wazua Mon, May 4, 2026

ERBK.... hii ni shenzi type kabisa
#1 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 11:29:23 AM

only 1,200 out of 60,000 engineers are registered by this post colonial amorphous body. Others cant get meaningful work coz they are not recognized by it. DN2 page 5

how can a professional body cause such miserly to its "members"? now its foreigners who are doing the jobs our engineers are supposed to be doing. hii ni shenzi type kabisa, kurudisha wakenya nyuma.

And why cant the 58,000 plus unregistered engineers form their own "union" to regulate themselves? The ERBK will just die a natural death, akin KFF.

Mblue
#2 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 11:48:08 AM

kingfisher wrote:
only 1,200 out of 60,000 engineers are registered by this post colonial amorphous body. Others cant get meaningful work coz they are not recognized by it. DN2 page 5

how can a professional body cause such miserly to its "members"? now its foreigners who are doing the jobs our engineers are supposed to be doing. hii ni shenzi type kabisa, kurudisha wakenya nyuma.

And why cant the 58,000 plus unregistered engineers form their own "union" to regulate themselves? The ERBK will just die a natural death, akin KFF.

Maybe the old guards feared competition at first.

If the workload is overwhelming to an extent of importing labour force, then they'll have to rethink.
"..one is only poor only if they choose to be.."-Dolly Partron
#3 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 12:11:41 PM

Surely.

#4 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 1:04:13 PM

Engineering graduates in the house; please tell us: how important is registration by ERB?

Can lack of registration stop you from getting a job or some work?

I ask because I am not trained as an engineer but i find companies seeking for me to do engineering stuff for them.... I don't even market my expertise but each year there is a company looking for me!

And I'm not talking about small establishments... the last one was at Magadi Soda, before that was Elliot's Bakery.... and just this morning I got a call from the City Council of Nairobi.

So, is this ERBK an irrelevant body trying make itself look important?
Mkimwa
#5 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 3:00:23 PM

I am an engineering graduate, never bothered to register. Working on it by Sep.

The non-registeration has not stopped me from working (so far).
Mblue
#6 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 3:32:03 PM

@mukiva & @mkimwa,
Heard from an engineer friend of mine that there is an Engineers Bill 2011 in the offing. I suppose you should go through it.
"..one is only poor only if they choose to be.."-Dolly Partron
Mr.Wambui
#7 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 8:54:53 PM

I am an engineering student and they've already said they won't be registering us. U can imagine how demoralising that can be na vile hii masomo ni ngumu!
All you can do is all you can do; but all you can do is enough!
#8 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 9:15:29 PM

Hot topic...look at institution of surveyors the list is full of old gurds who will never allow the young bloods at all cost. I remember when the first digital cadastral plan they refused to sign it saying you must use your hands to draw, just that the guy who did it had stronger guts than the others for it to be signed. The small boys are the ones who do all the donkey work and the senior surveyor's work 'ni gutia gitole tu' thats where they eat. Its time with the new dispensation we allow parallel institutions to run these bodies so as we can move forward.
#9 Posted : Tuesday, September 20, 2011 8:59:34 AM

freiks wrote:
Hot topic...look at institution of surveyors the list is full of old gurds who will never allow the young bloods at all cost. I remember when the first digital cadastral plan they refused to sign it saying you must use your hands to draw, just that the guy who did it had stronger guts than the others for it to be signed. The small boys are the ones who do all the donkey work and the senior surveyor's work 'ni gutia gitole tu' thats where they eat. Its time with the new dispensation we allow parallel institutions to run these bodies so as we can move forward.

Let me ask again. why cant the 58,000 unregistered form their own association of engineers? I mean 58000 against 1200...
theslim
#10 Posted : Tuesday, September 20, 2011 9:18:43 AM

the IEK are banking on the parliament to pass Engineers Bill 2011, (to repeal CAP 530). Among other things; part IV is about "Prohibition of employment of unregistered persons.", with clause 48 reading:
(1) A person shall not employ or continue to employ any person to offer professional engineering services or works if that person is not registered under this Act.
(2) A person shall not take up or continue in any employment as a professional engineer or consulting engineer unless that person is registered as a professional engineer or consulting engineer.
(3) An employer shall not employ or engage a graduate engineer in any work or professional engineering services or works unless that graduate engineer is under the supervision of a professional or consulting engineer.
(4) A person who contravenes any provision of this section commits an offence.

http://www.iekenya.org/

I think us engineers hatuna budi, we have to be registered. There is an interesting discussion on the same in LinkedIN.
the early worm is eaten by the early bird