wazua Mon, Aug 4, 2025

CENTUM MANAGEMENT BONUS
madebe
#1 Posted : Thursday, September 15, 2011 4:27:46 PM

i have just been reading the centum annual report and one thing i note is that the performance bonus is double the salaries of the workers. kwani bonus can be more than the annual salary. and if the price of land appreciates and is recorded as profit can u then say that u performed and u need bonus?
#2 Posted : Thursday, September 15, 2011 4:38:50 PM

madebe wrote:
and if the price of land appreciates and is recorded as profit can u then say that u performed and u need bonus?

Laughing out loudlyLaughing out loudlyLaughing out loudly It took 'wisdom' to pick out that land
Drunkard
#3 Posted : Thursday, September 15, 2011 6:12:43 PM

madebe wrote:
i have just been reading the centum annual report and one thing i note is that the performance bonus is double the salaries of the workers. kwani bonus can be more than the annual salary. and if the price of land appreciates and is recorded as profit can u then say that u performed and u need bonus?

Yes bonus could be higher than the salaries.

If the price of land or property appreciates, both IFRS and GAAP provide the condition for valuations and revaluations and under both standards you can recognize profits, IFRS in P & L and GAAP in other comprehensive income. Accountants can explain more on these.

One thing about Managed fund is that their management have complete control of the company, they can turn into a success or a ponzi scheme. Take for instant their investment strategies- they generate most of their profit in investments in either close companies (companies that are not public traded) or illiquid real estates investments, this investment strategy give them full discrection to make wild assumptions and report profits. So if you have investments in managed funds like Centrum, look at where they make most of their profit, I haven't gone through Centrum books but I have a general knowledge of whats going on in Managed funds. But don't blame the player blame the game!
#4 Posted : Friday, September 16, 2011 8:25:51 AM

In my book; bonus SHOULD be higher than salary!

This brings out one of the great HR Management fallacies: that people are always paid a fat fixed salary and a small performance bonus. It's ridiculous! If you want people to perform, pay them a hefty bonus and a small salary just to meet their minimum expenses during dry months... and who came with the idea of paying bonuses as a single lump sum at the end of the year?
Drunkard
#5 Posted : Friday, September 16, 2011 8:35:12 PM

mukiha wrote:

This brings out one of the great HR Management fallacies: that people are always paid a fat fixed salary and a small performance bonus. It's ridiculous! If you want people to perform, pay them a hefty bonus and a small salary just to meet their minimum expenses during dry months... and who came with the idea of paying bonuses as a single lump sum at the end of the year?

This model have been tried before, it looks good on paper but in real business world it can be destructive, it is always associated with what is called principal agency problem. The reason why you want to pay decent salary, infact ridiculously high salary, is that you want the employees to focus on longterm strategic moves, which are always less profitable in the short term, without having to worry about their end year bonuses. If you decide to pay high annual bonuses tied to performance and enough salary to get by no one will take a long term, often less profit ventures, no one will work on business development which takes years to be profitable, R & D will be unattractive.
#6 Posted : Friday, September 16, 2011 9:33:59 PM

Drunkard wrote:
mukiha wrote:

This model have been tried before, it looks good on paper but in real business world it can be destructive, it is always associated with what is called principal agency problem. The reason why you want to pay decent salary, infact ridiculously high salary, is that you want the employees to focus on longterm strategic moves, which are always less profitable in the short term, without having to worry about their end year bonuses. If you decide to pay high annual bonuses tied to performance and enough salary to get by no one will take a long term, often less profit ventures, no one will work on business development which takes years to be profitable, R & D will be unattractive.

It only breaks down if you assume that PERFORMANCE = PROFITS.... which is yet another fallacy!
Drunkard
#7 Posted : Friday, September 16, 2011 9:54:19 PM

@ Mukiha.... PERFORMANCE = PROFITS, I agree with that, thats is why there is performance bonus on top of a good salary, good salary is geared towards keeping people focused on longterm strategies and topping it with performance bonus ensures that short term tactical strategies are always in place to feed into the long term strategy and also execution of current business model is to the optimum, which as you know is also related to strategies that were build years ago.
#8 Posted : Friday, September 16, 2011 11:12:58 PM

...and paying people hefty salaries eventually makes them lazy; after all "my pay cheque is intact"

Have you not seen our MPs?
Drunkard
#9 Posted : Saturday, September 17, 2011 12:11:16 AM

mukiha wrote:
...and paying people hefty salaries eventually makes them lazy; after all "my pay cheque is intact"

Have you not seen our MPs?

MPs work for Government.....not for profit
hisah
#10 Posted : Saturday, September 17, 2011 6:33:12 AM

I like this bonus debate for it also says something about GFC in 2008 which is still unraveling...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u6XAPnuFjJc
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Ali Baba
#11 Posted : Saturday, September 17, 2011 7:25:05 AM

Just a point to note...Buffett avoids companies which pay hefty salaries to its senior management arguing that: the interest of the management seem to lie somewhere else other than the interests of the shareholders...In short,they take care of themselves to the detriment of the real owners of the company..
hisah
#12 Posted : Saturday, September 17, 2011 8:07:27 AM

Ali Baba wrote:
Just a point to note...Buffett avoids companies which pay hefty salaries to its senior management arguing that: the interest of the management seem to lie somewhere else other than the interests of the shareholders...In short,they take care of themselves to the detriment of the real owners of the company..

Thus why we have GFC & not ending anytime soon...
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Mr.Wambui
#13 Posted : Saturday, September 17, 2011 11:49:39 AM

Nkt! And i've been putting my little pocket money in centum hoping by the time i finish school itakuwa ka BERKSHIRE ya Buffet.
All you can do is all you can do; but all you can do is enough!
Ali Baba
#14 Posted : Saturday, September 17, 2011 12:13:15 PM

MR WAMBUI: Ati Berkshire ya Buffett?? For your info. Mr Buffett would give centum a wide berth.....
#15 Posted : Saturday, September 17, 2011 12:43:11 PM

Mr.Wambui wrote:
Nkt! And i've been putting my little pocket money in centum hoping by the time i finish school itakuwa ka BERKSHIRE ya Buffet.

Sasa bonuses will deter you from investing? You should look at a fairly recent 'The East African' article on executive pay in listed Kenyan companies . Centum were not even a major force. Guys are being paid major cheese!
#16 Posted : Saturday, September 17, 2011 8:33:22 PM

Mr.Wambui wrote:

Mr Wambui if you are looking for the kenyan berkshire, if you are looking for a company warren buffet would be proud to own... look no further than JUBILEE HOLDINGS LIMITED..
After their announcement coming up in a few weeks time you'll wish had gotten in now...

Centum pays huge bonuses on revaluation gains on property which is basically imaginary profits... Yet these bonuses they are paying represent cold hard cash...this is the exact reason US companies are in their current position

hisah
#17 Posted : Sunday, September 18, 2011 6:56:15 AM

guru267 wrote:
Mr.Wambui wrote:

Mr Wambui if you are looking for the kenyan berkshire, if you are looking for a company warren buffet would be proud to own... look no further than JUBILEE HOLDINGS LIMITED..
After their announcement coming up in a few weeks time you'll wish had gotten in now...

Centum pays huge bonuses on revaluation gains on property which is basically imaginary profits... Yet these bonuses they are paying represent cold hard cash...this is the exact reason US companies are in their current position

This JHL might just get my attention since it has refused to tank as per Mr Market's mood. I had a sneaky feeling on EABL & sasini. Now this JHL seems to look the same...
Mr.Wambui
#18 Posted : Sunday, September 18, 2011 9:03:44 AM

hisah wrote:
guru267 wrote:
Mr.Wambui wrote:

This JHL might just get my attention since it has refused to tank as per Mr Market's mood. I had a sneaky feeling on EABL & sasini. Now this JHL seems to look the same...

Now now jubilee vs eabl or both!
All you can do is all you can do; but all you can do is enough!
#19 Posted : Sunday, September 18, 2011 9:04:36 AM

guru, which announcement?
Cde Monomotapa
#20 Posted : Sunday, September 18, 2011 9:12:35 AM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
guru, which announcement?

This lady always has the Wiki Leaks on JHL.