wazua Wed, Feb 5, 2025

Keeping Time on Important Appointments
#21 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 3:02:46 PM

My only guess is that you were interviewing some young guys just off college or university who have no sens of time or responsibility - otherwise I fail to understand how 3 candidates can all be late in one afternoon.

Where I work we interview guys who sometimes are travelling from places like Kisii the previous night just to attend an interview in NRB at 11am - shows desire!
Ondiek
#22 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 3:29:02 PM

In this age what makes one not call incase they are running late? The other lot that annoys me are people who simply drop by the office unannounced my standard reply - I am in a meeting!
Ric dees
#23 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 4:16:25 PM

DELETED WRONG FORUM

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
Kwanini
#24 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 5:35:40 PM

@mukiha, even the devil deserves a second chance... its good you took the initiative. What has become alarming is the quality of CV/ application letters one gets from some of our graduates... spelling mistakes, phrases... i just wonder. On a light note a chap, lets call him Maajabu once turned up in dusty jeans, dishevelled and just looking as if a tractor had run over him... well he just apologised for not turning up at 9am, giving his reasons, and finally explaining his attire.... When the candidate who was offered the job declined, the process was outsourced and guess who led the Shortlist... Maajabu... He is still with us today but the name stuck!
"For i am the master and the captain of my fate"
ali
#25 Posted : Tuesday, September 20, 2011 12:20:30 AM

I remember my first interview, i attended in savco jeans and a navy blue shirt. Somewhere in sijui Trishul towers. The interviewers could nt control themselves...they burst out laughing. One asked me if i was british coz of my dress code. Fast forward..when it come to time keeping, i always prefer to be atleast 30mins early.
For in him (Jesus) we live and move and have our being-Acts 17:28
#26 Posted : Tuesday, September 20, 2011 2:07:14 AM

Let me play devil's advocate.

Not all people are the same when it comes to their concept of time. People who are artistic or the creative type work in a state of suspended time. They get involved in a project and time ceases to exist. They can go on for hours on end when they have it going and then sleep or just forget appointments when not doing their thing. If you are recruiting people for creative jobs for example designers, musicians, paint or sculpture artists you have to work within their times. The very good ones don't know how to keep time.

Let me tell you of people you may have come across; computer programmers. If you had an interview for computer programmers and gave them an appointment for 10am you will not be wrong if you send away all those who show up on time and even up to an hour late. The very good ones will show up around 11.30 if they show up at all. I have several good friends, extremely brilliant guys who are able to see things that nobody sees and come up with brilliant out of this world solutions. These guys don't know what time is. If you want to see them you ask where they are and you go to them, you never tell them to meet you at a specific place at a certain time because you will wait for ever. On the flip side is, if they are working on something they are interested in they can work and sleep in the office at ungodly hours. Some work best at night and sleep during the day. Some work whole weekends and then just decide to take Wednesday or Tuesday off.
#27 Posted : Tuesday, September 20, 2011 7:30:02 AM

@Mukiha You are totally on point!

I sometimes find it amazing the kind of excuses guys give for being late.

You can't buy time. If you are late for your appointment, you will be late for all your projects.

My motto is very simple, the person who doesn't keep time is going to end up being late in payment.

Now for these campus guys who think they own the world. Mukiha why on earth would you wait for someone who's lifestyle you are going to finance? I have never heard of people coming late for interviews until I interviewed Kenyan university graduates.

Don't bother with stuck up, know it all and late interviewees. There are very many hard working Kenyans to choose from.

Just consider yourself lucky that they didn't come early. You would have had a very bad experience as an employer.
KenyanLyrics
#28 Posted : Tuesday, September 20, 2011 8:12:01 AM

For me, I am time conscious, but I am also very aware that public transport is a bitch, so I give half hour lateness allowance for any appointments I have.
#29 Posted : Tuesday, September 20, 2011 8:18:46 AM

@Mukiha You are totally on point!

I sometimes find it amazing the kind of excuses guys give for being late.

You can't buy time. If you are late for your appointment, you will be late for all your projects.

My motto is very simple, the person who doesn't keep time is going to end up being late in payment.

Now for these campus guys who think they own the world. Mukiha why on earth would you wait for someone who's lifestyle you are going to finance? I have never heard of people coming late for interviews until I interviewed Kenyan university graduates.

Don't bother with stuck up, know it all and late interviewees. There are very many hard working Kenyans to choose from.

Just consider yourself lucky that they didn't come early. You would have had a very bad experience as an employer.

...Most of us belong here! What "does" you mean?
#30 Posted : Tuesday, September 20, 2011 8:23:35 AM

Not all people are the same when it comes to their concept of time. People who are artistic or the creative type work in a state of suspended time. They get involved in a project and time ceases to exist. They can go on for hours on end when they have it going and then sleep or just forget appointments when not doing their thing. If you are recruiting people for creative jobs for example designers, musicians, paint or sculpture artists you have to work within their times. The very good ones don't know how to keep time.

Let me tell you of people you may have come across; computer programmers. If you had an interview for computer programmers and gave them an appointment for 10am you will not be wrong if you send away all those who show up on time and even up to an hour late. The very good ones will show up around 11.30 if they show up at all. I have several good friends, extremely brilliant guys who are able to see things that nobody sees and come up with brilliant out of this world solutions. These guys don't know what time is. If you want to see them you ask where they are and you go to them, you never tell them to meet you at a specific place at a certain time because you will wait for ever. On the flip side is, if they are working on something they are interested in they can work and sleep in the office at ungodly hours. Some work best at night and sleep during the day. Some work whole weekends and then just decide to take Wednesday or Tuesday off.

I have to disagree there; And I am a Computer Programmer to boot! In this profession, you do quite a number of phone based interviews, at that precise time you have to be available to do the interview. Managers in this line of work use punctuality as one of the factors to determine whether you are a competent time manager, a key element for any sort of Software project. Time management is not about art; you will not cut it if you are a slouch.
#31 Posted : Tuesday, September 20, 2011 8:24:02 AM

very right.thinking out of time box
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
annsal
#32 Posted : Tuesday, September 20, 2011 11:44:23 AM

Mkimwa wrote:
@Mukiha

Interview me, I will be on time, even 20 minutes early.

mukiha- am also looking for a job, please schedule me for an interview and you will not be disappointed i will so on time !!!
God loves a Trier!
#33 Posted : Tuesday, September 20, 2011 1:38:10 PM

annsal wrote:
Mkimwa wrote:
@Mukiha

mukiha- am also looking for a job, please schedule me for an interview and you will not be disappointed i will so on time !!!

Look around and you will see the job I have advertised...
annsal
#34 Posted : Tuesday, September 20, 2011 1:43:20 PM

mukiha wrote:
annsal wrote:
Mkimwa wrote:
@Mukiha

what's the category- (hint)
God loves a Trier!
patcho
#35 Posted : Tuesday, September 20, 2011 1:53:30 PM

mukiha wrote:
annsal wrote:
Mkimwa wrote:
@Mukiha

Nice hint..no wonder the interviewees were all late...By the time you are through with 'looking around' .....d'oh!
#36 Posted : Tuesday, September 20, 2011 1:58:18 PM

patcho wrote:
mukiha wrote:
annsal wrote:
Mkimwa wrote:
@Mukiha

Nice hint..no wonder the interviewees were all late...By the time you are through with 'looking around' .....d'oh!

Give us the link; please!
#37 Posted : Tuesday, September 20, 2011 2:00:48 PM

annsal wrote:
mukiha wrote:
annsal wrote:
Mkimwa wrote:
@Mukiha

That's the first interview question; so i can't answer it!
#38 Posted : Tuesday, September 20, 2011 3:18:53 PM

mukiha wrote:
annsal wrote:
mukiha wrote:
annsal wrote:
Mkimwa wrote:
@Mukiha

Salo?
#39 Posted : Tuesday, September 20, 2011 3:56:03 PM

Tebes wrote:
mukiha wrote:
annsal wrote:
mukiha wrote:
annsal wrote:
Mkimwa wrote:
@Mukiha

Salo?

As much as you are worth... How much are you worth?
#40 Posted : Tuesday, September 20, 2011 4:13:25 PM

mukiha wrote:
Tebes wrote:
mukiha wrote:
annsal wrote:
mukiha wrote:
annsal wrote:
Mkimwa wrote:
@Mukiha

Salo?

As much as you are worth... How much are you worth?

I dont need the Job, was giving the ignorant members a hint on the job position as inquired above.