Where are Kenyan journalists?
I know for a fact that Nation has a 'House Style Book',recently revised by Philip Ochieng. Regarding universities: when named after a place,they are referred to as 'University of that place',when named after a person or an institution,they are call 'That person/institution University' Thus we have University of Nairobi and Kenyatta University.....University of Kenyatta would be odd,wouldn't it? Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
I have refrained from commenting on most SK posts,even those that have attacked either my employer or my colleagues.
I am a Kenyan journalist,with one of the leading TV stations in the country,you can knock yourself out trying to guess which one.
Every newspaper makes mistakes,and most also have a style book. I have seen both the Nation & Standard style books,radically different,but the mistakes are shockingly similar.
So there are rotten segments of our profession,but I take offense with wholesale condemnation of Kenyan journalism as a whole. I did go to good schools,and is suitably qualified to commentate on my segment. It is not completely true that Kenyan journalism has become a reserve for those who can not find anything else to do; I waited my whole life to do this,prepared for it,and my viewers appreciate it.
Hit me with your questions.
To whom much is given,much is expected
@McReggae. 'What have we done about it?'
By raising this issue here,it is a start,because quite a number of journalists and 'journalists' would be on a site like this one as they await to be despatched to the next event e.t.c.
The professionalism and common manners (courtesy) included of this profession ahs been eroded so much. Was oncce at a university hotel,where some American envoy had just attended some event. Men at lunchtime,the press men and ladies jostled for food in a manner not so distant from how street boys and girls behave when a well wisher decides to throw a christmas snack party. The amount of food on the plate of one such with cameras dangling from the shoulders was just puzzling..... And many of these would also hang around after a political rally to receive a thousand or two so that the story is devoid of any true happenings or statements that may deduct mileage from the politician. Some of those stories you see,like that girl from Kangemi and many more are actually stage managed or shot several time like a movie. I remeber that section in the DN on thursday where people talk of how they make money on the side. I read one about a guy I knew and I was left wondering whether these journalist ever probe what they are told. Plus the cut from the internet and paste on Kenyans tendency...sijui metrosexual,sijui fastlane......BS!!
Back to important points,when you ask who audits our work,I'm tempted to ask if you meant EDIT. True,any report,letter or piece of work going to the public domain from my desk is edited before release. I will also subject any serious outgoing emails to a spell check and certain mistakes would be sure to earn me a sack.
I believe there are good journalists out there,who really do their research and understand their work,including basic English,Swahili and country or global affairs. But there is a lot who are spoiling for you. Or could it be be the wanna be celebrity status that is now emerging.
What for instance would sufficiently link the suicide of the guy on jana's *TN jioni news to the loss of Arsenal to Man U? The only link is the quest for sensation and could as well even cover up murder......
@Rickmash,Ati 'Hit me with your questions?' You see!!
Everyday!
@mukiha -
University of Maseno sure sound odd to me too. Think in some instances you got to realize that language is dynamic and insisting on standards on some issues is rather pediatric. The instance of universities' names I would classify with those who have issues with newspapers using such words like matatu...
The above notwithstanding,the standard of journalism in Kenya is that there is actually no language standard. And not just on grammar alone - it is not surprising to find stories without any substance. You read it but they do not provide any information on the news subject. Try the court reporting in all of the dailies,they are crap and done with reporters with no understanding on what they are writing about enough of the time.
namcast.com - free .ke emails
@ mkenyan,
The thing about names is very simple.
In English we have something called proper nouns. kama ulisomea Uganda,let's call them entities. Must have been a jouirnalist who wrote the name plate near the university. the thing reads 'Nairobi University'. Or seeing that plate is as far as our shallow scribes go in research.
As a bureau head,why would you send somebody who understands nothing about a case to a court. And why go ahead and publish the fool's report if it is crap. Or are these what you call fillers? You could as well get charities to adverstise for free if only to shape a page.
Everyday!
Ati,the coverage of the hanging was the search for sensation? It made the BBC and Reuters! http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/africa/8036367.stm
and http://www.guardian.co.u...all/feedarticle/8492582
Clearly there is just a need to paint us scribes as useless and sensational at every point here at SK. Having said that,it is unpardonable for those of my trade to make grammatical mistakes,period! To whom much is given,much is expected
spendthrift, I meant audit as in the quality of your work!!!! Really here I simply don't agree with this notion of fellows coming to the internet and banishing a whole proffession,kenyan journalists will continue feeding kenyans on what they wanna here,read or watch.......demand supply kinda thing!!! Make money.....then you will enjoy all the fine things in life!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Rank: Member Joined: 12/4/2008 Posts: 341 Location: Nairobi
I could not help but opine on this issue. I think there can be no denying the standards in this once noble profession have been sliding. The entry level is disturbingly low. I reminisce nostalgically those days of Ken Opala,Mutuma Imathiu and another lady whose name I forget,when working as features writers in DN. There was also Kwendo Opanga's the week that was column.In those days the newspapers were like english course books. The contents were also well researched and delivery never disappointed. Looking at the situation today,it is definitely a far cry. But the other thing worth noting is that all professions should be looked at within the context of the general society.Without appearing to excuse mediocrity,the Kenyan society has registered similar decline if not more. We need to be that kind of society that audits itself by relooking at our values systems and other benchmarks. There has been similar complaints about the Police,Doctors,Nurses,Teachers,Lawyers and the list is endless. For a start,I think we should hold our individual selves to the highest of standards in whatever professions we are in. Patience Pays in Guaranteed Checks Patience Pays In Guaranteed Checks.
Mr. Tea, I can't agree more,the reason I asked about personal audits wherever we are,wat is the Kenyan society like today........when that story about arsenal fan who allegedly committed suicide after the loss finds itself in BBC,ESPN name it........we gotta really look at the overall trend in journalism and the effect of techonology moreso the internet!!!! Make money.....then you will enjoy all the fine things in life!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".