wazua Fri, Jan 31, 2025

Nimeacha this Mat business for good now
Dod
#21 Posted : Friday, September 02, 2011 5:55:22 PM

ocampo wrote:
Wacheni kuwa mahaters, the guy tried. wengine wenyu hata hamjanunua kuku ya kienyeji na na kumlea akatagaa mayayai

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause
Umenena kama watu kumi.

Pick up the pieces and try another venture.
The rich have money working for them; the poor and the middle class are going to work for money.
Kaka M
#22 Posted : Saturday, September 03, 2011 3:55:08 PM

ali wrote:
I always knew i could hack it, bt i'm done with the biashara ya matatu. Have sold 2 and will retain 1 to be using for hires ama family outs/travels. Anyone with better biz ideas pls? No transport biz ideas

How about rental houses?
#23 Posted : Saturday, September 03, 2011 6:07:47 PM

ocampo wrote:
Wacheni kuwa mahaters, the guy tried. wengine wenyu hata hamjanunua kuku ya kienyeji na na kumlea akatagaa mayayai

KenyanLyrics
#24 Posted : Saturday, September 03, 2011 8:10:14 PM

@ali, my advice is that you look for one of those businesses that can be monitored from a distance. Matatu business, or any other small retail business does not fall under that category. Look for a business that runs on monthly payments, or on contract basis. Easier to monitor in your spare time.
Wamutonyi
#25 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2011 4:20:23 PM

amolo wrote:
So you thought OTC, Kenya Bus, Lolwe, RVP, Kwega, Stagecoach, Tawfiq... the list is endless, so you thought they were stupid! Serves you well!
Now go try a posho mill in the Rural Areas, if you still have money to burn.
Shame on you Shame on you

@amolo;

Make an effort to be positive in your comments and be sensitive too to other people's feelings. I see nothing wrong with someone trying to do Matatu business coz without them I do not know how most of us would be commuting to and from work.

@ali
Giving up doesn't always mean you are weak. Sometimes it means that you are strong enough to let go. Try something else as you have been advised by others. I personally prefer real estate after quitting stock exchange.
#26 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2011 4:52:38 PM

As u ponder your nxt move, grab I mean buy a plot.
ProverB
#27 Posted : Tuesday, September 06, 2011 9:07:06 AM

ali wrote:
That biz has refuse to add up. It bring x amount. It soon ask for x+2 amount.i'm left minus 2. Tried no 30, moved to 44 and finally, ruiru 145. I raise my white flag! Greenhse? Tell me, biz i do on the side, i'm an 8am to 5pm. I grow things then where to sell? Time to sell? Mat: manager, driver/crew, polisi wanalipa daily. Route sacco, constant penalties, 'mechanical issues', ai, i need some peace. Always checking bal kwa my bank via sms to check kama pesa imewekwa, wapi! Hakuna. Nxt, pesa wanted for this, for that. Zimeshikwa, yes we take cash daily kwa 'mkubwa' Argh!

Thanx for the heads up. smile
was already layin foundation to enter the Mat business.

Very timely input indeed.

Thanks.
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
ali
#28 Posted : Tuesday, September 06, 2011 4:45:56 PM

@ amolo. I have this to say...nt very encouraging..your words that is. Bt guess what? I am down bt nt out. I'm out of mat biz bt am still minting pesa elsewhere. Though my idea didnt work, i'll pick up the pieces and start somethng else. All i want is a stable future for my kids & wife, nothing more. And God and time are on my sides. And guess what? Failure is nt final. Thanx. Am at peace though, expecting no calls abt money wanted for this or that. Or the mkubwa wa traffic amesema gari ilale 2 wks, ama route manager amesema 10k ya ocs, etc. See? Thats a step in the right direction.
For in him (Jesus) we live and move and have our being-Acts 17:28
Kwanini
#29 Posted : Tuesday, September 06, 2011 5:00:40 PM

Feel you bro. Mat bizna is not for tha faint hearted. However it has tha best returns so long as if u play with tha pigs u wait for your turn to snoot the mud
"For i am the master and the captain of my fate"
ali
#30 Posted : Tuesday, September 06, 2011 5:48:40 PM

@kwanini. Thats true. Bt tell me, being an office person who works throughout the wk, at times late, is there an altenative other than manager? 3 managers, i.e for each route i tried and same results? Surely, hata ocs mwenyewe, simjui na sina time ya kumjua. Route/sacco managers, same. Ama what did i miss? A month can pass in peace bt the nxt month? Wooi, yote inaenda, even the one u made last time. I never enjoyed the cash.,nt the way i would have wanted.
me&myself
#31 Posted : Tuesday, September 06, 2011 6:18:26 PM

Ali:

Am also in transport but not Mat and operating on contracts. I am 8 to 7 and alot of travel. However technology has been my best friend. Installed tracking and ensured that the everyone knows they are tracked. You also calculate the fuel consumption and stick to it.
This for me has cut out any misuse, able to tell exact location on my phone and able to keep the units within defined work area.
That said bado utapata wajanja na watakuchanua ukiwaangalia... so i let someone get away once but not the second time....i don't entertain stories...

My 2 cents.
even as you keep the one you are left with use technology as you look for another venture use the learning's from the Mat buz.
"don't entertain stories"
Do things simply;
Even better,
Do simple things
#32 Posted : Wednesday, September 07, 2011 1:50:05 PM

ali.. I love your fighting spirit. You may be down financially but you are better off that when you began businesswise. At least, now you know several ways of how NOT to do things. My bet is you will get back to mat business maybe with more organised systems like KBS and you will take off since you know the game better.

This is life. It happens. You keep walking.
mzeekijana
#33 Posted : Sunday, September 11, 2011 12:07:25 PM

Wamutonyi wrote:

@ali
..Try something else as you have been advised by others. I personally prefer real estate after quitting stock exchange.

@Wamuto....Can u kindly tell us how u started &where u r now...Iam thinkn of quitting stocks too..
#34 Posted : Tuesday, September 13, 2011 4:46:31 PM

Some businesses require your undivided attention and personal involvement. Its difficult to run your matatu business while miles away, or by proxy, huwesmek. Moreso if you employ relatives, they will milk you till you can only produce powdered milk (ie milk you dry) and there is little you can do with them. Most matatu drivers usually end up buying their own.

If you have to venture into this b/s be the driver, or conductor or at least be available 24/7 for immediate instance requiring financial expenditure.
keke2
#35 Posted : Wednesday, September 14, 2011 3:40:55 PM

mzeekijana wrote:
Wamutonyi wrote:

@ali
..Try something else as you have been advised by others. I personally prefer real estate after quitting stock exchange.

@Wamuto....Can u kindly tell us how u started &where u r now...Iam thinkn of quitting stocks too..

@ Mzeekijana, I wont advice anyone to quit stocks at this time yet Real Estate is the place to be now.

@Ali,consider Real Estate
#36 Posted : Wednesday, September 14, 2011 5:05:13 PM

keke2 wrote:
mzeekijana wrote:
Wamutonyi wrote:

@ali

@ Mzeekijana, I wont advice anyone to quit stocks at this time yet Real Estate is the place to be now.

@Ali,consider Real Estate

Real estate hata kama ni nyumba ya mabati akam za Sinai
Breakeven in 3 months PAP!smile

tonicasert
#37 Posted : Saturday, September 17, 2011 5:45:09 PM

Take it as a lesson, and move on. I remember you mentiuoned sometime back ur in this busn I thought its too good. I have a relative who is in the mat busn, and he told me best thing is to be the driver or conductor in this busn as Tebes mentioned. (He is the driver in this case)

I had a cyber when I was in college back in 97-98, but I had to sell it off when some crooked telkom guys started pushing my bills higher than I made profit. I sold it off, and learnt one thing - when the going gets tough, bail out and look for other opportunities. Run while you still can. Other opportunities will come, but they willl find you with wider eyes.
jerry
#38 Posted : Sunday, September 18, 2011 12:16:40 AM

ProverB wrote:
ali wrote:
That biz has refuse to add up. It bring x amount. It soon ask for x+2 amount.i'm left minus 2. Tried no 30, moved to 44 and finally, ruiru 145. I raise my white flag! Greenhse? Tell me, biz i do on the side, i'm an 8am to 5pm. I grow things then where to sell? Time to sell? Mat: manager, driver/crew, polisi wanalipa daily. Route sacco, constant penalties, 'mechanical issues', ai, i need some peace. Always checking bal kwa my bank via sms to check kama pesa imewekwa, wapi! Hakuna. Nxt, pesa wanted for this, for that. Zimeshikwa, yes we take cash daily kwa 'mkubwa' Argh!

Thanx for the heads up. smile
was already layin foundation to enter the Mat business.

Very timely input indeed.

Thanks.

shuttle iko na less hustle. Ama 4NT. I mean there r organised saccos.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#39 Posted : Sunday, September 18, 2011 8:05:32 AM

A close relative had dreams of dominating rt 46, huruma. He took a 1.4m sacco loan and bought a tyt hiace. Things were going well until the mat was hijacked by armed gangsters never to be seen again. Sadly he had not taken a comprehensive insurance. Now he almost gets seizures when you say 'matatu' in his presence.

Many people assume a business idea will work just because someone else is doing it. They don't bother to identify all risks and how they can mitigate them.

They don't do a feasibility study for the business. They have no financial plans, marketing plans, operational plans, pricing plans but expect to collect money from day one by the tonnes!

They don't know when they break or when a project should be discontinued or sold off!

Dear brothers and sisters of wazua. Your project has to succeed on paper before it can succeed on the ground. Inolve professionals at this stage if you have to.
ali
#40 Posted : Sunday, September 18, 2011 9:20:20 PM

Dear sparkly, very wise there you have said. Bt i also know something, paper isnt enough..kenya's informal sector, you need some ground experience.,or atleast partner with someone who is fully there. What encourages me is that sooner than later, i will find my proper footing and curve my niche..that i know.