wazua Tue, May 5, 2026

be warned - rogue trackers on the prowl..
Forester
#11 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 1:05:10 PM

Euge wrote:
...Wacha niulize swali ya ujinga..."Why install a vehicle tracking device when you get paid by your insurance co. if the vehicle is stolen? or is it a requirement by the insurance firm. Mine does not have neither does it have its number plate dotted all over...

@ Magigi insurance will not pay you if your car is stolen and they discover your car does not have a security devise - alarm/tracking/cut out/ gearlock etc.... If you have a tracking device you get a discount on your premium.

Build your own dreams, or someone else will hire you to build theirs - Farrah Gray.
Forester
#12 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 1:07:23 PM

Euge wrote:
...Wacha niulize swali ya ujinga..."Why install a vehicle tracking device when you get paid by your insurance co. if the vehicle is stolen? or is it a requirement by the insurance firm. Mine does not have neither does it have its number plate dotted all over...

@ Magigi insurance will not pay you if your car is stolen and they discover your car does not have a security devise - alarm/tracking/cut out/ gearlock etc.... If you have a tracking device you get a discount on your premium.

@ Magigi - FYI
Theft without ATD (Anti-Theft device) attracts an excess of 20% of the sum insured in some insurance companies...do the math (unless you own a tuk tuk) and remember to read your policy document.
Build your own dreams, or someone else will hire you to build theirs - Farrah Gray.
#13 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 1:11:04 PM

Forester wrote:
Euge wrote:

@ Magigi - FYI
Theft without ATD (Anti-Theft device) attracts an excess of 20% of the sum insured in some insurance companies...do the math and remember to read your policy document.

...Mine has an alarm...I know that bit. Insurance firms do not specify what device you use...whether milango imefungwa na kufuli ya Yale ama umefunga na waya...Hizo zote ni devices...My worry is the extent to which I have seen people go to secure their Vitz...Mwingine karibu aweke GRILL round his car...
#14 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 1:18:44 PM

I did a quick google search with "Simba Track gps" and found www.simbatrack.com

Tried logging in and my web-shield was activated: "TROJAN HORSE BLOCKED: webshield blocked harmful webpage or file"
#15 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 1:58:12 PM

mukiha wrote:
I did a quick google search with "Simba Track gps" and found www.simbatrack.com

Tried logging in and my web-shield was activated: "TROJAN HORSE BLOCKED: webshield blocked harmful webpage or file"

This is what i got

This Account Has Been Suspended.
Please contact the billing/support department as soon as possible.
Mkimwa
#16 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 2:47:46 PM

Sad experience for Grace and all.

Crooks are looking for innovative ways of doing their trade, and the unsuspecting victim even gives away 12K in false security.
#17 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 4:17:16 PM

Intelligentsia wrote:
Euge wrote:

Hii ni theory - at least for me. I have insured with different underwriters at different times over last 6 years - none has insisted on the tracking device, yet they have given me discounts and good repayment terms. Plus they dont verify so the whole condition is not foolproof - you can always insist you had installed an anti-theft device (na hata ile kufuli ya tricycle ikiwekwa kwa drivers door ni
anti-theft device bado heheee)smile .

You dont have to put a tracking device but it reduces your excess if you have one. The discounts you get maybe no claim discounts. The valuation report indicates whether or not your car had an anti theft device. Now if you think they system is not fool proof, wait until they are suspicious of your claims, utalilia kwa choo.

Sigiriri
#18 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 4:24:39 PM

Pole sana madam, what happened to you should never happen to anyone and those that did it deserves to be castrated - then jailed for a loooong time!

To you all, please whenever you can, avoid these cars that you need to secure with alarm, gearlock, lic. plates painted on sides, roof, all windows, mirrors etc and car tracking. A white NZE/Probox is are the best examples of those cars you MUST try to avoid at all cost. They put your very life in danger because they are most targeted.
#19 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 4:29:14 PM

Sigiriri wrote:
Pole sana madam, what happened to you should never happen to anyone and those that did it deserves to be castrated - then jailed for a loooong time!

To you all, please whenever you can, avoid these cars that you need to secure with alarm, gearlock, lic. plates painted on sides, roof, all windows, mirrors etc and car tracking. A white NZE/Probox is are the best examples of those cars you MUST try to avoid at all cost. They put your very life in danger because they are most targeted.

..its difficult for Kenyans to keep away from NZEs, PREMIOs and 110s - everyone seems to consider resale value more than safety and comfort of car...
Sigiriri
#20 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 4:38:34 PM

vinii wrote:
Sigiriri wrote:

..its difficult for Kenyans to keep away from NZEs, PREMIOs and 110s - everyone seems to consider resale value more than safety and comfort of car...

@Vinii, recognising that, I advise that at least one avoids the white ones...that color alone increases your exposure threefold.