because of a football march result.

But for you to have picked up the ethnicity of the two victims of Jeff's punchy style,you are either very sharp,or you represent the opposite of the ex-chief&rsquo;s son. Same coin.

Everyday!
#33 Posted : Friday, May 08, 2009 8:44:00 AM

@Spendthrift,I almost missed your insult. Are you calling me a Tampon?

My screen name is Obi wan Kanobi not OB,for someone complaining about professionalism and self respect,you certainly don't set high standards.

I guess if you can't win with facts,you can always pen bile-laced,xenophobic rants to distract everyone.
Spendthrift
#34 Posted : Friday, May 08, 2009 9:15:00 AM

Eazy my brother/sister,No pun intended in the contortion of your screen name. If I do that with your real name I owe you an explanation,a cheek for your slap and a beer afterwards.

You have my apologies,if it offends you.

Everyday!
fantony
#35 Posted : Friday, May 08, 2009 2:20:00 PM

That guy was sent to Naivasha on early in the week to build momentum towards the public acceptance of an easy verdict on Cholmondoshit. The clips were pathetic; ati because he is not on the farm Maasai with fat hybrid cows have invaded the farm. Now my money is on the guy getting such a light sentence,the state will owe him a balance of days for having stayed as guest for the next time he roasts an black african and serves him with mustard sauce to his dogs.

Back to the topic. This is a manifestation of how old money has been clogging information and how it is presented to the public; from the Kuleis of this world right to Nation. I wonder what the Aga Khan has to say about this.

I worked at politicians office at one time. To defame his opponent,i recieved a dictation from the politician and did a story that makes me laugh to date. We had lunch with a journalist oops... writer. A very light envelope changed hands. We agreed i forward the story via email and the following day it was there in the paper.

Jay R
#36 Posted : Friday, May 08, 2009 2:55:00 PM

I'm always dumbfounded by most of the so-called journalists' utter disregard of integrity and objectivity.Their computations,especially currency conversions are a joke.
For stories providing for comments on the net,do what i always do,blast the damn pen-handlers.
The moment our media houses started going for 'celebs'[my foot] to be presenters,is the day journalism was laid to rest.They've no clue about world affairs,no hint on world economies and they just don't care about politics or any music done before year 2,000.In short,limited knowledge.From the informers to the masses.
For a start,let's all BLAST them with sheer ruthlessness.

When i see my purple,you see it not.
when i see my purple, you see it not!
murenj
#37 Posted : Saturday, May 09, 2009 5:08:00 PM

You should have seen this ALJAZEERA woman reporter doing her racist skit from Nakuru while the judge was summing up his judgement in nairobi. Question is what was she doing in Nakuru when proceedings were going on some 150km away? A case of earning a buck without breaking a honest sweat? By the way,she was a k**k

The cunning of the Buffalo
JPato
#38 Posted : Saturday, May 09, 2009 9:02:00 PM

My learned friend Spendthrift,We are learners of this stuff called English. When I am herding my goats I read the paper and I can understand what you mean. They eat the paper when am almost done thou. That's why am not good either.
But I have a question for you,
Do we say,Kenya representative in Washington DC or do we say Kenyan representative in Washington DC.
Do we say Kenya Journalists or Kenyan Journalists.
Example,America is the country,American is a native of America.( Americans are natives of America)
Kenya is the country....Kenyan is a native of Kenya.( one person)
Saying Kenyan Journalists,are we repeating something here?
I don't know,maybe is the arrowroot I ate this morning.
Check,in a conference in China the announcer will say,
'Kenya Journalists,can you all stand up' not 'Kenyan journalists can you all stand up'.
Am a farmer,I might be wrong but check with these English Folks.
They might say Kenyan is singular but pointing to one character. ....the Great Kenyan runner and the Great Kenya runners.
I see more mistakes on your writing but I wanted to discuss the Heading.
Mkulima and the broken English stories

My fellow citizens lets work hard so that every house will have a meal on the TableMkulima
JPato
#39 Posted : Tuesday, May 12, 2009 2:13:00 PM

Stocksguru,I wish I understood you! I would have given you the correct answer......

My fellow citizens lets work hard so that every house will have a meal on the TableMkulima
#40 Posted : Friday, May 22, 2009 3:22:00 PM

The Standard online has a story about the cost of the bloated cabinet that defies logic. Is it that the media fraternity are too thick to comprehend numbers or do they simply don't care about what they write as long as they can quote someone.

Now granted the Mpigs and Coalition of thieves are fleecing the country but to claim that the incremental cost is 50B is plain stupid.

Assuming they base the right number of ministries at 20,then you would have 20 additional ministries,so added cost per ministry is 2.5B,

They then go on to list the additional expenses as fuel guzzling cars and drivers and body guards. Surely how does this expenditure add up to 2.5B. To me the 50B is at the very least 100times overstated,how can the journalist and the editor miss that,how do the directors (including McFee) miss that when reading their copies the next day so they can appreciate the poor quality control in the business.

Mwalimu Mati also went on to state they way that amount can construct 10 Dual carriageways blah.. blah.

I guess if you can't win with facts,you can always pen bile-laced,xenophobic rants to distract everyone.
5 Pages«<2345>