wazua Wed, Feb 5, 2025

Keeping Time on Important Appointments
#1 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 9:17:44 AM

What's wrong with some people? Why don't the make an effort to keep time even on important appointments... or even call ahead to say they are running late.

Last Thursday I went all the way to Westlands from CBD to meet some fellow who needed my help in fixing some equipment at his clients site.

We [the fellow, his client and me] had agreed to meet at 2.30pm at client's office in Westlands.

At 1pm, I called client to confirm that meeting is still ON, and then I started my journey.... hoping to grab something for lunch in Westlands if I get time before meeting.

I got to Westlands around 1.30pm and hopped into a cafe near the meeting venue. Just before finishing my meal, the client calls me to say the the fellow has pushed the meeting to 3.30pm.... "O----K"

I kill time and get to the venue at 3.25pm. Fellow hasn't arrived. Client offers me tea and I wait at reception reading the magazines.... 4pm, no fellow....client call him but the idiot doesn't answer his phone....

4.15pm, I give up and go away.... my whole afternoon wasted!
#2 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 9:26:08 AM

This morning I have lined up some interviews with some job seekers.

The first one is 8am. I am all ready with questions on my desk....newspaper folded away and mind tuned for the session....

8.05 - no candidate

8.10 - still no candidate.... I go back to the newspaper...

8.15 - still no show; now I call the candidate to find out what has happened; you never know, he could have been in an accident..

The fellow answer his phone and I ask if he is coming for the interview. He answers with the question "What time was it supposed to be?"

ME: "8am; that was clearly indicated in the email"

CANDIDATE: "Yeah, I saw the email, but I didn't see the time"

ME: "Why didn't you ask about time when you replied to confirm you will attend?"

CANDIDATE: "I thought I could come any time. Can you try slot me in at another time?"

ME: "Sorry, but no"
StatMeister
#3 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 9:33:04 AM

My standard approach, if i go for a meeting to someone's office and they are late, next five meetings are at my place (desk not meeting room), then they can late, postpone, delay, waste time, anything.
A bad day fishing is better than a good day at work
#4 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 9:41:16 AM

Pole sana Mukiha.
Next time wait fro the fellow to come pick u up.
For the job seekers case, just close and re-ad.

#5 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 9:57:50 AM

The second candidate was expected at 9am...

9am: no show

9.05 no show

9.10 - I called the fellow and he says he is held up in a jam at Roysambu! Apparently, he was travelling from Nyeri

"Who cares?" I wondered to myself silently...

mkonomtupu
#6 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 10:14:54 AM

why would you waste your time calling a job-seeker to find out where he /she, move on to the next candidate. My standard operating procedure is 5 minutes if you don't arrive I cancel the meeting and move on to the next agenda. Kenyans need to realize a rich man and poor man have 24 hours in a day what you do with it is up to you but don't waste mine.
#7 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 10:31:16 AM

mkonomtupu wrote:
why would you waste your time calling a job-seeker to find out where he /she, move on to the next candidate. My standard operating procedure is 5 minutes if you don't arrive I cancel the meeting and move on to the next agenda. Kenyans need to realize a rich man and poor man have 24 hours in a day what you do with it is up to you but don't waste mine.

My standpoint is that everybody deserves a second chance. The perfect candidate might get in an accident and...

I guess age has done that to me....
Ms Mkenya
#8 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 10:39:18 AM

The other day i said a number of people are poor by choice. I was almost lynched..

But like these ones who do not show up for an interview on time-until the interviewer has to call! Yawa! Is this not poverty by choice?
....above all, to stand.
#9 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 10:53:16 AM

mukiha wrote:

9.05 no show

9.10 - I called the fellow and he says he is held up in a jam at Roysambu! Apparently, he was travelling from Nyeri

@Mukiha....Kwani hii ni kazi ngumu aje watu wanaogopa...?ama ni ya kufunga shetani mnyororo...!!!
Mainat
#10 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 10:54:36 AM

I've walked out on an interviewer who was late.
Bottom line, someone who is late for an appointment without apology thinks you are a punda
Sehemu ndio nyumba
wakagori
#11 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 11:02:12 AM

I have also walked out on an interviewer...i was kept at the reception waiting for close to 2 hours. No reason, or even excuse. I didnt regret it at all
#12 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 11:15:22 AM

@Mukiha,
I have no time for latecomers (They usually find me gone unless there is an excuse beforehand).....But two/three hours late.You must be a very patient person (Or is it old man catching up with you?)...I think,i would have chewed my hat inside the hour.
#13 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 11:51:46 AM

mukiha wrote:

9.05 no show

The guy finally arrives at 10:55 and finds me in the middle of another interview.

I tell him to go and come back at 11:30...

Now it's 11.55 and again: No show!

I agree with @Ms Mkenya: this is a case of poverty by choice!
#14 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 11:56:10 AM

May I call him "The Idiot"?

OK; Finally the idiot comes in at 11:56

His excuse: "I was just here";

Bur I decline to interview him...and he looks at me with eyes that suggest I'm being unfair....
#15 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 12:22:39 PM

The story continues....

The 12:00 candidate is also 25 minutes late....

What is going on with our people?
mkonomtupu
#16 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 12:26:42 PM

@mukiha imagine his attitude towards work especially when you give him targets to achieve.

How come you still do formal interviews, i do final interviews in restaurant over lunch you get to learn a lot about a candidate in informal sessions
#17 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 12:38:52 PM

mukiha wrote:

9.05 no show

The guy finally arrives at 10:55 and finds me in the middle of another interview.

I tell him to go and come back at 11:30...

Now it's 11.55 and again: No show!

I agree with @Ms Mkenya: this is a case of poverty by choice!

You're a nice guy, I never see a candidate if late...and hasn't advised...
Ric dees
#18 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 12:48:27 PM

Mukiha seems odd this happened to this extent i think there must have been some other reason as to why every-one was late? Could it be they way you formated the advert that even jobseekers did not take you seriously? Your email, name of company? You might have scared some people you know? I am not justifying the lateness but it's the extent that baffles me something else was inherently wrong perception maybe!!

However coincidentally spent the whole Friday interviewing, draining process i must say, however unlike maybe back at home, here the canditates have rights, ie: can reshedule the interview date to suit time best fitted for them, they can be running late and you have to accomodate them when they come however some form flexibility is prudent and i too believe there is some good in every-one irrepspective.

That said time-keeping is a trait that does not seem to exist unless of-sourse you buying some frothy liquid and burnt meat then some-one will got to the extent of "booking"a table for you complete with 5seats the place being jam-packed notwithstanding..

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
cmk
#19 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 1:50:41 PM

Hiyo kazi yako watu hawaipendi??
Every man is guilty of all the good he didn't do-
Voltaire
Mkimwa
#20 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 2:13:40 PM

@Mukiha

Interview me, I will be on time, even 20 minutes early.